

Minutes of the 9th meeting of The Graduate Council 2022-2023

Date and Time: Thursday, July 13 2023

Place: Zoom Meeting

Zoom Attendance: Dr. Deborah Carr, Dr. Jaclyn Cravens, Dr. Melissa Gotlieb,

Dr. Scott Longing, Dr. Babu Mariadoss, Dr. Jon McNaughtan, Dr. Devendra Shah, Dr. Andrew Stetson, Dr. Mark Webb,

Ex-officio: Dr. Heather Greenhalgh-Spencer, Dr. Darryl James,

Dr. Mark Sheridan, Ms. Carry Syma, Dr. Clay Taylor

<u>Visitors:</u> Dr. Sandra Huston, Dr. James Lee, Dr. Angela Lumpkin,

Dr. Monica Martin

I. The Graduate Council minutes are available in the Graduate School office and on the Graduate School website at www.depts.ttu.edu/gradschool.

II. A motion was made by Babu Mariadoss and seconded by Jon McNaughtan to approve the minutes 8th meeting of the Graduate Council that was held on Thursday, May 4, 2023. The Graduate Council approved these minutes.

III. Students admitted to Doctoral Candidacy.

The following students were admitted to candidacy for the doctorate on the recommendation of their departments. A motion was made by Andrew Stetson and seconded by Mark Webb to approve the list. The Graduate Council approved the candidate list.

Caitlin	Anderson	GR-EDD-AGED
Brian	Flanagan	GR-EDD-AGED
Margaret	Rogers	GR-EDD-AGED
Kacie	Wilson	GR-EDD-AGED
Samuel	Peabody	GR-PHD-ANSC
McKinlee	Salazar	GR-PHD-BIOL
Md Ashraf	Ul Hasan	GR-PHD-BIOL
Farzad	Abbasnezhad Oskooei	GR-PHD-BA
Chu-Yen	Pai	GR-PHD-BA

Tran Anh GR-PHD-BA Rohan **GR-PHD-CHE** Ingrole Aqdas Amna **GR-PHD-CHEM** Bateman **GR-PHD-CHEM** Curt Bhuiel Arun **GR-PHD-CHEM** Md Majharul Islam **GR-PHD-CHEM** Jun Jang **GR-PHD-CHEM** Strickland Sara **GR-PHD-CHEM** Alborzi Ashkan **GR-PHD-CE** Ghabussi Aria **GR-PHD-CE** MD Rashedul Islam **GR-PHD-CE** Senthil Naveen **GR-PHD-CE** Rohan Shrestha **GR-PHD-CE** Gabriela Lelakowska GR-PHD-CLIN Tucker Short GR-PHD-CLIN Afamefuna Umejiaku **GR-PHD-CS** Atkinson Nancy **GR-EDD-EDLD** Timothy Benson **GR-EDD-EDLD** Brandi Breaux GR-EDD-EDLD Kadoria Burgess GR-EDD-EDLD Caroline Gonzales **GR-EDD-EDLD** Jennifer Hademenos GR-EDD-EDLD Jennifer Jeter GR-EDD-EDLD Jeffrey Lahey **GR-EDD-EDLD** Sara Lewis GR-EDD-EDLD Chelsea Lippe GR-EDD-EDLD Susan Messmer **GR-EDD-EDLD** Susan Netopski **GR-EDD-EDLD** Marc-Anthony Puente **GR-EDD-EDLD** David Swartwout GR-EDD-EDLD Mauricio Valdovinos **GR-EDD-EDLD** Wallen Jason **GR-EDD-EDLD** Kirkland Ariel **GR-PHD-EPSY** Jordan Morgan **GR-PHD-EPSY** Jamie Raborn **GR-PHD-EPSY** Katherine Wheeler **GR-PHD-EPSY** Balal Afshin GR-PHD-EE Rabindra Bhatta **GR-PHD-EE** Rob King **GR-PHD-ENGL**

