

Minutes of the 2nd meeting of The Graduate Council 2023-2024

Date and Time: Thursday, October 5, 2023

Place: Zoom Meeting

Zoom Attendance: Dr. Deborah Carr, Dr. Jaclyn Cravens, Dr. Clifton Ellis, Dr. Melissa Gotlieb,

Dr. Roger McNamara, Dr. Jon McNaughtan, Dr. Andrew Stetson,

Dr. Changxu Xu

<u>Ex-officio</u>: Dr. Tim Dallas, Dr. Kristi Gaines, Dr. Heather Greenhalgh-Spencer, Dr. Darryl James, Dr. Mark Sheridan, Ms. Carrye Syma

<u>Visitors:</u> Dr. Michael Ballou, Dr. L.J. Gould, Dr. Don Kluemper,

Dr. Angela Lumpkin, Dr. Patricia Maloney

I. The Graduate Council minutes are available in the Graduate School office and on the Graduate School website at www.depts.ttu.edu/gradschool.

II. A motion was made by Jon McNaughtan and seconded by Clifton Ellis to approve the minutes 1st meeting of the Graduate Council that was held on Thursday, September 7, 2023. The Graduate Council approved these minutes.

III. Students admitted to Doctoral Candidacy.

The following students were admitted to candidacy for the doctorate on the recommendation of their departments. A motion was made by Andrew Stetson and seconded by Clifton Ellis to approve the list. The Graduate Council approved the candidate list.

Hesaneh Ahmadi Chemical Engineering

Christian Okofo Atta Hospitality, Tourism, and Retail

Anokye Management

Amit Md Estiaque Arefin Mechanical Engineering
Ning Dong Industrial Engineering

Oluwaseyi Famuyiro Systems and Engineering Management

Jazmyn Ferguson Educational Leadership Liyuan Gao Computer Science

Ting Ting Goh Music

Bahar Javadi Khasraghi Business Administration

Page 2.

Neethu Jayan Chemical Engineering

Jenna Jensen Biology

Henry Johnston Romandini Industrial Engineering

Rachael Jordan Technical Communication and Rhetoric

Himali Sakunthala Kalanchige Mathematics

Jacob Keas Business Administration

Sanghee Kim Hospitality, Tourism, and Retail Management
Uibin Lee Addictive Disorders and Recovery Studies

Jie Li Music

Khirul Basar Mim
Vincent Miozzi
Hospitality, Tourism, and Retail Management
Agricultural and Applied Economics

Forough Moghaddamali
Cari Moye
Hector Najera Gonzalez
Humza Bin Navaid
Karina Oliveira De Paula

Chemical Engineering
Educational Leadership
Plant and Soil Science
Petroleum Engineering
Curriculum and Instruction

Sherifdeen Onigbinde Chemistry Eytan Pol English

Brianna Ricker

Julia Shull

Experimental Psychology

Ping Song

Angela Spoto

MD Zaved Bin Sultan

Clinical Psychology

Experimental Psychology

Petroleum Engineering

Higher Education

Petroleum Engineering

Wenshan Sun Music

Adewale Taiwo Petroleum Engineering

Mariah Taller Music

Kassidy Wagner Curriculum and Instruction

Jason Wenzel Higher Education Administration

Brittani Williams Educational Leadership
Zhen Yan Business Administration
Leah Zavala Educational Leadership

IV. Academic Requests

All of the following come with a motion of approval from the Academic Program sub-committee meeting held on September 28, 2023. A second was made by Melissa Gotlieb to approve all of the following proposals. The Graduate Council approved all proposals.

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

EPCE 5382: Pharmacologics for Licensed Professional Counselors (*Addition***)**

EPCE 5382: Ethical and Legal Issues in Counseling II -(Addition)

Page 3.

COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

Forensic Science Masters of Science (curricular change)

KIN 7304: Advanced Topics (curricular change)

SOC 5393: The Practice of Qualitative Methods (*Addition*)

RAWLS COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Master's of Science in Human Resource Management – (Addition)

MGT 5387 Talent Acquisition and Management (Addition)

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURAL SCIENCES AND NATURAL RESOURCES

VSCI 5100: Animal Diseases – Seminar (*course description change*)

COLLEGE OF VISUAL AND PERFORMING ARTS

MUHL 5326 Music and the Contemplative Mind (Addition)

V. Graduate Faculty

A motion was made by Andrew Stetson and seconded by Roger McNamara to approve the following Graduate Faculty applications. The Graduate Council approved.

- a. John Zak Biological Sciences
- b. Michael San Francisco Biological Sciences

VI. Old Business

A motion was made by Clifton Ellis and seconded by Jaclyn Cravens to approve the Committee Guidance updates that were suggested by the council. The Graduate Councill approved

II. Announcements

Dean Sheridan announced the Graduate School will be hosting its 3MT (Three Minute Thesis) competition.

Next meeting will be on November 2, 2023