Texas Tech University, Department of Computer Science
TTU Home Whitacre College of Engineering Computer Science Research
Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) - Declarative Programming and Its Applications

Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU)

Declarative Programming and Its Applications


Faculty and Program Advisors

Michael Gelfond

Dr. Michael Gelfond

Dr. Michael Gelfond serves as Professor of Computer Science at Texas Tech University. Gelfond received the M.Sc. from St. Petersburg University, Russia in 1968 and a Ph.D. from the Institute of Mathematics of the Academy of Sciences, St. Petersburg in 1974. Previously he served as a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Texas at El Paso, where he received the University's Research Award. Dr. Gelfond contributed to the development of the Stable Model/Answer Set Semantics of Logic Programming, and the Answer Set Programming Paradigm, which is founded on the Stable Model Semantics. Dr. Gelfond is a fellow of the AAAI and a member of the European Academy of Sciences. He serves as an Area Editor for the International Journal of Theory and Practice of Logic Programming, an Executive Editor of the Journal of Logic and Computation. In 2004 and 2012 he was awarded the "most influential paper in twenty years award" by the International Association of Logic Programming.

Rattikorn Hewett

Dr. Rattikorn Hewett

Dr. Rattikorn Hewett is a professor and a Chair of the department of Computer Science at Texas Tech University. She has a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Iowa State University, an M. Eng. Sc. from the University of New South Wales, and a B.A. (Hons) in Pure Mathematics and Statistics from Flinders University, Australia. She is a recipient of two full scholarships from the Australian government, a postdoctoral fellowship from Stanford University, and a Research Initiation Award from NSF. Her research includes model-based reasoning, intelligent control, blackboard architectures and machine learning with applications in data mining, bioinformatics and software engineering. Her recent work includes cyber-physical system risk analysis, network security and cyber security. She has published extensively and has served on several editorial boards, and numerous conference program committees.

Akbar Siami-Namin

Dr. Akbar Siami-Namin

Dr. Akbar Siami Namin is an assistant professor in the department of Computer Science at Texas Tech University. She has a Ph.D. in Computer Science from The University of Western Ontario, MSc and BS in Applied Math and Computer Science. His research includes software engineering, software testing and program analysis, cyber security, secure programming, and machine learning. He is the author of several papers published in premier software engineering conferences and has been conference program committees for many international venues. His research in cyber security is funded by National Science Foundation.

Yuanlin Zhang

Dr. Yuanlin Zhang

Dr. Yuanlin Zhang is an Associate Professor of Computer Science at Texas Tech University. He has published in the area of Constraint Programming in the premier journals and conferences on Artificial Intelligence and Constraint Programming. Recently, he has been applying declarative programming to solve problems in the domain of Healthcare, Opinion Mining and AutoCAD drawing. Dr. Zhang has worked with more than a dozen of undergraduate students many of whom are from the underrepresented groups including women, African American and Hispanic students. He has published with the students in the important conferences and journals.

Dr. Fethi Inan

Program Evaluator
Dr. Fethi Inan

Dr. Fethi Inan is an Associate Professor of Instructional Technology in the Department of Educational Psychology and Leadership at Texas Tech University. Dr. Inan has diverse background and experience in instructional design, educational research and evaluation. Recently, he has served as a Principal Investigator of a project on high school mathematics funded by Next Generation Learning Challenge. Dr. Inan has been involved in the evaluation of numerous educational programs and has worked as an evaluator statistician for several state-wide evaluation projects, including Tennessee’s K-12 EdTech Launch and Michigan’s Freedom to Learn programs.

Dr. Byron J. Gao

Program Advisor
Dr. Byron J. Gao

Dr. Byron J. Gao received Ph.D. and B.Sc. in Computer Science from Simon Fraser University, Canada, in 2007 and 2003 respectively. He was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Wisconsin - Madison before joining Texas State University - San Marcos in 2008. His research spans several related fields including data mining, databases, information retrieval, and bioinformatics.

Dr. Kalarickal J. Oommen

Program Advisor
Dr. Kalarickal J. Oommen

Dr. Kalarickal J. Oommen is a Neurologist with sub-specialty training in Clinical Neurophysiology. His practice is at present limited to epileptology as the Co-Medical Director providing inpatient services in the Jay and Virginia Crofoot Epilepsy Monitoring Unit (EMU) in the Covenant Hospital in Lubbock Texas and outpatient services as Director of the Epilepsy clinics at Covenant Medical Group, which is a multi-specialty physicians group located in Lubbock, Texas. Dr. Oommen has been involved in clinical research since 1983. His unique area of research interest is cerebral blood flow in epilepsy. Dr. Oommen has been involved in medical education all his life. In addition to teaching students and residents, he has been involved in the training of paramedical professionals, physician assistants and Ph.D. students.



PhotoNameMajorUniversityResearch Link
Da Sol BakDa Sol BakComputer ScienceCornell UniversityResearch Description
David CharlesDavid CharlesComputer ScienceMcMurry UniversityResearch Description
Fatoumatta DibbaFatoumatta DibbaChemical EngineeringUniversity of HoustonResearch Description
Alex GainAlex GainPhysics EngineeringTulane UniversityResearch Description
Mary GalbraithMary GalbraithPhysicsSouthern Nazarene UniversityResearch Description
Graham HaugGraham HaugPhilosophyUniversity of Texas at San AntonioResearch Description
Jasmine LewisJasmine LewisComputer Information SystemsXavier University of LouisianaResearch Description
Ulf PetterssonUlf PetterssonComputer ScienceTexas Tech UniversityResearch Description
Abby SeibertAbby SeibertInformaticsIndiana UniversityResearch Description
Yu Tong ZhangYu Tong ZhangBioengineeringRice UniversityResearch Description