College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
TTU Home CASNR Home NewsCenter Home

CASNR News Center

Tech’s meat animal evaluation team captures hometown victory in Lubbock

Tech’s meat animal evaluation team captures hometown victory in Lubbock

Texas Tech’s Meat Animal Evaluation Team started the spring season off on the right foot, claiming first place on Tuesday (Mar. 26) at the National Meat Animal Evaluation Contest in Lubbock. The event, which rotates among competing universities, was hosted in Hub City for the first time.

The contest is specifically designed to encourage students to seek a more complete understanding of the food supply from conception to consumer, said Mark Miller, the contest’s superintendent and a Texas Tech professor in the Department of Animal and Food Sciences.

This year, Texas Tech won the breeding animal, sheep evaluation, beef evaluation, market animal and meats divisions. The team posted a total score of 8,750 points, outdistancing the second place team by 106 points. The University of Illinois, Oklahoma State, Kansas State and Colorado State rounded out the top five teams overall.

Individual standouts on the Texas Tech team were Isaac Wenzel, a junior from Hamilton, who led the team as high point individual. He was followed by teammates Bo Hutto, a junior from Hondo; Lane Halfmann, a junior from Garden City; Valerie Manning, a junior from Mabank; Logan Mason, a junior from Lazbuddie; and Cade Luckett, a senior from Matador. The team is coached by Ryan Rathmann, an assistant professor in Tech’s Department of Animal and Food Sciences and Travis O’Quinn.

Other Tech team members included:

  • Caetlyn Avant, a junior from Copeville
  • Dan Crownover, a junior from Italy
  • Blake Davis, a junior from Paragould, Ark.
  • Steven Ebeling, a junior from Plainview
  • Emily Jackson, a junior from Waco
  • Tanner Martin, a junior from Roscoe
  • Kaitlyn Meyer, a junior from Temple
  • Kevin Murnin, a junior from Miles City, Mont.
  • Stephanie Neuhaus, a junior from Dora, N.M.
  • Jordan Richburg, a junior from Deltona, Fla.
  • Nick Rieke, a junior from LaOtto, Ind.
  • Matt Savage, a junior from Seminole

Written by Moriah Beyers

CONTACT: Ryan Rathmann, assistant professor, Department of Animal and Food Sciences, Texas Tech University at 742-2805 ext. 233 or



Find something wrong on this page? Help us fix it! Report an error.