TTU Home Department of Geosciences

Geosciences Faculty Directory

Faculty | Adjunct Faculty | Joint Faculty
Staff | Instructors | Faculty listed by Research Discipline.

Geosciences Faculty

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office

Ancell, Brian
Assistant Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

brian.ancell@ttu.edu
806.742.3143
Room BA-1216
Research Group 

Asquith, George B.
Professor, Joe Pevehouse Chair Emeritus

Carbonate Petrology Petrophysics

george.asquith@ttu.edu
806.742.3154
Room SCI-332
Research Group 

Barnes, Calvin G.
Professor & Chair

Igneous Petrology & Geochemistry

Cal.Barnes@ttu.edu 806.742.3106
Room SCI-328
Research Group 

Barrick, James E.
Professor

Micropaleontology & Biostratigraphy

jim.barrick@ttu.edu 806.742.3107
Room SCI-222
Research Group 

Bruning, Eric
Assistant Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

eric.bruning@ttu.edu 806.742.3120
Room BA-
Research Group 

Cao, Guofeng
Assistant Professor of Geography

guofeng.cao@ttu.edu
806.xxx.xxxx
Room xxx Holden Hall
Research Group 

Carter, Perry L.
Associate Professor

Social, urban & econonmic geography. Issues of racial identity. Geographic methods.

perry.carter@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext 251
Room 210 Holden Hall
 

Chatterjee, Sankar
Horn Professor

Vertebrate Paleontology

sankar.chatterjee@ttu.edu
806.742.1986
Room SCI-220
Research Group 

Dahl, Johannes
Assistant Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

johannes.dahl@ttu.edu
806.834-6197
Room BA-1216
Research Group 

Delahunty, Tina
Associate Professor

Land-use change, Remote Sensing, Biogeography, Paleoecology

tina.delahunty@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 250
Room 217 Holden Hall
Research Group 

Elbow, Gary
Professor Cultural Geography, World regional Geography, International Trade, Latin America

gary.elbow@ttu.edu
806.742.3838 ext. 244
Room 211 McLellan Hall
Research Group 

Gurrola, Harold
Associate Professor Seismology

harold.gurrola@ttu.edu
806.742.3288
Room SCI-311
Research Group 

Haragan, Donald R.
Professor & Former President of TTU Atmospheric Sciences


806.742.3102
Room
Research Group 

Hetherington, Callum J.
Assistant Professor
Mineralogy & Geochemistry

callum.hetherington@ttu.edu
806.742.3110
Room SCI-127
Research Group 

Horita, Juske
Professor

Stable Isotope Geochemistry

juske.horita@ttu.edu
(806) 834-7027
Room SCI-216
Research Group 

Kang, Song Lak
Assistant Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

song-lak.kang@ttu.edu
806.742.1139
Room BA-xxx
Research Group 

Karlsson, Haraldur, R.
Associate Professor
Stable Isotope Geochemistry

hal.karlsson@ttu.edu
806.742.3069
Room 207
Research Group 

Lee, Jeffrey A.
Professor Physical Geography, Geomorphology, Aeolian Processes, Arid Lands, Field Methods, Science Education

jeff.lee@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 247
Room 209-A Holden Hall
Research Group 

Lehman, Thomas L.
Professor Clastic Sedimentology

tom.lehman@ttu.edu
806.742.3148
Room SCI-236
Research Group 

Leverington, David
Associate Professor & Undergraduate Advisor

Remoste Sensing & Planetary Sciences

david.leverington@ttu.edu
806.742.1603
Room SCI-316
Research Group 

Mulligan, Kevin R.
Associate Professor & Director, Center for Geospatial Technology.

GIS, Geomorphology, Hydrology & Climate of Arid Lands

kevin.mulligan@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 243
Room 208 Holden Hall
Research Group 

Nagihara, Seiichi
Associate Professor & Graduate Advisor

Geographical Information Systems & Geophysics

seiichi.nagihara@ttu.edu
806.742.3102
Room SCI-314
Research Group 

Peterson, Richard E.
Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

richard.peterson@ttu.edu
806.742.3418
Room BA-1205
Research Group 

Ridley, Moira K.
Professor

Aqueous Geochemistry

moira.ridley@ttu.edu
806.742.0627
Room SCI-324
Research Group 

Schroeder, John
Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

john.schroeder@ttu.edu
806.742.2813
Room BA-
Research Group 

Sorrensen, Cynthia L.
Assistant Professor

Land-use/cover Change, Latin America, Political Ecology, Human Dimensions of Climate Change

cynthia.sorrensen@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 253
Room 215 Holden Hall
Research Group 

Sweet, Dustin
Assistant Professor

Sedimentology and Stratigraphy

dustin.sweet@ttu.edu
806.742.3102
Room SCI-318
Research Group 

Templer, Otis W.
Professor

Arid Lands, Environmental Studies, Water Resources Law, Policy, & Management, Biogeography, US, Canada, Texas & Southwest

otis.templer@ttu.edu
806.742.2466 ext. 242
Room 218 Holden Hall
Research Group 

Vanos, Jennifer
Assistant Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

jennifer.vanos@ttu.edu
806.834.3319
Room BA-
Research Group 

Weiss, Chris
Associate Professor

Atmospheric Sciences

chris.weiss@ttu.edu
806.742.4712
Room BA-
Research Group 

Yoshinobu, Aaron S.
Professor

Structural Geology & Tectonics

aaron.yoshinobu@ttu.edu
806.742.4025
Room SCI-231
Research Group 

Adjunct Faculty

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office

Asquith, William
Hydrogeology. Research Hydrogeologist & Adjunct Scientist
wasquith@usgs.gov 806.742.3129
Room SCI-213
Melanie Barnes
Senior Research Associate
Igneous Petrology & Geochemistry, Laser-Ablation ICP Mass Spectrometry
melanie.barnes@ttu.edu 806.742.3102
806.742.2049 (LA Lab)
Room SCI-215
Kenneth S. Johnson
Igneous Petrology. Assistant Professor of Geology & Geochemistry, University of Houston
johnsonk@uhd.edu
713-222-5375

Nathan McSloy
Adjunct Scientist, USGS



Victor Polyak
Speleology. Senior Research Scientist, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences, University of New Mexico
polyak@unm.edu
Erik Rasmussen
Atmospheric Science. Rasmussen Systems LLC, Sever Storm Analysis
rasm1@rasmsys.com
Research Group
Grand Junction, CO
John Stout Aeolian Geomorphology. USDA Physical Scientist, Wind Erosion & Water Conservation Research Unit
John.Stout@ars.usda.gov
806-749-5560
USDA office, 3810 4th St., Lubbock, TX 79415

Joint Faculty

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office
Rainwater, Ken
Professor
Department of Civil Engineering
 
Zhou, Hua-wei
University of Houston

 

Instructors

Name & Title
Email
Phone & Office

Alyson Brink
Instructor Historical Geology, History of Life

alyson.brink@ttu.edu

Jones, Linda Lea
Instructor Physical Geography, World Regional Geography, geographic Education, Human Geography, technology & the Human Landscape

linda.jones@ttu.edu 806.742.2466 ext. 245
Room 213 Holden Hall

Phillips, Loren
Instructor, Atmospheric Sciences

loren.phillips@ttu.edu 806.742.xxxx
Room BA-1203

Van Nice, Christopher, J.
Instructor Geospatial Technologies, Cartographic Design, GIS, remote Sensing, Aerial & Satellite Imagery

chris.van-nice@ttu.edu 806.742.2201
Room 211 Holden Hall