TTU Home Arts & Sciences Home

Geosciences Alumni Reception

Image 1 Image 2 Image 3 Image 4 Image 5 Image 6 Image 7


The College of Arts and Sciences hosted its first ever Geosciences Alumni Reception in Houston on April 23, 2009.  Dean Lawrence Schovanec, Department Chair, Calvin Barnes and new faculty members had an opportunity to meet and greet the alumni. 

Dr. Barnes introduced new faculty members, Peter Holterhoff, and Hua-wei Zhou.  He announced recent student and faculty accomplishments and awards including major scholarships to Mike Muncy and Fan Jiang.  He discussed participation in three Research Enhancement grants, and Katherine Hayhoe’s participation in the Nobel Prize-winning IPCC (International Panel on Climate Change).

The event was a great opportunity for those present to connect with fellow colleagues in the industry.  We would like to make the reception an annual event.

See Event photo album.

We thank all those who attended and supported the event and would like to extend our special appreciation to the host committee.

Reception Host Committee

James Saye, Houston Energy, L.P.
Matt Williams, Southwestern Energy Company
Kenneth S. Johnson, Ph.D., University of Houston
Imelda G. Johnson, Ph.D., ExxonMobil Corporation
Kristi White, Fugro Seismic Imaging, Inc.
Michael Wisda, Lee Hite & Wisda, Ltd.
Joe J. Termina, Anadarko Petroleum