Texas Tech University
TTU HomeDepartment of English Faculty Archive

Faculty News Archive


2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003



Date Submitted

Scott Baugh and Mike Schoenecke Receive Editing Award

Dr. Scott Baugh and Dr. Mike Schoenecke from the Department of English are recipients of a Scholarly Editing Award from the American Historical Association's Film and History League.

December 6, 2004

Team-Teaching English Professors Receive Innovative Course Award

In the Spring 2004 semester, Dr. Jenni Frangos and Dr. Cristobal Silva co-taught ENGL 3307 (18th Century British Literature) and ENGL 3323 (Early American Literature). The combined course, offering a transatlantic focus, was among the winners of the Innovative Course Design Competition of the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies.

November 23, 2004

English Department's Kirk St. Amant Publishes Article

Dr. Kirk St. Amant's essay, "International Online Workplaces: A Perspective for Management Education," has been published in The Cutting Edge of International Management Education, edited by Charles Wankel and Robert DeFillippi (Information Age Publishing, 2004).

November 11, 2004

Michael Borshuk to Publish Book on Jazz and Literature

Dr. Michael Borshuk's book, a revised version of his dissertation ("Swinging the Vernacular: Jazz and African American Modernist Literature"), has been accepted for publication by Routledge. Dr. Borshuk is a new assistant professor in the Department of English.

November 9, 2004

Jacqueline Kolosov-Wenthe to Publish New Chapbook

Dr. Jacqueline Kolosov-Wenthe's latest chapbook, Why Plant Bougainvillea, has been accepted for publication in 2005 by Finishing Line Press. Dr. Kolosov-Wenthe is a new assistant professor in the Department of English.

November 9, 2004

English Professor and Students Join Wiley's Way Promotion

Dr. Rich Rice, Assistant Professor of English, and nine students in ENGL 3360 and IS 1100 visited 5th grade classes at Tubbs Elementary and McWhorter Elementary on November 4 in an outreach effort related to the book entitled Wiley's Way: El Camino de Wiley.

November 5, 2004

Ann Daghistany Receives Mortar Board Award

Dr. Ann Daghistany, Associate Professor of English, has received Mortar Board's Outstanding Faculty Award. Congratulations!

November 3, 2004

English Department Well Represented at SCMLA Conference

Several TTU faculty, including Drs. Sean Grass, Mary Jane Hurst, and Marjean Purinton from the Department of English, participated in the recent meeting of the South Central Modern Language Association in New Orleans as presenters, session chairs, and executive officers. TTU's English Department is a Charter Member of SCMLA.

November 2, 2004

New Assistant Professor in English Publishes Co-Edited Collection

Dr. Kirk St. Amant, a new assistant professor in the Technical Communication program, is co-editor of Internet Based Workplace Communication: Industry and Academic Applications (Information Science Publishing, 2004).

October 18, 2004

Feisal Mohamed Publishes Article in PMLA

Dr. Feisal Mohamed, Assistant Professor of English, will have his article "Confronting Religious Violence: Milton's Samson Agonistes" published in the March 2005 issue of PMLA (Publications of the Modern Language Association), which many consider the top journal of English professors in the United States.

September 30, 2004

Humanities Council Selects Nominees for NEH Competition

Congratulations to Dr. Sean Grass, Department of English, and to Dr. Gretchen Adams, Department of History, whose proposals have been selected to represent Texas Tech in the National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Stipend competition. A number of excellent proposals were submitted this year, making the selection duties of Texas Tech's Humanities Council most difficult.

September 23, 2004

$15,000 Grant Awarded for History of the Book

Ann Hawkins of the Department of English and Bruce Cammack of the Southwest Collection/Special Collections Library have been awarded $15,000 in funding from the Helen Jones Foundation for a traveling exhibit in public education on the history of the book.

September 20, 2004

Top Faculty, Staff, and Students Inducted into Phi Kappa Phi

The TTU Chapter of the honorary society Phi Kappa Phi inducted four faculty and staff members and 200 students at a ceremony and banquet on April 15. Carolyn Kennedy, an outstanding graduate student and the Executive Administrative Associate to the Provost, was inducted and recognized for her contributions to the academic mission of the university. Dr. Ann Daghistany from the Department of English, Dr. Judy Oskam from the School of Mass Communications, and Dr. Padhu Seshaiyer from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics were inducted and recognized for their outstanding teaching and scholarship and for their generous service on behalf of the academic mission of the university. Undergraduate student Andy Ray Terrel received a scholarship from the local chapter and was also announced as the recipient of a scholarship from the National Phi Kappa Phi Society.

April 16, 2004

Faculty Convocation Honors Numerous Arts and Sciences Faculty

The College of Arts and Sciences was well-represented at the Faculty Convocation on April 6. Dr. Hafid Gafaiti was named Paul Whitfield Horn Professor. The Department of English won the Teaching Academy's Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award. Dr. Anthony Qualin and Dr. Carl Seaquist received the President's Excellence in Teaching Award. Dr. Clyde Martin received the President's Academic Achievement Award. Dr. Brian McFadden and Dr. William Gray received the Alumni Association New Faculty Award. Dr. David Knaff received the Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award. Dr. Bruce Daniels received the Outstanding Researcher Award. All of the President's Book Awards went to Arts and Sciences faculty: Dr. Patricia Pelley, Dr. Lewis Held, and Dr. Kent Rylander. Dr. Patricia Pelley and Dr. Todd Anderson were recognized for having won the Chancellor's Distinguished Research Award. Dr. James Reckner was recognized for having won the Faculty Distinguished Leadership Award. Dr. Dominick Casadonte was recognized for having won the Spencer A. Wells Award for Creativity in Teaching. Dr. Colleen Fitzgerald was recognized for having won the Gloria Lyerla Memorial Library Research Travel Grant. Congratulations to all!

April 12, 2004

ACA Offers Session on the Novels of Stephen Jones

The novels of Dr. Stephen Jones, assistant professor of English, were the subject of two presentations on Friday, April 9, at the 26th annual meeting of the American Culture Association in San Antonio.

April 9, 2004

Connie Kuriyama Receives Book Award

Dr. Connie Kuriyama, Professor of English, has been awarded the Roma Gill Prize (given biennially by the Marlowe Society of America) for her book entitled _Christopher Marlowe: A Renaissance Life_ (Cornell UP, 2002).

March 22, 2004

Colleen Fitzgerald to Receive Research Travel Grant

Dr. Colleen Fitzgerald, assistant professor of English, is a 2004 recipient of the Gloria Lyerla Library Memorial Fund Research Travel Grant.

February 25, 2004

Brian McFadden to Receive Alumni Association New Faculty Award

Dr. Brian McFadden, assistant professor of English, is a 2004 recipient of the Alumni Association New Faculty Award. Dr. McFadden teaches Old English Literature, Middle English Literature, and the History of the English Language. He is also a specialist in the writings of J.R.R. Tolkien.

February 24, 2004

Brian McFadden Explains Language Issues to Phi Beta Kappans

A letter to the editor from Dr. Brian McFadden of the Department of English has been published in the Winter 2004 _Key Reporter_, the newsletter of the Phi Beta Kappa Society. Dr. McFadden's letter provides information about English spelling and the history of English.

February 2, 2004