Texas Tech University

Undergraduate Awards

Freshman Essay Award

Donate For winning essays in each of three categories:

  • The Mary Louise Brewer Award for Best Personal or Descriptive Essay
  • The Kline Nall Award for Best Expository or Argument Essay
  • The Jay Rushing Award for Best Research Paper

Nominated by instructors and selected by the Composition and Rhetoric Committee. Administered by the Directors of Composition. Amount is $50 for each recipient.

 Stephan Ross Huffman Poetry Award

Donate The Stephan Ross Huffman Memorial Poetry Award is given in the name of the late Stephan Ross Huffman, whose intelligence and writing continue to provoke thought and intellectual discourse today.

The amount of the award for 2006 is $400. The deadline for receipt of all entries is November 1st.

Mary Sue Carlock Award | Best Sophomore Literature Paper

Donate For the best critical essay written in a sophomore English literature class. Nominated by instructors and selected by the Literary Studies Committee. Amount is $100.

J.T. McCullen Award | Best Advanced Undergraduate Literature Paper

Donate For the best critical essay on a literary or linguistic topic written in a junior or senior level English class. Selected by the Literary Studies Committee. Amount is $100.

Alumni in Technical Communication Award

Donate For the best senior project in technical communication from an ENGL 4366 or 4367 class (based on appropriateness to aim and audience, effectiveness of design, and adherence to professional standards). Nominated by instructors and selected by a panel of alumni technical communication students. Amount is $100.

Robert S. Newton in Creative Writing Award

For the outstanding creative writing students in English 3351, 4351, or 5370. If only one winner is selected, that student is awarded the total amount. Administered and selected by the Creative Writing faculty.

Inactive Fund.


Department of English