Home Supporting Documents Resources and Web Links

State Historical Preservation Offices

SHPO and Deputy SHPO List

ALABAMA
Dr. Lee Warner, SHPO
Alabama Historical Commission
468 South Perry Street
Montgomery, AL 36130-0900
334-242-3184 FAX: 334-240-3477
E-Mail: lwarner@mail.preserveala.org

Deputy: Ms. Elizabeth Ann Brown
E-Mail: ebrown@mail.preserveala.org

http://www.preserveala.org/

ALASKA
Ms. Judith Bittner, SHPO
Alaska Department of Natural Resources
Office of History & Archeology
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1310
Anchorage, AK 99501-3565
907-269-8721 FAX: 907-269-8908
E-Mail: judyb@dnr.state.ak.us

Deputy: Dr. Robert Shaw

Deputy: Joan Antonson
http://www.dnr.state.ak.us/parks/oha_web

AMERICAN SAMOA
Mr. John Enright, HPO
Executive Offices of the Governor
American Samoa Historic Preservation Office
American Samoa Government
Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799
011-684-633-2384 FAX: 684-633-2367
E-Mail: enright@samoatelco.com

Deputy: Mr. David J. Herdrich
E-Mail: herdrich@samoatelco.com

ARIZONA
Mr. James W. Garrison, SHPO
Arizona State Parks
1300 West Washington
Phoenix, AZ 85007
602-542-4174 FAX: 602-542-4180
E-Mail: jgarrison@pr.state.az.us

Deputy: Ms. Carol Griffith
E-Mail: cgriffith@pr.state.az.us

http://www.pr.state.az.us

ARKANSAS
Ms. Cathryn B. Slater, SHPO
Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
323 Center Street, Suite 1500
Little Rock, AR 72201
501-324-9880 FAX: 501-324-9184
E-Mail: cathy@dah.state.ar.us

Deputy: Mr. Ken Grunewald, 501-324-9356
E-Mail: keng@dah.state.ar.us

CALIFORNIA
Daniel Abeyta, Acting SHPO
Ofc of Hist Pres, Dept Parks & Recreation
P.O. Box 942896
Sacramento CA 94296-0001
916-653-6624 FAX: 916-653-9824
E-Mail: calshpo@quiknet.com

http://cal-parks.ca.gov

COLORADO
Ms. Georgianna Contiguglia, SHPO
Colorado Historical Society
1300 Broadway
Denver, CO 80203
303-866-3395 FAX: 303-866-4464
Deputy: Mr. Mark Wolfe, 303-866-2776, FAX:303-866-2041
E-Mail: mark.wolfe@chs.state.co.us

Deputy: Dr. Susan M. Collins, 303-866-2736
E-Mail: susan.collins@chs.state.co.us

Tech Ser: Ms. Kaaren Hardy, 303-866-3398
E-Mail: kaaren.hardy@chs.state.co.us

http://www.coloradohistory-oahp.org

CONNECTICUT
Mr. John W. Shannahan, SHPO
Connecticut Historical Commission
59 So. Prospect Street
Hartford, CT 06106
860-566-3005 FAX: 860-566-5078
E-Mail: cthist@neca.com

Deputy: Dr. Dawn Maddox, Pres Programs Sup

DELAWARE
Mr. Daniel Griffith, SHPO
Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs
P.O. Box 1401
Dover, DE 19903
302-739-5313 FAX: 302-739-6711
E-Mail: dgriffith@state.de.us

Deputy: Ms. Joan Larrivee
Delaware State Hist Preservation Office
15 The Green
Dover, DE 19901
302-739-5685 FAX: 302-739-5660
E-Mail: jlarrivee@state.de.us

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
Mr. Gregory McCarthy, SHPO
Historic Preservation Division, Suite 305
941 N. Capitol Street, NE, Room 2500
Washington, DC 20002
202-442-4570 FAX: 202-442-4860
http://www.dcra.org

