

# Minutes of the 3<sup>rd</sup> meeting of The Graduate Council 2023-2024

**Date and Time:** Thursday, November 2, 2023

**Place:** Zoom Meeting

**Zoom Attendance**: Dr. Deborah Carr, Dr. Jaclyn Cravens, Dr. Melissa Gotlieb,

Dr. Scott Longing, Dr. Roger McNamara, Dr. Jon McNaughtan,

Dr. Devendra Shah, Andrew Stetson, Dr. Alex Wiseman

<u>Ex-officio</u>: Dr. Tim Dallas, Dr. Heather Greenhalgh-Spencer, Dr. Darryl James, Dr. Mark Sheridan, Ms. Carrye Syma

<u>Visitors:</u> Dr. Rob Duncan, Dr. Coy Callison

- I. The Graduate Council minutes are available in the Graduate School office and on the Graduate School website at <a href="https://www.depts.ttu.edu/gradschool">www.depts.ttu.edu/gradschool</a>.
- II. A motion was made by Alex Wiseman and seconded by Roger McNamara to approve the minutes 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting of the Graduate Council that was held on Thursday, October 5, 2023. The Graduate Council approved these minutes.
- III. Students admitted to Doctoral Candidacy.

The following students were admitted to candidacy for the doctorate on the recommendation of their departments. A motion was made by Alex Wiseman and seconded by Devendra Shah to approve the list. The Graduate Council approved the candidate list.

Thushadi Prathibha Ambegoda Liyanage Mathematics
Sayed Erfan Arefin Computer Science
Tasnia Ashrafi Heya Computer Science

Caroline Black Biology

Rebekha Bokrand Business Administration Guadalupe Bright Educational Leadership

Taylor Burks Music
Chaitanya Haram Biology

Charles Hoitt Wildlife, Aquatic, and Wildlands Science and Management

Page 2.

Lara Hoss Couple, Marriage, and Family Therapy

Anna Kroon English

Hou I Lau Couple, Marriage, and Family Therapy
Alyric Miles Couple, Marriage, and Family Therapy

Bilkis Mitu Environmental Toxicology
Gift Modekwe Chemical Engineering
Anto Jude Rajesh Kumar Mohan Experimental Psychology
Curt Muehlstein Agricultural Education
Tracy Musgrove Environmental Toxicology
Arjun Ojha Kshetry Plant and Soil Science

Ogochukwu Ossai English

Jessica Pittman Experimental Psychology

Jacqueline Richard Family and Consumer Sciences Education

Maryam Seifishahpar Nutritional Sciences

Yiman Weng Music

Shayne White Agricultural Communications and Education

Kealey Wohlgemuth Exercise Physiology
Nan Zhang Industrial Engineering

## IV. Academic Requests

All of the following come with a motion of approval from the Academic Program sub-committee meeting held on October 26, 2023. A second was made by Andrew Stetson to approve all of the following proposals. The Graduate Council approved all proposals.

#### **COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES**

PHYS 5337 Physical Sciences at the Nanometer Scale and Quantum Sensor Design (Addition)

#### **COLLEGE OF EDUCATION**

**EDCI 5385: Critical Issues in Rural Education - (Addition)** 

#### V. Graduate Faculty

All of the following Graduate Faculty Applications come with a motion of approval from the Graduate Faculty sub-committee meeting held on October 26, 2023. A second was made by Jon McNaughtan to approve all of the following Graduate Faculty applications. The Graduate Council approved.

- a. Anisha Navlekar Biological Sciences
- b. Cori Tice Biological Sciences
- c. Julia Bell Music
- d. Spencer Hartman Music
- e. Dawei Li TTUHSC Dept of Immunology & Molecular Microbiology

Page 3.

### VI. Old Business

Dean Sheridan did meet with the Faculty Senate to discuss and mention the updates on the Dean Representative discussion that has been held during the Graduate Council

#### II. Announcements

Dean Sheridan announced the Graduate School will be hosting its Annual Holiday Open House on Monday, December 4, 2023 at 10:00 a.m. -11:30 a.m. This will be a come and go event.

Next meeting will be on December 7, 2023