Texas Tech University

College of Human Sciences faculty members honored at the 1st Annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity

By: Ashley Brister
Photo Credit: Roger Saucedo

Celebration of Faculty Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creative ActivityThe Offices of the President, Provost, and Vice President for Research welcome a new initiative that distinguishes Texas Tech University faculty members for national and international recognitions received during the preceding year. Over 50 faculty members across Texas Tech were honored during the celebration with College of Human Sciences (COHS) well-represented by the inclusion of 8 faculty members.

These faculty members achievements were honored at the 1st Annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity. Honorees were celebrated at the McKenzie-Merket Alumni Center on October 27 with a welcome invitation presented by the President of Texas Tech Lawrence Schovanec, Ph.D. as well as the Vice President for Research Joseph A. Heppert, Ph.D.

Professional Association Awards

  • The Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) CORE Award: Debajyoti Pati and Michael O'Boyle.
  • American Society of Interior Designers, Environmental Design Research Association, Interior Design Educator's Council, International Interior Design Association Awards: Kristi Gaines.
  • American Society for Nutrition Korean Nutrition Society Award: Nikhil Dhurandhar.
  • Financial Planning Association Montgomery-Warschauer Award: Sara Asebedo.
  • Mary Swartz Rose Young Investigator Award of the American Society for Nutrition: Shu Wang.

Texas Tech Targeted External Faculty Awards

  • Core Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program Award: Elizabeth Trejos-Castillo and Natalia Velikova.

Issued Patents

  • Compositions and Methods for Improving Glucose Uptake Enhanced Glycemic Control Using Ad36E4orf1 and AKT1 Inhibitor: Nikhil Dhurandhar.

Human Sciences Professor and Associate Dean for Research Michael O'Boyle, Ph.D. says that these achievements provide a heightened visibility for the College.

"This sends a message to the Texas Tech community and beyond that high-quality research and creative activity are an important part of the culture of the COHS," said Dr. O'Boyle. "I suspect that even more COHS faculty will continue to engage in high-quality research and creative activities, and as such an even larger number of faculty will be recognized by external awards."

Dr. O'Boyle says that he was pleasantly surprised to hear the news that he would be acknowledged at the celebration for his efforts.

"It is always nice to have your research recognized," said Dr. O'Boyle.

Celebration of Faculty Excellence in Research, Scholarship, and Creative ActivityCOHS Executive Associate Dean for Academics, Research, and Faculty Development Lynn Huffman, Ph.D. nominated Nutritional Sciences Professor and Chair Nikhil Dhurandhar, Ph.D. for recognition without hesitation for the patents and awards he received over the past year.

Dr. Huffman says that the impact of these honorees will greatly aid in the pursuit of future research efforts for all COHS faculty members.

"Having the College of Human Sciences recipients honored in such a significant manner will be helpful for the College in general. This recognition could result in faculty members finding new research collaboration opportunities as well as aspiring to such an honor themselves," said Dr. Huffman.

Dr. Huffman adds that the inclusion of these faculty members gives great credit to COHS.

"Many people on campus do not realize the effective and important research that takes place in the College of Human Sciences," said Dr. Huffman. "We are also very proud of what our faculty members accomplish, so we are pleased to see them receive the accolades they so richly deserve."