Texas Tech University
TTU HomeDepartment of English Faculty Archive

Faculty News Archive


2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003



Date Submitted

In Memoriam: Kline Nall

Services for Dr. Kline Nall, who passed away on December 16, 2003, were held in Lubbock on December 19. Dr. Nall taught in the English Department at Texas Tech for 38 years.

December 18, 2003

Dennis Covington Publishes New Book

Professor of English Dennis Covington has published a new book of nonfiction, entitled _Redneck Riviera: Armadillos, Outlaws, and the Demise of An American Dream_, with Counterpoint Press.

December 15, 2003

John Poch Publishes Book of Poems

John Poch, Assistant Professor of English, has published his first book of poetry, Poems (Orchises Press, 2004).

November 14, 2003

Two English Faculty Elected to SCMLA Executive Committee

Two English professors, Mary Jane Hurst and Marjean Purinton, have been elected to the Executive Committee of the South Central Modern Language Association (SCMLA).

November 6, 2003

Faculty News From the Department of English

Congratulations to Dr. Ann Hawkins who has been selected by the Bibliographical Society of America as a 2004 "New Scholar" in the field of bibliography.

October 16, 2003

Four English Faculty Inducted Into Teaching Academy

Four faculty from the Department of English were inducted into the Texas Tech University Teaching Academy on Thursday, October 2.

October 15, 2003

Department of English Supports JAMP

The Department of English is offering a special writing course in support of the Joint Admissions Medical Program (JAMP) of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.
School of Medicine.

June 12, 2003

English Professor Named Associate Fellow of the Society for Technical Communication

Congratulations to Dr. Thomas Barker, who has recently been named Associate Fellow of the Society for Technical Communication.

June 11, 2003

English Faculty Member Receives Fellowship

Congratulations to Dr. Ann Hawkins for receiving a fellowship from the American Bibliographical Society.

May 21, 2003

English Department Honors Retiring Faculty

The English Department recently honored retiring faculty members Dr. Don Rude, Professor Mary Hatfield, Dr. Lady Falls Brown, Dr. Carolyn Rude, and Dr. Sherry Ceniza, at the department's annual Spring Tea. Details can be found in the enclosed message.

May 21, 2003

English Department Holds Annual Award Ceremony

The Department of English recently honored graduate and undergraduate students at the department's annual Spring Tea. Numerous awards and scholarships were given out at the ceremony.

May 12, 2003

English Professor Receives Humanities Grant.

Congratulations to Dr. Tita Chico, who has received a $1500 grant from the National Humanities Center.

May 12, 2003

Professing Excellence Awards

Dr. Lady Falls Brown (English), Dr. Michael Dini (Biological Sciences), Dr. Randy McBee (History), Dr. Richard Quade (Physics), and Dr. Roger Saathoff (Mass Communications) received Professing Excellence Awards.

April 17, 2003

English Faculty Members Receive Grants

Dr. Rich Rice has been awarded a TLTC Faculty Incentive Grant, and Dr. Scott Baugh has received the Gloria Lyerla Library Memorial Fund Research Travel Grant.

April 7, 2003

A&S Faculty Win Chancellor's Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Carolyn Rude from the Department of English and to Dr. Robert Flowers from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

February 12, 2003