College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
TTU Home CASNR Home NewsCenter Home

CASNR News Center

Texas Tech’s Board of Regents grant tenure to new PSS faculty member

Texas Tech’s Board of Regents grant tenure to new PSS faculty member

David Weindorf, Texas Tech’s new B.L. Allen Endowed Chair of Pedology, received tenure at the most recent System Board of Regents meeting. Weindorf, who joins Tech from Louisiana State University, received tenure contemporaneously with his appointment.

Other Texas Tech faculty receiving tenure were David Perlmutter, dean of the College of Media and Communication; David Ray, associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences; Danny Reible, Donovan Maddox Distinguished Engineering Chair in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Lydia Thompson, director of the School of Art; and Jian Wang, Helen DeVitt Jones Chair in Teacher Education.

These six individuals bring the number of full-time tenured faculty at Tech to 773. There are a total of 1,017 tenured and tenure-track faculty at the university. There are 468 non-tenure track faculty at Tech.

A nationally-recognized expert in land-use planning and a Fulbright Scholar, Weindorf stepped into his new teaching and research post here in Lubbock last month. In the past, the Austin native has focused his research efforts on the development of applications for new technologies in field soil survey, land use management/planning, remote sensing, environmental quality assessment, compost science and international translational soil taxonomy.

Written by Norman Martin

CONTACT: Michael Galyean, Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, Texas Tech University at (806) 742-2808 or  



Find something wrong on this page? Help us fix it! Report an error.