

The PHI BETA KAPPA Society LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER



CEREMONY OF INVITATION

TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW LANIER CENTER AUDITORIUM

THURSDAY, APRIL 19, 2018

Since its founding, Phi Beta Kappa has celebrated excellence in the liberal arts and sciences and championed freedom of thought. As America's most prestigious academic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa is uniquely equipped to advocate for the value and benefits of liberal arts and sciences education.

The Phi Beta Kappa Society grants lifelong membership through a highly selective, merit-based invitation process that takes into consideration academic success and breadth of study.

An invitation to join Phi Beta Kappa recognizes and honors exceptional academic achievement in the arts and sciences.

THE NATION'S OLDEST ACADEMIC HONOR SOCIETY *—— Founded December 5, 1776 —*

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

PROCESSION & AFFIRMATION

WELCOME

Dr. Stephen H. Balch

President, Lambda of Texas Chapter, Phi Beta Kappa

ASSOCIATION SCHOLARSHIPS

Dr. Edward L. Quitevis

Treasurer, Phi Beta Kappa Association of West Texas & Eastern New Mexico

REMARKS

Dr. W. Brent Lindquist Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, Texas Tech University

> Dr. Robert Stewart Senior Vice Provost, Texas Tech University

KEYNOTE ADDRESS

Dr. Charlotte Dunham Director of Women's Studies and Professor in Sociology, Texas Tech University

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

Dr. Stephen H. Balch

CEREMONY OF INITIATION

The Presentation The History The Promise The Calling of Names The Declaration Dr. Patricia Maloney Dr. Alan Reifman Dr. Patricia Maloney Dr. David Roach Dr. Patricia Maloney

CONCLUDING REMARKS & RECESSION Dr. Stephen H. Balch

Please join us for a reception following the ceremony.

2018 MEMBERS IN COURSE

LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA

Hussain Abidi BIOLOGY

Brittany Alexander MATHEMATICS

> **Bilal Ali** PSYCHOLOGY

Mahmud Alkul BIOCHEMISTRY

McCall Andersen SPANISH

Bayler Andrews KINESIOLOGY

Sabiha Armin BIOLOGY

Kyle Artkop PHYSICS

Abmad Awwal INTERNATIONAL ECONOMICS

> Rachel Aybar BIOLOGY

Fahteema Bah KINESIOLOGY

Nayad Barbery MATHEMATICS

Colin Baxter HISTORY

Abigail Boudreaux LANGUAGES & CULTURES Kaitlyn Braddock BIOLOGY

Maritta Brady SOCIOLOGY

Garrett Bratton

Kristi Brock BIOLOGY

Bailey Brooks CHEMISTRY

Mariah Budomo BIOCHEMISTRY

Amanda Burton KINESIOLOGY

Caitlyn Busby KINESIOLOGY

Emily Childress SOCIAL WORK

Laxmi Chintakayala CELL AND MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

Caroline Claassen

Shane Cristy BIOCHEMISTRY

Erika De Los Santos PSYCHOLOGY

Karishma Desai BIOCHEMISTRY

2018 MEMBERS IN COURSE LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA

Jeremy Doan MICROBIOLOGY

Whitney Ebaugh BIOLOGY

Stanley Eboh KINESIOLOGY

Megan Escobar SPORT MANAGEMENT

Danielle Falcon MICROBIOLOGY

Rana Farran BIOLOGY

Jonathan Ferrant SPORT MANAGEMENT

> Candice Finley PSYCHOLOGY

Chandler Freeman BIOLOGY

Bernardo Galvan KINESIOLOGY

Angelo Ganno GLOBAL STUDIES

Amanda Ganus ENGLISH

Melissa Gardner ANTHROPOLOGY

Shayna Gipson MATHEMATICS Mary Girgis HONORS ARTS & LETTERS

Mariela Grimaldo SPANISH

Brittney Hoang BIOCHEMISTRY

Hailey Hunt HISTORY

Samuel Kim PSYCHOLOGY

Hailey Leal MATHEMATICS

Alexandria Lovell SPANISH

Brenna Lumongsud BIOLOGY

Kelissa McCullar MICROBIOLOGY

Amanda Miller BIOCHEMISTRY

Sarah Miller BIOLOGY

Victor Moore

Luzelia Murguia PSYCHOLOGY

Christopher Najera HISTORY

2018 MEMBERS IN COURSE LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA

Maegan O'Brien SOCIOLOGY

> Lauren Pert BIOLOGY

Sydney Reagan KINESIOLOGY

Kyleigh Richardson HONORS ARTS & LETTERS

Georgina Rosenbrock PSYCHOLOGY

> Neel Roy ECONOMICS

Hannah Schake KINESIOLOGY

Emily Schiemann SOCIOLOGY

Sandra Schwartz MICROBIOLOGY

Obadeh Shabaneh MICROBIOLOGY

Mackenzie Skoller SPANISH

Stephanie Smith KINESIOLOGY Julie Telles-Carrizales

Darron Tharp CELL AND MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

> Amanda Thibeaux SOCIOLOGY

Jenna Townsend KINESIOLOGY

Jack Truelock MATHEMATICS

Varun Vemulapalli HONORS ARTS & LETTERS

> *Tanner Wall* KINESIOLOGY

Jennifer Webster MICROBIOLOGY

Robert Whitelaw GLOBAL STUDIES

Jaclyn Williams CELL AND MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

> Mario Yague PHILOSOPHY



The 2018 MEMBERS IN COURSE of the LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA wish to honor the following Texas Tech University faculty members, instructors, and mentors, whose teaching and example they have found exceptionally inspiring:

Jim Brink	Patricia Maloney
Dominick Casadonte	Michael Mayer
Jim Clopton	Francisco Ortega
Nathan Collie	Bailey Palmer
John D'Auria	Genaro J. Perez
Ronaldo Diaz	Michael San Francisco
Michael Dini	Patrick Scharfe
James Durham	Ruth Serra-Moreno
Jerry Dwyer	Robert W. Shaw
Leif Ellingson	Allie Smith
Robert Forbis	Allie C. Smith
Kathleen Gillis	Amelia Talley
Breanna Harris	Elena Tikhonova
Ashley Harry	Joel Velasco
Lewis Irving Held	Catherine Wakeman
Joe Hodes	Tamra Walter
Ram Iyer	Keith West



J. Josh Lawrence



members of the LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER of PHI BETA KAPPA extend thanks to current and previous regents, chancellors, presidents, provosts, deans, chairs, and faculty and staff colleagues for their support in establishing and maintaining the chapter, which was installed at Texas Tech in 2007. The Lambda of Texas Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa extends thanks to the Texas Tech University School of Law for allowing the ceremony to be held in the Lanier Center.

Lifetime Phi Beta Kappa membership dues and membership certificates are being provided for 2018 inductees by Texas Tech University. Engraved Phi Beta Kappa keys are being provided for 2018 inductees through the generosity of the Phi Beta Kappa Alumni Association of West Texas and Eastern New Mexico.



The PHI BETA KAPPA Society LAMBDA of TEXAS CHAPTER

www.ttu.edu/pbk