Deputy: Mr. Stephen J. Raiche

FLORIDA
Dr. Janet Snyder Matthews, SHPO, Director
Div of Historical Resources, Dept of State
R. A. Gray Building, 4th Floor
500 S. Bronough St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250
850-488-1480 FAX 850-488-3353
E-Mail: jmatthews@mail.dos.state.fl.us
800-847-7278
http://www.dos.state.fl.us/dhr/contents.html

GEORGIA
Mr. Lonice C. Barrett, SHPO
Historic Preservation Division
57 Forsyth Street, NW, Suite 500
Atlanta, GA 30303
404-656-2840 FAX 404-651-8739
Deputy: Dr. W. Ray Luce, Director
E-Mail: ray_luce@mail.dnr.state.ga.us

Deputy: Ms. Carole Griffith
E-Mail: carole_griffith@mail.dnr.state.ga.us

Deputy: Mr. Richard Cloues
E-Mail: richard_cloues@mail.dnr.state.ga.us

http://www.dnr.state.ga.us/dnr/histpres/

GUAM
Victoriano April, Acting SHPO
Guam Historic Preservation Office
Department of Parks & Recreation
PO Box 2950 Building 13-8 Tiyan
Hagatna, Guam 96932
1-671-475-6290 FAX: 1-671-477-2822
E-Mail: davisrd@ns.gov.gu

http://www.gov.gu/dpr/hrdhome.html

HAWAII
Mr. Timothy Johns, SHPO
Department of Land & Natural Resources
P.O. Box 621
Honolulu, HI 96809
808-587-0401

Deputy: Ms. Janet Kawelo

Deputy: Dr. Don Hibbard
State Historic Preservation Division
Kakuhihewa Building, Suite 555
601 Kamokila Boulevard
Kapolei, HI 96707
808-692-8015 FAX: 808-692-8020
E-Mail: dlnr@pixi.com

http://www.hawaii.gov/dlnr

IDAHO
Steve Guerber, SHPO
Idaho State Historical Society
1109 Main Street, Suite 250
Boise, ID 83702-5642
208-334-2682

Deputy: Suzi Neitzel
208-334-3847 FAX: 208-334-2775
E-Mail: sneitzel@ishs.state.id.us
Deputy: Ken Reid
208-334-3861

ILLINOIS
Mr. William L. Wheeler, SHPO
Associate Director
Illinois Historic Preservation Agency
1 Old State Capitol Plaza
Springfield, IL 62701-1512
217-785-1153 FAX: 217-524-7525

Deputy: Mr. Theodore Hild, Chief of Staff
E-Mail: thild@hpa084r1.state.il.us

Deputy: Ms. Anne Haaker

INDIANA
Mr. Larry D. Macklin, SHPO
Director, Department of Natural Resources
402 West Washington Street
Indiana Govt. Center South, Room W256
Indianapolis, IN 46204
E-Mail: dhpa@dnr.state.in.us

Deputy: Jon C. Smith
317-232-1646 FAX: 317-232-0693
E-Mail: jsmith@dnr.state.in.us

IOWA
Mr. Tom Morain, SHPO
State Historical Society of Iowa
Capitol Complex
East 6th and Locust St.
Des Moines, IA 50319
515-281-5419 FAX: 515-242-6498
E-Mail: shpo--iowa@nps.gov

Ms. Patricia Ohlerking, DSHPO
515-281-8824 FAX: 515-282-0502

KANSAS
Dr. Ramon S. Powers, SHPO, Executive Director
Kansas State Historical Society
6425 Southwest 6th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66615-1099
785-272-8681 x205 FAX: 785-272-8682
E-Mail: rpowers@hspo.wpo.state.ks.us

Deputy: Mr. Richard D. Pankratz, Director
Historic Pres Dept 785-272-8681 x217

Deputy: Dr. Cathy Ambler
785-272-8681 x215

KENTUCKY
Mr. David L. Morgan, SHPO, Executive Director
Kentucky Heritage Council
300 Washington Street
Frankfort, KY 40601
502-564-7005 FAX: 502-564-5820
E-Mail: dmorgan@mail.state.ky.us

LOUISIANA
Ms. Gerri Hobdy, SHPO
Dept of Culture, Recreation &Tourism
P.O. Box 44247
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
225-342-8200 FAX 225-342-8173

