Construction Engineering & Engineering Technology
TTU Home Whitacre College of Engineering Construction Engineering & Engineering Technology Department Chair’s Welcome

Chair’s Welcome

David Ernst

David Ernst, M.E.

Phone: 806.834.8657

Mailing Address:
Texas Tech University
Department of Construction Engineering & Engineering Technology
Box 43107
Lubbock, TX 79409−3107


Welcome to the Department of Construction Engineering and Engineering Technology (CEET). The Department of Construction Engineering and Engineering Technology is in the final stages of a major change, which is scheduled to be completed by the end of December 2014. At that time, the Construction Engineering Technology and the Mechanical Engineering Technology programs phase out will be completed and only the new Construction Engineering program will remain. When the transition is complete, the department will undergo one more name change to, Construction Engineering (CONE).

The CONE program currently has approximately 200 majors and continues to grow. The program had it first BS CONE graduate in December 2011, followed by its second graduate in August 2012. The CONE program had its initial ABET−EAC accreditation visit in the fall of 2012. The visit went well and the bachelor of science in construction engineering has received full accreditation from ABET. Texas Tech University's program has now joined the other 12 construction engineering programs in the U.S. that hold the ABET-EAC accreditation.

It is an exciting time in the Construction Engineering program at Texas Tech University as we continue to grow and further develop the program. In addition, a 12−hour graduate certificate program in Construction Engineering & Management was approved in the spring of 2012 and is listed in the 2012−2013 catalog.

Thank you for your interest in the Construction Engineering program at Texas Tech. As you peruse our website, please feel free to contact any of my staff or myself if you have any unanswered questions.

Go Red Raiders!

David Ernst, M.E.

Interim Department Chair