Texas Tech University

Topic Development Committee

QEP Development Committee Charge

This committee is charged with developing the university's Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) proposal. The QEP is a required part of our reaffirmation of accreditation with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACSCOC). The QEP general theme is "Communication in a Global Society." This is a very broad topic, so one of the first tasks for the committee is to narrow this theme to a workable plan.

According to SACSCOC, the QEP is intended to improve some aspect of student learning at the institution. It may address all or a portion of the university's student body, but should be planned so that the QEP will show positive change that is measureable. The QEP must have a well-defined and focused topic that is related to the mission of the university. It should be embedded within the institution's planning and evaluation process. The plan should include measurable outcomes and include an assessment plan that provides a mechanism for determining the extent to which the plan has achieved those outcomes. Finally, it should have a budget that adequately provides for development and implementation of the plan.

The QEP proposal will be evaluated as part of the institution's reaffirmation of accreditation process.

QEP Development Committee Membership

Faculty & Staff Members

  • Gary Smith, College of Architecture (CHAIR)
  • Kathy Austin, Information Technology
  • Stefanie Borst, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Todd Chambers, College of Media & Communication
  • Keith Dye, School of Music
  • Gary Elbow, Honors College
  • Kathleen Gillis, University Writing Center
  • Amy Heard, TTU Athletics
  • Ron Hedden, College of Engineering
  • Grace Hernandez, Office of the President
  • Lisa James, TTU Ethics Center
  • Erin Justyna, Center for Active Learning and Undergraduate Engagement
  • Susan Lang, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Jonathan Marks, College of Visual and Performing Arts
  • Heather Martinez, Office of Community Engagement
  • Elizabeth McDaniel, International Affairs
  • Courtney Meyers, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources 
  • David Roach, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Sara Spurgeon, College of Arts and Sciences 
  • Susan Tomlinson, Honors College
  • Fernando Valle, College of Education
  • Aliza Wong, Honors College
  • Kahlie Callison, Office of Planning and Assessment (Ex-Officio)
  • Jennifer S Hughes, Office of Planning and Assessment (Ex-Officio)
  • Justin Louder, Office of the Provost (Ex Officio)
  • Catherine Parsoneault, Office of the Provost (Ex-Officio)
  • Libby Spradlin, Office of Planning and Assessment (Ex-Officio) 
  • Joe Street, Office of Planning and Assessment (Ex-Officio)

Student Members

  • Sergio Molinar, College of Engineering 
  • Paige Lehmann, Rawls College of Business
  • Pham Nhung, College of Education
  • Cayla Boardingham, Rawls College of Business
  • Nestor Rodriguez, College of Engineering 

Center for Global Communication

  • Address

    Texas Tech University; Center for Global Communication; Drane Hall, Room 306 Lubbock, Texas 79409-1004
  • Phone

  • Email