Texas Tech University

Carolyn Detjen Rude Scholarship

Carolyn Rude taught technical communication at Texas Tech University from 1981 until 2003. From 1989 until 2003, she directed the program in technical communication. Under her leadership the undergraduate curriculum and requirements for the specialization expanded, and the graduate programs were launched (Master of Arts in Technical Communication 1993; PhD in Technical Communication and Rhetoric 1993; MATC online 1997). She won several university and national awards for teaching, research, and service, including the Chancellor's Council Distinguished Teaching Award (2002), Faculty Distinguished Leadership Award (2002), and President's Academic Achievement Award (1999). She won the Jay R. Gould Award for Teaching from the Society for Technical Communication in 1998 and the Distinguished Service Award from the Council for Programs in Technical and Scientific Communication in 2001. She also won several research awards from the National Council of Teachers of English and the Society for Technical Communication. She is a fellow of the Association of Teachers of Technical Writing (ATTW) and a fellow of the Society for Technical Communication, and she served as president of ATTW from 2001 until 2003.

For a graduate or undergraduate technical communication major who shows exceptional promise as a member of the profession, either in the academic or corporate world, and who embodies the values that characterize Professor Carolyn Rude's career at Texas Tech University. These values include integrity, commitment to the development and growth of the Technical Communication program, and personal generosity in sharing skills to help others at the university and in the community. Administered by the Student Awards and Scholarships Committee in consultation with the Director of Technical Communication. Amounts may vary. One award.


  • Ken and Laura Baake
  • Thomas T. Barker
  • Jennifer Bowie and Bill Ruhsam
  • Jean Ann and Daniel Cantore
  • Joyce Locke Carter
  • Joanna Castner
  • Michael J. and Tammy Conard-Salvo
  • Matthew E. Crawford
  • Donald H. and Pat Cunningham
  • Sam and Linda Dragga
  • Heather M. Eisenbraun
  • Rayo E. Flores
  • John C. Gooch
  • Joy and Galen Goodreau
  • Patricia Goubil-Gambrell, Ph.D.
  • Tim and Nancy Hadley
  • Amy and Jeff Hanson
  • TyAnna K. Herrington
  • Charlotte Kaempf
  • Neerja Kapoor
  • Shawna and Toby Kinslow
  • Michael S. Knievel and Joyce Stewart
  • Summer Leibensperger
  • Katherine and Paul Morrow
  • Jason C. Owen
  • Stacia and Andrei Parfionov
  • Elizabeth R. Pass
  • Brandie L. Reisman
  • Heather A. Sehmel
  • Elizabeth O. and G. Robert Smith
  • Kristin and Max Thomas