Deputy: Mr. Robert Collins 225-342-8200
E-Mail: rcollins@crt.state.la.us

Deputy: Mr. Jonathan Fricker 225-342-8160
E-Mail: hp@crt.state.la.us

http://www.crt.state.la.us

MAINE
Mr. Earle G. Shettleworth, Jr., SHPO
Maine Historic Preservation Commission
55 Capitol Street, Station 65
Augusta, ME 04333
207-287-2132 FAX 207-287-2335
E-Mail: earle.shettleworth@state.me.us

Deputy: Dr. Robert L. Bradley
http://janus.state.me.us/mhpc/

MARSHALL ISLANDS, REPUBLIC OF THE
Mr. Fred Debrum, HPO
Secretary of Interior and Outer Islands Affairs
P.O. Box 1454, Majuro Atoll
Republic of the Marshall Islands 96960
011-692-625-4642 FAX: 011-692-625-5353

Deputy: Clary Makroro
E-Mail: rmihpo@ntamar.com

MARYLAND
Mr. J. Rodney Little, SHPO
Maryland Historical Trust
100 Community Place, Third Floor
Crownsville, MD 21032-2023
410-514-7600 FAX 410-514-7678
E-Mail:
little@dhcd.state.md.us
http://www.MarylandHistoricalTrust.net

Deputy: Mr. William J. Pencek, Jr.
http://www.ari.net/mdshpo

MASSACHUSETTS
Ms. Judith McDonough, SHPO
Massachusetts Historical Commission
220 Morrissey Boulevard
Boston, MA 02125
617-727-8470 FAX: 617-727-5128
TTD: 1-800-392-6090
E-Mail: Judy.McDonough@sec.state.ma.us

Deputy: Ms. Brona Simon, Dir Technical Servs
E-Mail: Brona.Simon@sec.state.ma.us

http://www.state.ma.us/sec/mhc

MICHIGAN
Brian D. Conway - State Historic Preservation Officer
email: conwaybd@michigan.gov

Michigan Department of History, Arts and Libraries,
Michigan Historical Center,
Michigan State Historic Preservation Office
702 West Kalamazoo Street,
P.O. Box 30740,
Lansing, MI 48909-8240
Phone: (517) 373-1630
Fax: (517) 335-0348
TDD 1-800-827-7007
e-mail: preservation@michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov/shpo

MICRONESIA, FEDERATED STATES OF
Mr. Rufino Mauricio, FSM HPO
Office of Administrative Services
Div of Archives and Historic Preservation
FSM National Government
P.O. Box PS 35
Palikir, Pohnpei, FM 96941
011-691-320-2343 FAX: 691-320-5634
E-mail: fsmhpo@mail.fm
FSM includes four States,whose HPOs are listed below:
Mr. John Tharngan, HPO
Yap Historic Preservation Office
Office of the Governor
PO Box 714
Colonia, Yap, FM 96943
011-691-350-4226 FAX: 691-350-3898
E-Mail: hpoyapfsm@mail.fm
HPO
Div Land mgmt & Natural Resources
Department of Commerce & Industry
PO Box 280
Moen, Chuuk (Truk), FM 96942
011-691-330-2552/2761 FAX: 691-330-4906
Mr. David W. Panuelo, HPO
Dir, Dept of Land, Pohnpei State Government
P.O. Box 1149
Kolonia, Pohnpei, FM 96941
011-691-320-2611 FAX: 011-691-320-5599
E-Mail: nahnsehleng@mail.fm
Mr. Berlin Sigrah, Kosrae HPO
Div of Land Management & Preservation
Dept of Agriculture & Lands
PO Box 82
Kosrae, FM 96944
011-691-370-3078 FAX: 011-691-370-3767
E-Mail: dalu@mail.fm
MINNESOTA
Dr. Nina Archabal, SHPO
Minnesota Historical Society
345 Kellogg Boulevard West
St. Paul, MN 55102-1906
651-296-2747 FAX: 651-296-1004
Deputy: Dr. Ian Stewart, 651-297-5513
Deputy: Ms. Britta L. Bloomberg
651-296-5434 FAX: 651-282-2374
E-Mail: britta.bloomberg@mnhs.org

