Texas Tech University

Arts & Sciences A-List, We Salute You

This fall, students can look forward to starting classes with virtuoso professors, many of whom were hailed for their work during TTU’s spring Faculty Honors Convocation.

During the spring 2012 awards, 95 faculty members--including previously awarded Horn Professors--were applauded, 35 of them from the College of Arts & Sciences.

Paul Whitfield Horn Professors

Texas Tech University's highest award is the Paul Whitfield Horn Professorship. Meet the College of Arts & Sciences' Paul Whitfield Horn Professors.

Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Research Award

Dimitri Pappas,
Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Outstanding Researcher Awards

Guigen Li,
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Texas Tech Parents Association Barnie E. Rushing Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award

Patricia DeLucia,
Professor, Psychology

President’s Academic Achievement Awards

Lee Cohen,
Chair, Psychology

President’s Excellence in Teaching Awards

Lars Christensen,
Associate Professor, Mathematics & Statistics

Erin Hardin,
Associate Professor, Psychology

President’s Book Awards

Kanika Batra,
Assistant Professor, English

Sean Cunningham,
Assistant Professor, History

Cristina Garcia,
Professor, English

Gloria Lyerla Memorial Library Research Travel Grants

Cordelia Barrera,
Assistant Professor, English

Karlos Hill,
Assistant Professor, History

Brett Houk,
Assistant Professor, Sociology, Anthropology & Social Work

Texas Tech Alumni Association New Faculty Awards

Laura Calkins,
Assistant Professor, History

Emeritus Faculty Certificates

Bryce Conrad, English . Joe King, Economics . Ronald Rainger, History

Thomas Steinmeier, Economics . David Williams, Communication Studies

Achievements Beyond the Faculty Awards

In addition to recognizing faculty, the convocation also honored doctoral studentLaurie Anderson, Department of English, with the Horn Professor Graduate Achievement Award.

Each spring, an entire department is recognized for outstanding achievement. The Department of Communication Studies received the Teaching Academy Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award.


College of Arts & Sciences