CAC Logo
TTU Logo
NSF Logo

CAC @ TTU Leadership Team

The CAC@TTU site works with faculty drawn from several departments and colleges throughout the university to deliver on the promise of the Cloud and Autonomic Computing effort. The following team leads these coordination efforts:

Alan Sill, Ph.D.

The Center Co-Director for the CAC and Principal Investigator for the CAC@TTU is Dr. Alan Sill, who also holds positions at Texas Tech as Senior Director of the High Performance Computing Center and Adjunct Professor of Physics. He is currently President of the Open Grid Forum (OGF) and is active several other standards organizations, including the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Telecommunications Management Forum (TM Forum), and the Distributed Management Task Force (DMTF). Dr. Sill participates in international and national-scale cloud standards road-mapping efforts in organizations such as the US National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), the EU-funded StandICT coordination project steering committee, and has served as liaison representative for OGF to the International Telecommunications Union Telecommunications Standardization Sector (ITU-T) and the International Standards Organization (ISO). He has helped to launch several large-scale cloud and grid computing projects, including the Open Science Grid (OSG), Southeastern Universities Research Association SURAgrid, and the Worldwide Large Hadron Collider Grid. He leads cloud interoperability testbed projects within the US NSF Chameleon, CloudLab and XSEDE research facilities and was one of the organizers for the Cloud Plugfest series of hands-on developer-oriented cloud testing conferences. Further biographical information for Dr. Sill is available on EDUCAUSE.

Ravi Vadapalli, Ph.D.

Associate Site Director Dr. Ravi Vadapalli is a Research Scientist in High Performance Computing and Adjunct Professor of Petroleum Engineering. He has extensive experience in advanced distributed computing, research development in both disciplinary and interdisciplinary areas through data intensive computing. Dr. Vadapalli was one of the principal members of the developer team for the Texas Internet Grid for Research and Education (TIGRE), and led the demonstration of grid and cloud computing methods for the Petroleum Engineering Grid (PEGrid). He has also been deeply involved in development of methods for use of advanced high performance computing for simulation and modeling in cancer radiotherapy and other related applications. Dr. Vadapalli is a frequent speaker on these topics to a variety of professional industry-based and academic organizations. His current interests are in fostering new collaborations, industry-academia partnerships and grant opportunities that enhance the visibility and leadership of Texas Tech University in higher education.

Yong Chen, Ph.D.

Associate Site Director Dr. Yong Chen is an Assistant Professor of Computer Science. He leads the Data-Intensive Scalable Computing Laboratory (DISCL) at Texas Tech University, and has broad research interests in parallel and distributed computing, high performance computing, cloud computing, computer architectures and systems software. The focus of his recent work has been on building scalable computing systems for data-intensive applications in high-performance scientific computing and high-end enterprise computing. His group also has extensive expertise in hardware and software methods for data-intensive computing, and has made advances in hardware technologies for improving scalability and efficiency of scientific computing capabilities and Big Data applications, including dynamic active methods for high performance I/O in storage systems. Dr. Chen has co-chaired and served on the program committees of several recent conferences in data-intensive scalable computing systems and programming models for parallel computing, systems software, and cluster, grid and cloud computing. He led the Student Cluster Competition team for Texas Tech University at the 2012 ACM/IEEE Supercomputing Conference.