TTU Home Department of Geosciences

Faculty Directory by Research Group & Discipline

Atmospheric Sciences | Geochemistry | Geography | G.I.S. & Remote Sensing
Geophysics | Paleontology | Igneous Petrology
Petroleum Geology | Sedimentology, Sratigraphy & Geomorphology | Structural Geology & Tectonics

Atmospheric Sciences

The Atmospheric Science Group focuses on formation and evolution of severe storms and utilizes field, theoretical and numerical studies to evaluate hurricanes, tornadoes and global climate change.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Ancell, Brian
Assistant Professor
brian.ancell@ttu.edu
806.742.3143
Room BA-1216
Research Group 
Bruning, Eric
Assistant Professor
eric.bruning@ttu.edu 806.742.3120
Room BA-
Research Group 
Dahl, Johannes
Assistant Professor
johannes.dahl@ttu.edu
806.834-6197
Room BA-1216
Research Group 
Leary, Colleen A.
Professor
colleen.leary@ttu.edu
806.742.3417
Room BA-1207
Research Group 
Haragan, Donald R.
Professor & Former President of TTU

806.742.3102
Kang, Song-Lak
Assistant Professor
Atmospheric boundary layer, wind power meteorology, numerical weather prediction
song-lak.kang@ttu.edu
806.742.1139
Room BA-x
Research Group 
Peterson, Richard E.
Professor
richard.peterson@ttu.edu
806.742.3418
Room BA-1205
Research Group 
Schroeder, John
Professor
john.schroeder@ttu.edu
806.742.2813
Room BA-
Research Group 
Weiss, Chris
Associate Professor
chris.weiss@ttu.edu
806.742.4712
Room BA-
Research Group 
Vanos, Jennifer
Assistant Professor
jennifer.vanos@ttu.edu
806.834.3319
Room BA-
Research Group 

 

Geochemistry

Research in geochemistry includes experimental aqueous studies, stable isotopic studies of water, rocks, and minerals, SEM analysis of clays, and the geochemistry of igneous and metamorphic rocks.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Barnes, Calvin G.
Professor & Chair
Cal.Barnes@ttu.edu 806.742.3106
Room SCI-328
Research Group 
Melanie Barnes
Research Associate
melanie.barnes@ttu.edu 806.742.3102
806.742.2049 (LA Lab)
Room SCI-215
Karlsson, Haraldur, R.
Associate Professor
hal.karlsson@ttu.edu
806.742.3069
Room 226-A
Research Group 
Hetherington, Callum
Assistant Professor
callum.hetherington@ttu.edu
806.742.3110
Room SCI-127
Research Group 
Horita, Juske
Professor
Experimental & theoretical isotope geochemistry
juske.horita@ttu.edu
(806) 834-7027
Room SCI-216
Research Group 
Ridley, Moira K.
Professor
moira.ridley@ttu.edu
806.742.0627
Room SCI-324
Research Group 

 

Geography

Geography includes research on arid & arctic land forms, arid lands, land use change, biogeography and the human interactions with the environment.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Cao, Guofeng
Assistant Professor of Geography
guofeng.cao@ttu.edu
806.xxx.xxxx
Room xxx Holden Hall
Research Group 
Carter, Perry
Associate Professor Social, urban & economic geography. Issues of racial identiy. Geographic methods.
perry.carter@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 251
Room 210 Holden Hall
Research Group 
Delahunty, Tina
Associate Professor Land-use change, Remote Sensing, Biogeography, Paleoecology
tina.delahunty@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 250
Room 217 Holden Hall
Research Group 
Elbow, Gary
Professor of Cultural Geography, World regional Geography, International Trade, Latin America
gary.elbow@ttu.edu
806.742.3838 ext. 244
Room 211 McLellan Hall
Research Group  
Lee, Jeffrey A.
Professor of Physical Geography, geomorphology, aeolian processes, aird lands, field methods, science education
jeff.lee@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 247
Room 209-A Holden Hall
Research Group 
Mulligan, Kevin R.
Associate Professor & Director, Center for Geospatial Technology. GIS, Geomorphology, Hydrology & Climate of Arid Lands
kevin.mulligan@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 243
Room 208 Holden Hall
Research Group 
Sorrensen, Cynthia
Assistant Professor, Land-use/cover change, Latin America, political ecology, human dimensions of climate change
cynthia.sorrensen@ttu.edu
806.742-2466 ext. 253
Room 215 Holden Hall
Research Group 
Templer, Otis W.
Professor, Arid lands, environmental studies, water resources law, policy and management, biogeography, US, Canada, Texas and the Southwest
otis.templer@ttu.edu
806.742-2466 ext. 242
Room 218 Holden Hall
Research Group 

 

G.I.S. & Remote Sensing

Geographical Information Systems & Remote Sensing includes research on arid & arctic land forms, planetary geology, arid lands, land use change, biogeography and Gulf Coast petroleum systems.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Delahunty, Tina
Associate Professor Land-use change, Remote Sensing, Biogeography, Paleoecology
tina.delahunty@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 250
Room 217 Holden Hall
Research Group 
Leverington, David
Associate Professor
david.leverington@ttu.edu
806.742.1603
Room SCI-316
Research Group 
Mulligan, Kevin R.
Associate Professor & Director, Center for Geospatial Technology.

