College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
TTU Home CASNR Home NewsCenter Home

CASNR News Center

Hall of Fame, Meat Science Recognition Banquet Honors Best and Brightest

Hall of Fame, Meat Science Recognition Banquet Honors Best and Brightest

Texas Tech’s Department of Animal and Food Sciences highlighted its outstanding alumni on Friday (Oct. 12) at special 200-person recognition banquet in university’s United Spirit Arena. Award categories for the seven honorees included Distinguished Service, Horizon, Advanced Graduate of Distinction, Meathead of the Year, Meat Science Distinguished Alumni, and the Albert Usener Award.

Among the recipients are:
Terry Crofoot, Hall of Fame – Distinguished Service Award. The Slaton native has many long-standing ties with the university. In addition to supporting the department, Crofoot supports Texas Tech Athletics, Texas Tech Health Science Center’s Comprehensive Epilepsy Program, and serves as a member of the Texas Tech Equestrian Center advisory board.

Britt Conklin Hall of Fame – Horizon Award. The Panhandle native operates Panhandle Equine Veterinary Service while pursuing the farming and livestock industries. He received his bachelor’s degree in 1997 and then went to Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine (1997-2001).

Richard Ligon Hall of Fame – Advanced Graduate of Distinction Award. The Graham resident graduated with his bachelor’s degree in animal science in 1958, then received his masters in animal science in 1960. After working in many capacities in the beef cattle industry, Ligon now serves in many leadership capacities, including serving as a past Texas Tech Alumni Association President and a founding Ronald McDonald House board member.

Chuck Anderson Hall of Fame – Graduate of Distinction Award. After graduating with a degree in food science in 1965, Anderson worked in a variety of positions throughout the food industry before moving back to Lubbock to serve as president and founder of Abuelo’s restaurant. Although he has now retired, he remains an active supporter of Texas Tech.

Rod Polkinghorne Meathead of the Year. A native of Australia, Polkinghorne has been an international leader in beef quality for more than 30 years. In addition, he has been instrumental in helping Texas Tech students complete international internships in Australia during the past two summers.

Tim Tatsch Albert Usener Award. After graduating with a degree in animal science in 1997, Tatsch earned his master’s degree in interdisciplinary agriculture in 1999. He was a member of the 1996 National Champion Meat Judging Team and coached the 1999 National Champion Meat Judging Team. Currently, Tatsch teaches agricultural sciences at Hondo High School.

Bradley Price Meat Science Distinguished Alumni Award. Price graduated with a bachelor’s and master’s from Texas Tech and was a member of the 1997 National Champion Meat Judging Team. Afterwards, he spent seven years with Cargill Meat Solutions and one year at Cargill Food Distribution. He returned to Texas Tech in 2008 as the Director of Raider Red Meats.

Additionally, the banquet commemorated the 10-year anniversary of the 2002 Meat Judging Team, the 20-year anniversary of the 1992 Meat Judging Team, the 30-year anniversary of the 1982 Meat Judging Team, the 45-year anniversary of the 1967 Livestock Judging Team, and the 50-year anniversary of the 1962 Rodeo Team. Following the banquet, attendees joined the department in the unveiling of five championship banners garnered in 2011 and 2012.

Written by Kelsey Shaw

CONTACT: Moriah Beyers, Department of Animal and Food Sciences, Texas Tech University at (806) 742-2805, ext. 248 or



Find something wrong on this page? Help us fix it! Report an error.