College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
TTU Home CASNR Home NewsCenter Home

CASNR News Center

CASNR distinguished alumni honored at McKenzie Merket Alumni Center

CASNR distinguished alumni honored at McKenzie Merket Alumni Center

Texas Tech University’s College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources recognized six distinguished alumni at 6 p.m. Monday (Feb. 20) at the university’s McKenzie Merket Alumni Center. The Distinguished & Young Alumni Awards honor alumni who have made significant contributions to society, and whose accomplishments and careers have brought distinction to the college and to the professions associated with agriculture and natural resources.

In addition, program officials recognized the CASNR Young Alumna Award, said Jane Piercy, CASNR’s Director of Development and External Relations. The recipient of the second 2012 Young Alumna Award is Ginger Light, physiological traits development manager with Bayer CropScience. Light of Idalou received her doctorate in agronomy from Texas Tech in 1999.

The recipients of this year’s Distinguished Alumni Awards are:
Dean Hawkins Canyon. Hawkins received his bachelor’s degree in animal sciences in 1984 and master’s degree in animal breeding in 1986 from Texas Tech. Today, he is head of West Texas A&M University’s Department of Agricultural Sciences.
Larry Richardson – Vega. Richardson received his bachelor’s degree in agronomy in 1981 from Texas Tech. He is president of Richardson Seeds, and president of MMR Genetics, a sorghum breeding company.
Dewey Shroyer Wolfforth. Shroyer received his bachelor’s degree in 1966 and a master’s degree in 1973, both in park administration. He is managing director-emeritus of Texas Tech’s Grounds Maintenance Department.
Chris Skaggs Bryan. Skaggs received his bachelor’s degrees in agricultural education and animal science in 1982 from Texas Tech. He is associate dean for student development for Texas A&M’s College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.
Kirk Thomas Lubbock. Thomas received his bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics in 1981 and master’s degree in finance in 1982 from Texas Tech. The Lubbock County native is president of Lone Star State Bank.
David Wester Kingsville. Wester received his master’s degree in 1979 and doctorate in 1984 from Texas Tech, both in range science. He is a professor and research scientist with Texas A&M- Kingsville’s Department of Animal, Rangeland & Wildlife Sciences.

The measure of a college’s distinction and influence depends greatly upon the achievements of its alumni and the positions they attain in their respective communities and fields of endeavor, program offiicials said. These awards were established to recognize some of our most outstanding alumni.

The awards do more than honor former students, she added. They spotlight the accomplishments of the college, Texas Tech and, ultimately it enhances the pride of alumni, students, faculty and staff. It’s tangible evidence of the effectiveness of agricultural and natural resource programs at Texas Tech.

Written by Norman Martin

CONTACT: Tracee Murph, Coordinator of Alumni Relations, Office of Development & Alumni Relations, Texas Tech University at (806) 742-2802 or

0215NM12 / Editor’s Note: Pictured (clockwise from top, left) Dean Hawkins; Larry Richardson; Dewey Shroyer; Chris Skaggs; Kirk Thomas; and David Wester. (Bottom) Ginger Light


Find something wrong on this page? Help us fix it! Report an error.