GIS, Geomorphology, Hydrology & Climate of Arid Lands
kevin.mulligan@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 243
Room 208 Holden Hall
Research Group 
Nagihara, Seiichi
Associate Professor
seiichi.nagihara@ttu.edu
806.742.3102
Room SCI-314
Research Group 

 

Geophysics

Researchers in geophysics utilize seismology, gravity, heat flow, and electrical/magnetic methods to study the deep mantle as well as crustal phenomena.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Asquith, George B.
Professor, Joe Pevehouse Chair Emeritus
george.asquith@ttu.edu
806.742.3154
Room SCI-332
Research Group 
Gurrola, Harold
Associate Professor
harold.gurrola@ttu.edu
806.742.3288
Room SCI-311
Research Group 
Nagihara, Seiichi
Associate Professor
seiichi.nagihara@ttu.edu
806.742.3102
Room SCI-314
Research Group 

 

Paleontology

Paleo studies at TTU utilize traditional field work as well as modern analytical tools (SEM, stable isotopes) to understand the evolution of diverse fauna on Earth. Researchers utilize facilities at the TTU Museum as well as labs in the Geoscience Department.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Barrick, James E.
Professor
jim.barrick@ttu.edu 806.742.3107
Room SCI-222
Research Group 
Chatterjee, Sankar
Horn Professor
sankar.chatterjee@ttu.edu
806.742.1986
Room SCI-220
Research Group 
Lehman, Thomas L.
Professor
tom.lehman@ttu.edu
806.742.3148
Room SCI-236
Research Group 

 

Igneous Petrology

Petrologic studies involve field and laboratory analyses to understand the evolution of the Earth's lithosphere. Strong collaborative ties exist between students & faculty in petrology and structure/tectonics groups.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Barnes, Calvin G.
Professor & Chair
Cal.Barnes@ttu.edu 806.742.3106
Room SCI-328
Research Group 
Melanie Barnes
Research Associate
melanie.barnes@ttu.edu 806.742.3102
806.742.2049 (LA Lab)
Room SCI-215
Hetherington, Callum
Assistant Professor
callum.hetherington@ttu.edu
806.742.3110
Room SCI-127
Research Group 

 

Petroleum Geology

Research in petroleum geology studies at TTU focus on the hydrocarbon systems of the Gulf Coast and Permian basin regions and utilizes heat flow studies, petrophysics, and carbonate petrology to characterize these systems.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Asquith, George B.
Professor, Joe Pevehouse Chair Emeritus
george.asquith@ttu.edu
806.742.3154
Room SCI-213
Research Group 
Sweet, Dustin
Assistant Professor
dustin.sweet@ttu.edu
806.742.3102
Room SCI-
Research Group 
Nagihara, Seiichi
Associate Professor
seiichi.nagihara@ttu.edu
806.742.3102
Room SCI-314
Research Group 

 

Sedimentology, Stratigraphy & Geomorphology

Stratigraphy and sedimentology studies at TTU involve both field and lab work and focus on the Paleozoic and Mesozoic of the southwestern U.S.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Barrick, James E.
Professor
jim.barrick@ttu.edu 806.742.3107
Room SCI-222
Research Group 
Sweet, Dustin
Assistant Professor
dustin.sweet@ttu.edu
806.742.3102
Room SCI-318
Research Group 
Lee, Jeff
Professor
jeff.lee@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 247
Room 209-A Holden Hall
Research Group 
Lehman, Thomas L.
Professor
tom.lehman@ttu.edu
806.742.3148
Room SCI-236
Research Group 
Leverington, David
Associate Professor
david.leverington@ttu.edu
806.742.1603
Room SCI-316
Research Group 
Mulligan, Kevin R.
Associate Professor & Director, Center for Geospatial Technology. GIS, Geomorphology, Hydrology & Climate of Arid Lands
kevin.mulligan@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 243
Room 208 Holden Hall
Research Group 
Yoshinobu, Aaron S.
Associate Professor
aaron.yoshinobu@ttu.edu
806.742.4025
Room SCI-231
Research Group 

 

Structural Geology & Tectonics

Research in structure and tectonics includes field and lab based studies of collisional belts (U.S. Cordillera, central Norway), fold and thrust belts (Big Bend region, west Texas, Klamath Mountains, CA/OR), oceanic spreading centers, and the nature of the mantle transition zone and the implications to global tectonics.

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Barnes, Calvin G.
Professor & Chair
Cal.Barnes@ttu.edu 806.742.3106
Room SCI-328
Research Group 
Gurrola, Harold
Associate Professor
harold.gurrola@ttu.edu
806.742.3288
Room SCI-318
Research Group 
Yoshinobu, Aaron S.
Associate Professor
aaron.yoshinobu@ttu.edu
806.742.4025
Room SCI-231
Research Group