Alumni Highlights

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Honors Former Regent and Alumnus

The Department of Anesthesiology in the School of Medicine presented its first Distinguished Alumnus Award Sept. 30 at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Carl Noe, M.D., a former Texas Tech University regent, was honored with the award and was inducted into the Department of Anesthesia Hall of Fame.

Noe was appointed by Gov. Ann Richards to the Texas Tech University Board of Regents, serving from 1993 to 1999.

Jon Michael Badgwell, M.D., chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology, said Noe exemplifies all that is good about Texas Tech.

“We are proud to honor him by presenting him with the Distinguished Alumnus Award and by inducting him into the Department of Anesthesia Hall of Fame,” Badgwell says. “He has earned these honors, in general, by virtue of a large scope of time and financial contributions to the university but specifically through his steadfast loyalty and devotion to Texas Tech.”

Noe says his time at the Health Sciences Center was invaluable.

“The Health Sciences Center taught me that education doesn’t end when the homework stops, the learning continues for the rest of your life. That’s the lesson that all great universities teach their students,” he says.

Noe completed his doctor of medicine degree at the University of Texas at San Antonio. He completed his internship and residency in anesthesiology at the Health Sciences Center from 1984 to 1987 and in 1989 was a Pain Fellow.

During his tenure at the Health Sciences Center, Noe was named chief resident of the Department of Anesthesiology. He later completed a fellowship at Stanford University in critical care.

He now serves as a Diplomate of the American Board of Anesthesiology, has subspecialty certification in critical care medicine and pain medicine and is a fellow in the International Pain Institute. He is the medical director of the Baylor Center for Pain Management in Dallas.

The Anesthesia Hall of Fame was started in 1986 by Gabor B. Racz, M.D, professor and Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Anesthesiology.

“Dr. Noe has brought widespread national and international recognition to the Health Sciences Center through his work in pain management. More importantly, he never forgets to give praise and recognition to the university that trained him. He is truly a star in his chosen field here at Texas Tech,” Badgwell says.

- Suzanna Martinez



Nov 14, 2017