Texas Tech University

Faculty & Staff

Dean Jeffrey Belnap
Welcome to Texas Tech-Costa Rica! It's an exciting time to be at Costa Rica's first branch of a U.S.-accredited, research intensive university. This campus stands out for its STEM and business-related degree programs delivered 100% in English; for its research active professors; and for its hands-on learning model. We equip our students with technical knowledge, teambuilding skills, and intellectual agility. These qualities will enable them to become ethical leaders in an increasingly competitive global economy—leaders the world needs.

-Jeffrey Belnap, Ph. D.

Dean

Director Ellen Rose

At Texas Tech-Costa Rica, we are building from the ground up and are capitalizing on a mindset that draws upon innovation and a quest to embrace lifelong learning and new challenges.

On our campus, we aim to be at the forefront of change, change through education, making, doing and questioning. I invite you to experience all that is happening at Texas Tech CR, both inside and outside the classroom, so that you too can come to know just how we are facilitating curiosity, the type that will prepare our students for whatever lies ahead.

-Ellen Rose

Director

Faculty

Professor Gonzalo Alfaro

Gonzalo Alfaro, M.Sc.

Restaurant Hotel and Institutional Management

Professor Gonzalo Alfaro is not only Texas Tech CR's first faculty member in the Restaurant, Hotel, and Institutional Management program, but he also graduated from the same program in Lubbock in 2006. Currently Professor Alfaro is finishing his Ph.D. in Hospitality Management at Texas Tech University in the College of Human Sciences. He received his Master in Management and Tourism in 2012 from the University of Technology Sydney. Since 2007, he has been working internationally in the food and beverage and hotel industries. Professor Alfaro worked as a Food and Beverage Manager, Convention Manager, and Hotel Operations Manager. Most of his work experience has been conducted in luxury hotels in his home country of Peru.

Professor Alberto Jimenez

Alberto Jimenez, Ph.D.

Chemistry

Alberto Jimenez earned his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from Colorado State University in 2013 and his B.S. in 1999 from the University of Costa Rica. He joined the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry of Texas Tech University after being trained as a Post-doctoral Research Scholar at Emory University. As a member of the research team at the Emory Institute for Drug Development, he worked in medicinal chemistry projects related to the synthesis of antiviral compounds targeting RNA-dependent RNA polymerases. As a doctoral student, Jimenez was involved in a project related to the synthesis of tetrahydroisoquinoline antitumor antibiotic natural products. Previously, he worked in the bioprospecting program at the National Biodiversity Institute of Costa Rica on projects related to the isolation of bioactive natural products. Before the start of his graduate studies, he taught organic and general chemistry courses at the University of Medical Sciences in Costa Rica and at the University of Costa Rica.

Professor Juan Carlos Rojas

Juan Carlos Rojas, Ph.D.

Dr. Juan Carlos Rojas has a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Northeastern University, and a master's in Engineering Management from Stanford University. He has over 21 years of professional experience working in high-tech R∓D companies in Boston, Silicon Valley, and Costa Rica. He and also founded and ran his own company, Inband Software, for several years. He is experienced in the areas of digital signal processing, digital communications, computer vision, real-time embedded computing, and analog signal integrity. His current research interests include image processing for agriculture, and high-speed digital interconnects. At Texas Tech CR, Dr. Rojas is supporting both the departments of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering.

Staff

Ellen S. Rose

Director, Texas Tech University
Costa Rica

ellen.rose@ttu.edu

Finance & Operations

Alejandro Diaz

Director of Operations

alejandro.diaz@ttu.edu

Norman Gomez

Facilities Coordinator

norman.gomez@edulinksa.com

Sebastian Corrales

Facilities Assistant

sebastian.corrales@edulinksa.com

Juan Andrés Perera

Project Development Specialist

juan.perera@edulinksa.com

Melvin Rayo

Financial Manager

melvin.rayo@edulinksa.com

Ronald Corrales

Financial Assistant

ronald.corrales@edulinksa.com

Marketing & Communications

Laura Barrera

Marketing and Communications Manager

laura.barrera@ttu.edu

Student Recruitment

Susie Levario

Recruitment Director

susie.levario@ttu.edu

Landon Segress

International Recruitment Coordinator

landon.segress@ttu.edu

Adriana Loria

Local Recruitment Coordinator

adriana.loria@ttu.edu

Student Services

Gabriela Echandi

Student Affairs Manager

gabriela.echandi-truque@ttu.edu

Sofia Fuentes

Academic Programs Coordinator

s.fuentes@ttu.edu

Marypaz Barquero

Study Abroad Coordinator

marypaz.barquero@ttu.edu

Administrative Support

Marianella Blanco

Human Resources Coordinator

To apply, send your resume in English to hr@edulinksa.com

marianella.blanco@ttu.edu

Carolina Obaldia

Administrative Coordinator

carolina.obaldia@ttu.edu

Ignacio Gonzalez

Faculty Assistant

ignacio.gonzalez@edulinksa.com

Maria Jose Mendez

Receptionist

maria-jose.mendez@ttu.edu

Andres Cordero

IT Coordinator

andres.cordero@ttu.edu

Successfully apply to
Texas Tech CR

With our helpful resources provided for the TESOL, SAT, and ACT entrance exams

or Download Program Curriculum

Want More

Information?