Texas Tech University
TTU HomeGraduate School Graduate Advisors

Graduate Advisors - Arts & Sciences

Biological Sciences

www.biol.ttu.edu

Note: Additional department application requirements. These may be viewed at:

www.biol.ttu.edu

Biological Informatics

Ron Chesser ron.chesser@ttu.edu
Location: 601 Biology; MS 3131 Telephone: 806.742.1737
 
Degree Programs Offered: Biological Informatics: MS
 

Biological Sciences

Randall Jeter randall.jeter@ttu.edu
Location: 313 Biology; MS 3131 Telephone: 806.742.2710
 
Degree Programs Offered: Biology: MS, PhD
Zoology: MS, PhD

Chemistry and Biochemistry

www.depts.ttu.edu/chemistry

Note: Additional department application requirements. These may be viewed at: http://www.depts.ttu.edu/chemistry/Graduate/apply.php

 
Bill Poirier chemgrad@ttu.edu
Location: 033 Chemistry; MS 1061 Telephone: 806.742.3099
 
Mary Beth Abernathy(Assistant Advisor) chemgrad@ttu.edu
Location: 108 Chemistry; MS 1061 Telephone: 806.742-1841
 
Degree Programs Offered: Chemistry: MS, PhD

Classical and Modern Languages and Literatures

www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern

 

Applied Linguistics

Andrew Farley andrew.farley@ttu.edu
Location: 221 Foreign Language; MS 2071 Telephone: 806.742.3145 x 240
 
Degree Programs Offered: Applied Linguistics: MA
 

Classics:

Note: Additional department application requirements. These may be viewed at: http://www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern/graduate/classics/

 
Donald E. Lavigne don.lavigne@ttu.edu
Location: 243 Foreign Language; MS 2071 Telephone: 806.834-6182
 
Degree Programs Offered: Classics: MA
 

French

Diane S. Wood diane.wood@ttu.edu
Location: 240 Foreign Language; MS 2071 Telephone: 806.742.3145 x258
 
Degree Programs Offered: French/Business Administration: MBA and MA
Romance Languages (concentrations in French and Spanish): MA
 

German

Anita McChesney anita.mcchesney@ttu.edu
Location: 248 Foreign Language; MS 2071 Telephone: 806.742.3145 x262
 
Degree Programs Offered: German: MA
German/Business Administration: MBA and MA
 

Spanish

Note: Additional department application requirements. These may be viewed at: http://www.depts.ttu.edu/classic_modern/graduate/spanish/

 
Genaro J. Perez (Masters and Doctoral) genaro.perez@ttu.edu
Location: 276 Foreign Language; MS 2071 Telephone: 806.742.4494
 
Carmen Pereira-Muro and John Beusterien(Recruitment/Admissions) carmen.pereira@ttu.edu
john.beusterien@ttu.edu
Location: 244 Foreign Language; MS 2071
Location: 256 Foreign Language; MS 2071
Telephone: 806.742.3145 x261
Telephone: 806.742.3145 x 270
 
Degree Programs Offered: Spanish: PhD
Spanish/Business Administration: MBA and MA
Romance Languages (concentrations in French and Spanish): MA

Communication Studies

www.depts.ttu.edu/communicationstudies

Note: Additional department application requirements.

 
Amy Heuman a.heuman@ttu.edu
Location: Media & Communication Building, Office 1012 Telephone: 806.834.0337
 
Degree Programs Offered: Communication Studies: MA

Economics

www.depts.ttu.edu/economics

Rashid Al-Hmoud rashid.al-hmoud@ttu.edu
Location: 236 Holden Hall; MS 1014 Telephone: 806.742.2201 x223
 
Degree Programs Offered: Economics: MA and PhD
Economics/Public Admin.: MPA and MA (MEP)

English

www.english.ttu.edu

Note: The Department of English has additional application requirements beyond those of the Graduate School. Please contact Mary Valdez lisa.valdez@ttu.edu or consult our webpages:

 

English

Brian McFadden english.gradadvisor@ttu.edu
Location: 211-B English; MS 3091 Telephone: 806.742.2500 x246
 
Degree Programs Offered: English: MA, PhD
 

Technical Communication and Rhetoric

Joyce Locke Carter english.tc@ttu.edu
Location: 211-A English; MS 3091 Telephone: 806.742.2500 x237
 
Degree Programs Offered: Technical Communication: MA
Technical Communication and Rhetoric: PhD

Environmental Toxicology

www.tiehh.ttu.edu

Note: Additional department application requirements. Contact the department at: 885-4567, or contact the graduate advisor for a complete list

 
Christopher Salice (Graduate Program Advisor) chris.salice@tiehh.ttu.edu
Location: Reese Center Building 555; MS 1163 Telephone: 806-885-4567 ext. 229
 
Smith, Allyson (Assistant Advisor) allyson.smith@TIEHH.TTU.edu
  Telephone: 806-885-4567
 
 
Degree Programs Offered: Environmental Toxicology: MS, PhD
Environmental Toxicology/Law: MS and JD (JMS)

Forensic Sciences

Dr. Robert R. Paine roberrt.paine@ttu.edu
Location: Holden hall 274, TTU campus Telephone: 806 834-8375phone
Degree Programs Offered: Interdisciplinary Studies - Forensic Science: MS

Geosciences

http://www.depts.ttu.edu/gesc/

Note: Additional department application requirements (not including Atmospheric Sciences program). These may be downloaded at: http://www.depts.ttu.edu/gesc/GEOSCI_Grad_App_Form.pdf

