December 2008 Edition

Research/Academic Showcase

Texas Tech Researchers Counter Chemical Warfare with New Technology

New Synthesis Approach Could Create More Durable and Elastic Materials

License Plates Provide Scholarships for Students

"Portals of Discovery" Creator Receives National Medal of Arts

Campus Connection

Chancellor's Council Announces Outstanding Teaching, Research Awards

Texas Tech Receives National Science Foundation Funding for New Teaching Program

Professor Honored by Sigma Delta Pi

President Bush Appoints Vietnam Center Director to Education Foundation

Texas Supreme Court Recognizes Texas Tech with First-ever Service Award

Meat Judging Team Wins National Championship

Livestock Judging Team Shatters Record in National Championship Win

McCain, Hance Set to Address Fall Graduates


College of Engineering Named For Former Regent and AT&T CEO Edward E. Whitacre Jr.

Thompson Named to New Endowed CASNR Chairmanship

Alumni News

Alumni Association Hosts Carol Of Lights Pre-lighting Festival

Holiday Gift Ideas

Get Your Red Raider MasterCard

Featured Tradition

50 Years of Shining Bright

What It Feels Like...

To Recruit Chess Players in Dresden Germany

University Wallpaper

December Wallpaper

Featured Alumnus

Angela Braly


Jones AT&T Stadium Expansion Officially Underway

Kipyego Runs into History Books with Third-Straight NCAA Cross Country Title

Harrell, Crabtree Headed To Home Depot ESPNU Awards Show

Harrell Named Wuerffel Trophy Finalist

Texas Tech Places 18 on Academic Big 12 Squads

Texas Tech University Press News

Texas Tech Press Book Wins Texas Writers' League Award

Holiday Calendar

The end of the fall semester is a busy time on the Texas Tech campus

Texas Tech Ornament

Get Your Guns Up this Holiday

Helpful Links

Texas Tech University

TTU Health Sciences Center

Texas Tech University System

TTU Alumni Association

Institutional Advancement


Email this article to a friend


Texas Tech Places 18 on Academic Big 12 Squads

Harrell, Griffin two of six players in the league with 4.0 grade point averages.

Written by Chris Cook


Graham Harrell

Eighteen Red Raiders have been named to the 2008 Academic All-Big 12 Football Team with 12 earning first-team honors. Texas Tech’s J.J. Griffin and Graham Harrell were two of six players overall with a 4.0 grade point average. Texas Tech was third behind the University of Texas with 22 and The University of Nebraska with 19 representatives.

Players earning first-team status include linebacker Bront Bird (business administration), defensive back Taylor Charbonnet (business administration), punter/kicker Cory Fowler (general business-graduate), running back J.J. Griffin (exercise and sport science-graduate), quarterback Graham Harrell (education-graduate), punter Jonathan LaCour (advertising), defensive lineman David Neill (human development and family studies), offensive lineman Mickey Okafor (arts and sciences undeclared), offensive lineman Chris Olsen (marketing and management), defensive lineman Chris Perry (arts and sciences undeclared), quarterback Taylor Potts (exercise and sport science) and wide receiver Todd Walker (human development and family studies). Harrell was named to the first-team in 2007.

Safety Daniel Charbonnet (general studies), wide receiver Rashad Hawk (arts and sciences undeclared), offensive lineman Jake Johnson (human development and family studies), safety Franklin Mitchem (general business), Inside Receiver Eric Morris (communication studies) and defensive end Jake Ratliff (animal science) were selected to the second team. Charbonnet received the honor for the second-straight year.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.0 grade point average or higher cumulative for the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his team’s scheduled contests. First-team members must hold a 3.2 GPA or higher to qualify, while second-team honorees have to fall between 3.0 and 3.19. Freshmen and transfer students are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Visit the official Texas Tech football Web site.

Nov 14, 2017