Texas Tech University, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
TTU Home Whitacre College of Engineering Civil and Environmental Engineering 44th International Conference on Environmental Systems

ICES 2014

44th International Conference on Environmental Systems

Event Preview

Preview Booklet

Event Program

Program Booklet


Date and Location

July 13-17, 2014

Tucson Marriott University Park
880 East Second Street
Tucson, Arizona 85719 U.S.A.




Registration for the 44th International Conference on Environmental Systems is now open:

Register Online


Conference Hotel Rate and Registration

The ICES Hotel Block has sold out. The following are nearby hotels that are available. Please contact them directly.

The Aloft Tucson
1900 East Speedway - Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone: 520.908.6800

The Arizona Inn
2200 E Elm St. - Tucson, AZ 85719
Phone: 520.325.1541

Best Western Royal Sun
1015 N Stone Ave - Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone: 520.622.8871


The 44th International Conference on Environmental Systems (ICES) will be held in Tucson, Arizona at the Tucson Marriott University Park on July 13–17. The conference is organized by members of the AIAA Life Sciences and Systems Technical Committee and Space Environmental Systems Program Committee, AIChE Environmental Systems Committee, ASME Crew Systems Technical Committee, and ICES International Committee. The conference will cover numerous topics relating to humans living and working in hostile environments including: aerospace human factors, environmental control and life support, system technologies, environmental monitoring and controls, planetary protection, EVA system technology, life sciences, planetary habitats and systems, and thermal control systems for both manned and unmanned vehicles. The conference is open to participants from any nation, academics, government, and industry organizations. The conference is composed of 4 days of 30–minute technical presentations and student poster competition. The conference has a no podium/no paper and no paper/no podium policies.

Contact Information

For general questions you can contact us at ices.ce@ttu.edu or feel free to contact any steering committee member.


Texas Tech University
Paragon Space Development Corporation
UTC Aerospace Systems
European Space Agency

Steering Committee

General Chair
Chang Son The Boeing Company
Vice Chair
Wes Ousley Genesis Engineering Solutions, LLC
Grant Anderson Paragon Space Development Corporation
Jeff Farmer NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
Matthias Holzwarth Airbus Defence and Space
Andrew Jackson Texas Tech University
Tom Leimkuehler Paragon Space Development Corporation
Tim Nalette UTC Aerospace Systems
Amy Ross NASA Johnson Space Center