For information specifically about the Atmospheric Sciences Program see: http://www.atmo.ttu.edu

Geosciences

Callum Hetherington (Graduate Advisor) callum.hetherington@ttu.edu
Location:127 Science; MS 1053 Telephone: 806.834.3110
 
Degree Programs Offered: Geosciences: MS, PhD

Atmospheric Sciences

Christopher Weiss chris.weiss@ttu.edu
Location: ; MS 2101 Telephone: 806.834.3113
 
Degree Programs Offered: Atmospheric Science: MS
Geosciences: PhD

Geography

Linda Lea Jones linda.jones@ttu.edu
Location: HH 213 Telephone: 806.834.8197
 
Degree Programs Offered: Geography: MS
Geosciences: PhD

Health, Exercise, and Sport Sciences

www.hess.ttu.edu

 
Elizabeth Hall (Graduate Coordinator) hess.graduate@ttu.edu
Location: 106 Exercise Science Center; MS 3011 Telephone: 806.742.3335
 
Monica Luna (Assistant to the Advisor) hess.graduate@ttu.edu
Location: 207 Exercise Science Center; MS 3011 Telephone: 806.742.3371
 
Degree Programs Offered: Exercise and Sport Sciences: MS
Students interested in a Ph.D. in pedagogy can obtain a Ph.D. in the Curriculum & Instruction Department in the College of Education with a concentration/specialization in Physical Education. Students interested in a Ph.D. in sport psychology can obtain a Ph.D. in the Educational Psychology and Leadership Department in the College of Education with a concentration/specialization in Sport Psychology.

History

www.history.ttu.edu

Note: Additional departmental application requirements. These may be viewed at: www.history.ttu.edu

 
Dr. Richard Verrone - Graduate Coordinator Richard.Verrone@ttu.edu
Location: Holden Hall 72; MS 1013 Telephone: 742.3744
 
Degree Programs Offered: History: MA, PhD

Mathematics and Statistics

www.math.ttu.edu

Mara Neusel (Graduate Advisor) mara.d.neusel@ttu.edu
Location: 201F Math; MS 1042 Telephone: 806.742.2580 x229
 
David K. Cannon (Advisor-Prospective Student Inquiries) david.k.cannon@ttu.edu
Location: MS 1042 Telephone: 806.742.2566
 
Degree Programs Offered: Mathematics: MA, MS, PhD
Statistics: MS

Philosophy

www.philosophy.ttu.edu

Daniel Nathan daniel.nathan@ttu.edu
Location: Philosophy; MS 3092 Telephone: 806.742.3277
 
Degree Programs Offered: Philosophy: MA

Physics

www.phys.ttu.edu

Mahdi Sanati m.sanati@ttu.edu
 
Roger L. Lichti (specialized in APPH) roger.lichti@ttu.edu
Mark Holtz (backup advising APPH) mark.holtz@ttu.edu
Location: 26 Science; MS 1051 Telephone: 806.742.3767
 
Joyce Norton (Assistant Advisor) joyce.norton@ttu.edu
Location: MS 1051 Telephone: 806.742.3769
 
Degree Programs Offered: Applied Physics: MS
Physics: MS, PhD

Political Science

Political Science:

www.depts.ttu.edu/politicalscience

Note: Additional departmental application requirements. These may be viewed at: http://www.depts.ttu.edu/politicalscience/graduate/admissions.php

 
David Lektzian david.lektzian@ttu.edu
Location: 21 Holden Hall; MS 1015 Telephone: 806.742.4049
 
Degree Programs Offered: Political Science: MA, PhD
 

Public Administration:

www.depts.ttu.edu/politicalscience/mpa

Note: Additional departmental application requirements. These may be viewed at: http://www.depts.ttu.edu/politicalscience/MPA/Prospective_Students/Admission.php

Era Ibarra era.ibarra@ttu.edu
Location: 120 Holden Hall; MS 1015 Telephone: 806.742.3125
 
Degree Programs Offered: Public Administration: MPA
Public Administration/Economics: MPA and MA (MEP)
Public Administration/Law: MPA and JD (JMP)

Psychology

www.psychology.ttu.edu

Note: Additional department application requirements. These may be found at: www.psychology.ttu.edu or contact the department admissions secretary, Kay Hill, at: kay.hill@ttu.edu

 

Clinical Psychology

Joaquin Borrego joaquin.borrego@ttu.edu
Location: Psychology; MS 2051 Telephone: 806.742.3711
 
Degree Programs Offered: Clinical Psychology: PhD
 

Counseling Psychology

Sheila Garos sheila.garos@ttu.edu
Location: Psychology; MS 2051 Telephone: 806.742.3711 x229
 
Degree Programs Offered: Counseling Psychology: PhD
 

Experimental Psychology

Darcy Reich darcy.reich@ttu.edu
Location: Psychology; MS 2051 Telephone: 806.742.3711 x237
 
Degree Programs Offered: Psychology - Experimental 150 Hour Program: MA
Psychology - Experimental: MA

Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work

www.depts.ttu.edu/sociologyanthropologyandsocialwork

Anthropology

Arthur Durband arthur.durband@ttu.edu
Location: Holden Hall; MS 1012 Telephone: 806.742.2400
 
Degree Programs Offered: Anthropology: MA
 

Sociology

Luis Ramirez luis.ramirez@ttu.edu
Location: Holden Hall; MS 1012 Telephone: 806.742.2400
 
Athena Baumann athena.baumann@ttu.edu
MS 1012 Telephone: 806.742.2400
 
Degree Programs Offered: Sociology: MA
 
Return to the Graduate Advisor/Coordinator Directory