College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
TTU Home CASNR Home NewsCenter Home

CASNR News Center

Flavor Chemists Honor; AFS’ Legako tapped for Jogue Scholarship Award

A standout graduate student from Texas Tech’s Department of Animal and Food Sciences has been selected to receive the prestigious Jogue Scholarship Award from The Society of Flavor Chemists. Jerrad Legako of Lubbock will be presented the $2,000 scholarship at the society’s annual meeting on May 17 in Newark, New Jersey, announced officials with the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources today (May 2).

“This is a unique honor,” said Leslie Thompson, chairman of Tech’s animal and food sciences department. “It’s a very competitive scholarship. No one at Texas Tech has ever received this scholarship before, and it’s related to some innovative research that Jerrad and Chance Brooks are conducting in sensory analysis.”

Brooks, an associate professor of meat science, received this year’s President’s Excellence in Teaching Award, as well as the American Meat Science Association’s 2011 Distinguished Teaching Award.

The New Jersey-based Society of Flavor Chemists is a non-profit organization devoted to the advancement of the field of flavor technology and related sciences, according to program leaders. Flavor chemists or flavorists develop flavors for a wide variety of food and pharmaceutical products, using creative and artistic talents along with various analytical tools including gas and liquid chromatography.

Written by Norman Martin

CONTACT: Leslie Thompson, chairman and professor, Department of Animal and Food Sciences, Texas Tech University at 806-742-2805 ext 224 or



Find something wrong on this page? Help us fix it! Report an error.