

## The PHI BETA KAPPA Society LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER



## CEREMONY OF INVITATION

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW LANIER CENTER AUDITORIUM

THURSDAY, APRIL 27, 2017

Since its founding, Phi Beta Kappa has celebrated excellence in the liberal arts and sciences and championed freedom of thought. As America's most prestigious academic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa is uniquely equipped to advocate for the value and benefits of liberal arts and sciences education.

The Phi Beta Kappa Society grants lifelong membership through a highly selective, merit-based invitation process that takes into consideration academic success and breadth of study.

An invitation to join Phi Beta Kappa recognizes and honors exceptional academic achievement in the arts and sciences.

**THE NATION'S OLDEST ACADEMIC HONOR SOCIETY** *—— Founded December 5, 1776 —* 

### **PROGRAM OVERVIEW**

#### **PROCESSION & AFFIRMATION**

#### WELCOME

Dr. Stephen H. Balch President, Lambda of Texas Chapter, Phi Beta Kappa

#### REMARKS

Dr. W. Brent Lindquist Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, Texas Tech University

> **Dr. Robert Stewart** Senior Vice Provost, Texas Tech University

#### **KEYNOTE ADDRESS**

#### Dr. Frederick Lawrence

Secretary and Chief Executive Officer, Phi Beta Kappa Society

#### ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

**Dr. Patricia Maloney** Vice President, Lambda of Texas Chapter, Phi Beta Kappa

#### CEREMONY OF INITIATION

The Presentation The History The Promise The Calling of Names The Declaration Dr. Patricia Maloney Ms. Sheon Montgomery Dr. Patricia Maloney Dr. David Roach Dr. Patricia Maloney

### CONCLUDING REMARKS & RECESSION Dr. Stephen H. Balch

Please join us for a reception following the ceremony.

#### 2017 MEMBERS IN COURSE LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA

**Bianca Barreto** PSYCHOLOGY; SPANISH

> Peter Carlson MATHEMATICS

Shavanna Caruso PSYCHOLOGY

Harry Cutler GLOBAL STUDIES; POLITICAL SCIENCE

Chelsea Davis MATHEMATICS

Colton Davis

Alaa Diab BIOLOGY

**Randy Dominick** MATHEMATICS; SPANISH

> Colleen Driscoll BIOCHEMISTRY

Callie Eagan KINESIOLOGY

Samantha Edwards PSYCHOLOGY

> Jarret Faust KINESIOLOGY

Holden Fried BIOCHEMISTRY; MATHEMATICS

> Lauren Garcia KINESIOLOGY

Asher George MICROBIOLOGY

Cathryn Gibbs ECONOMICS Tammie Gradel SPANISH

Celine Guerrero MICROBIOLOGY

Alexandra Haney SOCIOLOGY

> James Haney SPANISH

Elizabeth Hansen ENGLISH

**Rhett Harris** SPORTS MANAGEMENT

Claudia Henandez PSYCHOLOGY

Josya Hodekar HONORS ARTS & LETTERS

Brittney Hoenshell KINESIOLOGY; SPANISH

> Shelby Hunt BIOLOGY

Joshia John MICROBIOLOGY

Bella Kalayilparampil PSYCHOLOGY

*Cimron Kashyap* HONORS ARTS & LETTERS

Hunter Lee

Kolton Lewis PSYCHOLOGY

Nicole Lundberg HONORS ARTS & LETTERS; PUBLIC RELATIONS

#### **2017 MEMBERS IN COURSE** LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA

Farah Mechref BIOCHEMISTRY

Leslie Molina SPANISH

Cristina Natha MICROBIOLOGY

*Alexandria Nichols* CHEMISTRY; MATHEMATICS

> Jared Opperman ECONOMICS

Miles Pedretti-Allen CLASSICS; PHILOSOPHY

> Kaleena Pickett SPANISH

Vamsi Potluri CELLULAR & MOLECULAR BIOLOGY; GENERAL STUDIES; SOCIOLOGY

> Abigail Raef CLASSICS

Amelia Ruehlen ENGLISH

Kaylee Scheffel ANTHROPOLOGY; HISTORY

Blake Schwettmann MICROBIOLOGY

*Emma Seidensticker* ENGLISH; TECHNICAL COMMUNICATION

> Morgan Shone ENGLISH

Jaime Silerio BIOCHEMISTRY

Simran Singh BIOCHEMISTRY

Greg Skillman PHYSICS

Gregory Smith BIOLOGY

*Nicholas Smith* CELLULAR & MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

> Rachel Smith KINESIOLOGY

Kelsey Sprinkles BIOLOGY

Cassidy Staber

Sam Stroupe ZOOLOGY

Zachary Sumner MICROBIOLOGY

Devon Tomasson KINESIOLOGY

Joshua Truong PSYCHOLOGY

Justine Wyrzykowska BIOLOGY

> Richard Zheng BIOLOGY



The 2017 MEMBERS IN COURSE of the LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA wish to honor the following Texas Tech University faculty members, instructors, and mentors, whose teaching and example they have found exceptionally inspiring:

Karina Alvina	Abigail King
Dora Aranda	Leanne Lagasse
Gary Bell	Angela Lumpkin
Jarrod Blinch	Patricia Maloney
Robert Bradley	Michael Martinez
James Brink	Michael Mayer
Jim Clopton	Dermot McCarthy
George Cole	David Nes
Charlotte Dunham	Dimitri Pappas
Gary Elbow	Michael San Francisco
Michael Findlater	Roman Taraban
Carol Flueckiger	Brandon Wagner
Upe Flueckiger	Aliza Wong
Greg Gellene	Zhixin Xie
Joaquin Gonzales	Jorge Zamora
Lewis Held	Hong Zhang
Maryjane Hurst	





embers of the LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA extend thanks to current and previous regents, chancellors, presidents, provosts, deans, chairs, and faculty and staff colleagues for their support in establishing and maintaining the chapter, which was installed at Texas Tech in 2007. The Lambda of Texas Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa extends thanks to the Texas Tech University School of Law for allowing the ceremony to be held in the Lanier Center.

Lifetime Phi Beta Kappa membership dues and membership certificates are being provided for 2017 inductees by Texas Tech University. Engraved Phi Beta Kappa keys are being provided for 2017 inductees through the generosity of the Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Association of West Texas and Eastern New Mexico.



# The PHI BETA KAPPA Society LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER

www.ttu.edu/pbk