Morgan	Eldridge	GR-PHD-ENTX
Sarah	Nash	GR-PHD-ENTX
Grace	Olorunyomi	GR-PHD-ENTX
Alexander	Stinnett	GR-PHD-EXPR
Ashley	Worley	GR-PHD-EXPR
Dylan	Hinkle	GR-PHD-FCSE
Stephen	Molchan	GR-PHD-FCSE
Joel	Steffel	GR-PHD-FCSE
Rebecca	Johnson	GR-PHD-FA
Heriberto	Palacio	GR-PHD-FA
William	Sinclair	GR-PHD-FA
Nicholas	Appiah	GR-PHD-GEOS
Jessica Cristina	Dos Santos Souza	GR-PHD-GEOS
Emily	Wilkinson	GR-PHD-HIED
Mengesha	Endalew	GR-PHD-HIST
Jiachen	Liu	GR-PHD-IE
Md	Shahriar	GR-PHD-IE
Sandra	Montalbo	GR-PHD-LPMD
Sepideh	Niknia	GR-PHD-LPMD
Gisou	Salkhi Khasraghi	GR-PHD-LPMD
Dananjani Madhushika Perera	Madiwala Liyanage	GR-PHD-MATH
Nusrat	Tabassum	GR-PHD-MATH
Cynthia	Sangang Tchoconte	GR-PHD-ME
Nicholas	Ward	GR-PHD-ME
Patricia	Douglass	GR-PHD-MC
Jie	Li	GR-DMA-MUS
Neemias	Santos	GR-DMA-MUS
Diego	Silva Aguilera	GR-DMA-MUS
Elyvine	Ingabire Gasana	GR-PHD-NTSC
Hsiao-Chun	Wang	GR-PHD-NTSC
James	Thompson	GR-PHD-PFPP
Imtiaz	Ahmad	GR-PHD-PHYS
Zachary	Brown	GR-PHD-PHYS
Nafiz	Jaidye	GR-PHD-PHYS
Ahmed Ali Abbas	Karkash	GR-PHD-PHYS
Alicia	Thomas	GR-PHD-PSS
Nicolas	Spencer	GR-PHD-SPAN
Shelee	Duke	GR-PHD-EDSP
Elizabeth	Horner	GR-PHD-EDSP
Laurena	Davis	GR-PHD-TCRH
Raquel	Deleon	GR-PHD-TCRH
Hui	Zhang	GR-PHD-WDSE
Page 4.		

IV. Academic Requests

All of the following come with a motion of approval from the Academic Program sub-committee meeting held on June 29, 2023. A second was made by Jacyln Cravens to approve all of the following proposals. The Graduate Council approved all proposals.

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

EPCE 5093: Internship I (*Addition*)

EPCE 5094: Internship II (change in *title* from Internship in Counseling)

EPCE 6093: Doctoral Internship I (*Addition***)**

EPCE 6094: Doctoral Internship II in Counseling (change in title from Doctoral Internship in

Counseling)

EPCE 6330: Introduction to Scholastic Writing for Counselors and Counselor Educators

(Addition)

WHITACRE COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

PETR 5326: Geoenergy and Carbon Management (Addition)

COLLEGE OF HUMAN SCIENCES

Graduate Certificate in Gerontology - (change in semester credit hour)

COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

PH.D. in Spanish (curricular change)

J.D. and M.S. in Sport Management Dual Degree Program (curricular change)

M.B.A. and M.S. in Sport Management Dual Degree Program (curricular change)

COLLEGE OF VISUAL AND PERFORMING ARTS

MUCP 5321: Recording Technology (change in repeatable limit)

MUCP 5321: Recording Technology and Portfolio (change in *title* from Recording Technology and activity type)

MUHL 5324: Transcription and Analysis of Non-Western Musics (change in pre-requisite)

V. Graduate Faculty

The following faculty applications come with a motion of approval from the Graduate Faculty subcommittee. A second was made by Melissa Gotlieb to approve the following applications. The Graduate Council approved.

- a. Christy Bratcher AFS
- b. Chad Hayes PSS
- c. Stuart Heckman PFP
- d. Jesse Jurgenson PFP
- e. Kevin Werts Geosciences

VI. Informational Items

Discuss the following Operating Policies
O.P. 34.11 Combined undergrad/grad courses
O.P. 64.06 Graduate tuition-a date change only was made

VII. Announcements

Dean Sheridan announced that there would be a draft for the Graduate Advisory Committee guidance at the next meeting.

Dean Sheridan announced that commencement will be held on Saturday, August 12, 2023 at the United Super Markets Arena. Thank you to all of you for your hard work in graduating these students.

Next meeting will be on September 7, 2023