http://www.mnhs.org
MISSISSIPPI
Mr. Elbert Hilliard, SHPO
Mississippi Dept of Archives & History
P.O. Box 571
Jackson, MS 39205-0571
601-359-6850
Deputy: Mr. Kenneth H. P'Pool
Division of Historic Preservation
601-359-6940 FAX: 601-359-6955
E-Mail: kppool@mdah.state.ms.us
MISSOURI
Mr. Stephen Mahfood, SHPO
State Department of Natural Resources
205 Jefferson, P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102
573-751-4422 FAX: 573-751-7627
Deputy: Ms. Claire F. Blackwell
Historic Preservation Prog, Div of State Parks
100 E. High Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101
573-751-7858 FAX: 573-526-2852
E-Mail: nrblacc@mail.dnr.state.us

Deputy: Dr. Douglas K. Eiken
http://www.mostateparks.com
MONTANA
Dr. Mark F. Baumler, SHPO
State Historic Preservation Office
1410 8th Avenue
P.O. Box 201202
Helena, MT 59620-1202
406-444-7717 FAX 406-444-6575
E-Mail: mbaumler@.state.mt.us

Deputy: Mr. Herbert E. Dawson
http://www.hist.state.mt.us
NEBRASKA
Mr. Lawrence Sommer, SHPO
Nebraska State Historical Society
P.O. Box 82554
1500 R Street
Lincoln, NE 68501
402-471-4745 FAX: 402-471-3100
E-Mail: nshs@nebraskahistory.org

Deputy: Mr. L. Robert Puschendorf
402-471-4769 FAX: 402-471-3316
NEVADA
Mr. Ronald James, SHPO
Historic Preservation Office
100 N Stewart Street
Capitol Complex
Carson City, NV 89701-4285
775-684-3440 FAX: 775-684-3442
Deputy: Ms. Alice Baldrica
775-684-3444
E-Mail: ambaldri@clan.lib.nv.us

http://www.state.nv.us
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Ms. Nancy C. Dutton, Director/SHPO
NH Division of Historical Resources
P.O. Box 2043
Concord, NH 03302-2043
603-271-6435 FAX: 603-271-3433
TDD: 800-735-2964
E-Mail: ndutton@nhdhr.state.nh.us

Deputy: Ms. Linda Ray Wilson
603-271-6434 or 603-271-3558
E-Mail: lwilson@nhdhr.state.nh.us

http://www.state.nh.us/nhdhr
NEW JERSEY
Mr. Robert C. Shinn, SHPO
Dept of Environ Protection
401 East State Street
PO Box 402
Trenton, NJ 08625
609-292-2885 FAX: 609-292-7695
Deputy: Mr. James Hall
Natural and Historic Resources
501 East State Street
PO Box 404
Trenton, NJ 08625
609-292-3541 FAX: 609-984-0836
Deputy: Ms. Dorothy Guzzo
Natural and Historic Resources
Historic Preservation Office
609-984-0176 FAX: 609-984-0578
E-Mail: dguzzo@dep.state.nj.us
NEW MEXICO
Dorothy Victor, Acting SHPO
Historic Preservation Div, Ofc of Cultural Affairs
228 East Palace Avenue
Santa Fe, NM 87503
505-827-6320 FAX: 505-827-6338
E-Mail: dvictor@lvr.state.nm.us

Deputy: Jan Biella
E-Mail: jbiella@lvr.state.nm.us

http://www.museums.state.nm.us/hpd
NEW YORK
Ms. Bernadette Castro, SHPO
Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation
Agency Building #1, Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12238
518-474-0443
Deputy: Mr. J. Winthrop Aldrich, Deputy
518-474-9113 FAX 518-474-4492
Historic Preservation Staff:
Ms. Ruth L. Pierpont, Director
Bureau of Field Services
NY State Parks, Rec. & Hist. Pres.
Peebles Island PO 189
Waterford, NY 12188-0189
518-237-8643 x 3269 FAX 518-233-9049
E-Mail: ruth.pierpont@oprhp.state.ny.us

