### PROGRAM OVERVIEW

#### PROCESSION and AFFIRMATION

#### WELCOME

Chancellor Kent R. Hance Texas Tech University System

#### REMARKS

Dr. Lawrence Schovanec
Interim President, Texas Tech University
Dr. Robert Stewart
Senior Vice Provost, Texas Tech University

#### KEYNOTE ADDRESS

Dr. William Westney
Paul Whitfield Horn Professor of Music
Browning Artist-in-Residence
School of Music, Texas Tech University

#### **ACKNOWLEDGMENTS**

Dr. Marc Lochbaum President, Lambda of Texas Chapter, Phi Beta Kappa

#### CEREMONY OF INITIATION

THE PRESENTATION
THE HISTORY
THE PROMISE
THE CALLING OF NAMES, Dr. David Roach
THE DECLARATION

#### CONCLUDING REMARKS and RECESSION

Following the ceremony, all are invited to a reception in the Law School Forum with music provided by the Youth Orchestra of Lubbock Chamber Music Groups, Wendy Morton Director.

Please silence cell phones.

## 2013 MEMBERS IN COURSE TEXAS TECH CHAPTER OF PHI BETA KAPPA

Timothy Robert Allen Dana M. Layer
Atia Amatulla Kimberly Lundberg
Kara Amavizca Tyler Roger Marion

Bush Benjamin Molly Neace Dhruv Bhakta Gabriela Pedroza

Mary Ellen Bokenkamp Jessica Ray Alyssa Bolin Nada Saed

Barbara Burton Bianca Giselle Sasser
Jeffrey Chen Ann Marie Scott
Megan Conley Brittany Seal
Lara Davis Kavitha Selvan

Aren Taylor Dobbs Sarah Elizabeth Steindl

Anibal Dominguez Hilary Stovall

David Esquivel, Jr. Daniel Alexander Stroud Catherine Fielder Scott Andrew Vadala

John Thomas George Tori Vaughan
Charlotte Harrell Cecilia Venegas
Evelynn Hoang Caitlin Waters
Jennifer Lynn Kennemur Jonathan Welch
Bridget Key Susan Whitehouse
Melissa Ann Langston Erin Lyn Wikelius

The Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Association of West Texas and Eastern New Mexico sponsors awards for outstanding juniors from area high schools. An endowment has been established with the Lubbock Area Foundation to benefit and expand this program, and donations to the Alumni Association's endowment may be made through the Lubbock Area Foundation, 1655 Main Street, Suite 202, Lubbock, TX 79401.

## This year's **High School Academic Excellence Award** winners are:

1st Christopher P. Latour, Lubbock High School

2<sup>nd</sup> Caroline S. Norwood, Midland High School

3<sup>rd</sup> Dylan D. Treadwell, Monterey High School

Thanks to Mary Jane Hurst, Rob Posteraro, and others from the Association who assisted with the scholarship program.

The 2013 Members in Course of the Lambda of Texas Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa wish to honor the following Texas Tech University faculty members, instructors, and mentors, whose teaching and example they have found exceptionally inspiring:

Dr. Nathan Collie, Biological Sciences

Dr. Michael Dini, Biological Sciences

Dr. David Birney, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Dr. Yehia Mechref, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Dr. Dominick Casadonte, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Dr. Michael Fuertes, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Dr. Michael Mayer, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Dr. David Roach, Communication Studies

Dr. Marjean Purinton, English & Honors College

Dr. Joaquin Gonzales, Exercise & Sport Sciences

Ambassador Tibor Nagy, Honors College

Dr. Rob Weiner, Honors College/Library

Dr. Jerry Dwyer, Mathematics & Statistics

Dr. Ann Rodriguez, Media & Communication

Dr. James Clopton, Psychology

Dr. Arthur Durband, Sociology, Anthropology, & Social Work

Dr. Luis Ramirez, Sociology, Anthropology, & Social Work

Dr. Aliza Wong, History

Dr. Carole Edwards, French

Members of the Lambda of Texas Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa extend thanks to current and previous regents, chancellors, presidents, provosts, deans, chairs, and faculty and staff colleagues for their support in establishing and maintaining the chapter, which was installed at Texas Tech in 2007. The Lambda of Texas Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa extends thanks to the School of Law for allowing the ceremony to be held in the Lanier Center.

Lifetime Phi Beta Kappa membership dues and membership certificates are being provided for 2013 inductees by Texas Tech University. Engraved Phi Beta Kappa keys are being provided for 2013 inductees through the generosity of the Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Association of West Texas and Eastern New Mexico.



The

# Рні Вета Карра

Society



# **CEREMONY OF INVITATION**

Texas Tech University *April 25, 2013*