TTU Home Department of Geosciences

Research in Geochemistry

Overview

Researchers in geochemistry in the Department of Geosciences is diverse and occurs across a spectrum of related disciplines. In the department you will find ongoing research in experimental aqueous geochemistry, the geochemical evolution of igneous and metamorphic systems, stable isotopic studies of vertebrate and invertebrate fossils, and the application of geochemical analysis to understanding of water-rock interactions in aquifers.

There are three broadly defined research groups in the department, for which more information can be found at the follow links:

Aqueous and Environmental Geochemistry

Geochemistry of Crustal Processes

Stable Isotope Geochemistry


Faculty members in the Geochemistry group include:

Dr. Cal Barnes, Professor. Petrology & geochemistry of igneous & metamorphic rocks. Email: cal.barnes@ttu.edu

Dr. Melanie Barnes, Application of LA-ICP-MS to Earth Materials. Email: melanie.barnes@ttu.edu

Dr. Callum Hetherington, Assistant Professor. Mineralogy, geochemistry, and micro-analytical study of igneous & metamorphic rocks. Email: callum.hetherington@ttu.edu

Dr. Juske Horita, Professor. Stable isotope geochemistry. Email: juske.horita@ttu.edu

Dr. Hal Karlsson, Associate Professor. Stable isotope geochemistry. Email: hal.karlsson@ttu.edu

Dr. Moira Ridley, Professor. Aqueous Geochemistry. Email: moira.ridley@ttu.edu


Research is conducted utilizing in-house laboratory facilities including:

In addition, faculty & students regularly utilize the Imaging Center of Texas Tech University, a laboratory housing TEM, SEM, EBSD, and related instruments for image analysis and microscopy.


Courses in Geochemistry include:

  • GCH 2303 Introduction to Geochemistry
  • GCH 5300 Individual Studies in Geochemistry
  • GCH 5303 Trace Element Geochemistry
  • GCH 5305 Environmental and Aqueous Geochemistry
  • GCH 5350 Isotope Geochemistry
  • GCH 5405 Inorganic Geochemistry

Ongoing research in GEOCHEMISTRY