http://www.nysparks.com
NORTH CAROLINA
Dr. Jeffrey J. Crow SHPO
Division of Archives & History
4610 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4610
919-733-7305 FAX: 919-733-8807
E-Mail: jcrow@ncsl.dcr.state.nc.us
Deputy: Mr. David Brook
Historic Preservation Office
4617 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4617
919-733-4763 FAX: 919-733-8653
E-Mail: dbrook@ncsl.dcr.state.nc.us

http://www.hpo.dcr.state.nc.us
NORTH DAKOTA
Mr. Samuel Wegner, SHPO
State Historical Society of North Dakota
612 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505
701-328-2666 FAX: 701-328-3710
E-Mail: swegner@.state.nd.us

http://www.state.nd.us/hist
NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS, COMMONWEALTH OF THE
Mr. Joseph P. DeLeon Guerrero, HPO
Dept of Community & Cultural Affairs
Division of Historic Preservation
Airport Road
Northern Mariana Islands
Saipan, MP 96950
670-664-2125 FAX 670-664-2139
E-Mail: cnmihpo@itecnmi.com
Deputy: Mr. Scott Russell, 670-664-2121
E-Mail: cnmihpo@itecnmi.com
OHIO
Mr. Amos J. Loveday, SHPO
Ohio Historic Preservation Office
567 E Hudson Street
Columbus, OH 43211-1030
614-297-2600 FAX: 614-297-2233
E-Mail: ajloveday@aol.com

Deputy: Mr. Franco Ruffini
614-297-2470 FAX: 614-297-2496
E-Mail: fruffini@freenet.columbus.oh.us

http://www.ohiohistory.org/resource/histpres
OKLAHOMA
Dr. Bob L. Blackburn, SHPO
Oklahoma Historical Society
2100 N. Lincoln Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
405-521-2491 FAX 405-521-2492
http://www.ok-history.mus.ok.us
Deputy: Ms. Melvena Thurman Heisch
State Historic Preservation Office
2704 Villa Prom, Shepherd Mall
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
405-522-4484 FAX: 405-947-2918
E-Mail: mheisch@ok-history.mus.ok.us
OREGON
Mr. Bob Meinen, SHPO
State Parks & Recreation Department
1115 Commercial Street, NE
Salem, OR 97301-1012
503-378-5019 FAX 503-378-8936
Deputy: Mr. James Hamrick
503-378-4168 x231 FAX 503-378-6447
E-Mail: james.hamrick@state.or.us

http://www.prd.state.or.us/about_shpo.html
PALAU, REPUBLIC OF
Ms. Victoria N. Kanai, HPO
Ministry of Community & Cultural Affairs
P.O. Box 100
Koror, Republic of Palau 96940
011-680-488-2489 FAX: 680-488-2657
PENNSYLVANIA
Dr. Brent D. Glass, SHPO
Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Comm
P.O. Box 1026
Harrisburg, PA 17108
717-787-2891
Deputy: Ms. Brenda Barrett, Bur for Historic Pres
717-787-4363 FAX: 717-772-0920
E-Mail: brenda_barrett@phmc.state.pa.us
PUERTO RICO, COMMONWEALTH OF
Ms. Lilliane D. Lopez, SHPO
Office of Historic Preservation
Box 82, La Fortaleza
Old San Juan, Puerto Rico 00901
787-721-2676 or 3737 FAX 787-723-0957
Deputy: Berenice Sueiro
RHODE ISLAND
Mr. Frederick C. Williamson, SHPO
Rhode Island Historic Preservation & Heritage Comm
Old State House, 150 Benefit St.
Providence, RI 02903
401-222-2678 FAX: 401-222-2968
Deputy: Mr. Edward F. Sanderson
E-Mail: rihphc@doa.state.ri.us
SOUTH CAROLINA
Dr. Rodger E. Stroup, SHPO
Department of Archives & History
8301 Parklane Road
Columbia, SC 29223-4905
803-896-6100 FAX 803-896-6167
Deputy: Ms. Mary W. Edmonds, 803-896-6168
E-Mail: edmonds@scdah.state.sc.us

http://www.state.sc.us/scdah/
 
SOUTH DAKOTA
Mr. Jay D. Vogt, SHPO
State Historic Preservation Office
Cultural Heritage Center
900 Governors Drive
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3458 FAX 605-773-6041
E-Mail: jay.vogt@state.sd.us

http://www.state.sd.us/state/executive/deca/cultural/histpres.htm
TENNESSEE
Mr. Milton Hamilton, SHPO
Dept of Environment and Conservation
401 Church Street, L & C Tower 21st Floor
Nashville, TN 37243-0435
615-532-0109 FAX: 615-532-0120
Deputy: Mr. Herbert L. Harper
Tennessee Historical Commission
2941 Lebanon Road
Nashville, TN 37243-0442
615-532-1550 FAX: 615-532-1549
http://www.state.tn.us/environment/hist/hist.htm
TEXAS
Mr. F. Lawerence Oaks, SHPO
Texas Historical Commission
P.O. Box 12276
Austin, TX 78711-2276
512-463-6100 FAX: 512-475-4872
E-Mail: l.oaks@thc.state.tx.us

Deputy: Mr. James Wright Steely,
Dir Nat'l Reg Prog, 512-463-5868
FAX: 512-475-3122
E-Mail: jim.steely@thc.state.tx.us

Deputy: Mr. Stanley O. Graves,
Dir Architecture Div, 512-463-6094
FAX: 512-463-6095
E-Mail: stan.graves@thc.state.tx.us

Deputy: Dr. James E. Bruseth, Dir Antiquities Prot, 512-463-6096
FAX: 512-463-8927
E-Mail: jim.bruseth@thc.state.tx.us
http://www.thc.state.tx.us
UTAH
Mr. Max Evans, SHPO
Utah State Historical Society
300 Rio Grande
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
801-533-3500 FAX: 801-533-3503
http://history.utah.org
Deputy: Mr. Wilson Martin
E-Mail: wmartin@history.state.ut.us
VERMONT
Ms. Emily Wadhams, SHPO
Vermont Division for Historic Preservation
National Life Building, Drawer 20
Montpelier, VT 05620-0501
802-828-3211
E-Mail: ewadhams@dca.state.vt.us

Deputy: Mr. Eric Gilbertson, Director
802-828-3043 FAX 802-828-3206
E-Mail: ergilbertson@dca.state.vt.us

http://www.state.vt.us/dca/historic/
VIRGIN ISLANDS
Ms. Beulah Dalmida-Smith, SHPO
Dept Plan& Natural Resources
Div Archaelogy & Historic Pres
Foster Plaza, 396-1 Anna=s Retreat
St. Thomas, VI 00802
340-774-3320 FAX: 340-775-5706
Deputy: Ms. Claudette C. Lewis
340-776-8605 FAX: 340-776-7236
VIRGINIA
Mr. H. Alexander Wise, Jr, SHPO
Department of Historic Resources
2801 Kensington Avenue
Richmond, VA 23221
804-367-2323 FAX: 804-367-2391
E-Mail: awise@dhr.state.va.us

Deputy: Kathleen Kilpatrick
WASHINGTON
Dr. Allyson Brooks SHPO
Ofc of Archeology & Historic Preservation
PO Box 48343
420 Golf Club Road, SE, Suite 201, Lacey
Olympia, WA 98504-8343
360-407-0753 FAX: 360-407-6217
E-Mail: allysonb@acted.wa.gov

Deputy: Mr. Greg Griffith, 360-407-0753
E-Mail: gregg@cted.wa.gov
WEST VIRGINIA
Ms. Renay Conlin, SHPO
West Virginia Division of Culture & History
Historic Preservation Office
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25305-0300
304-558-0220 FAX: 304-558-2779
E-Mail: renay.conlin@wvculture.org

Deputy: Ms. Susan Pierce
E-Mail: susan.pierce@wvculture.org
WISCONSIN
Mr. George L. Vogt, SHPO
State Historical Society of Wisconsin
816 State Street

 Home Supporting Documents Resources and Web Links

18 January 2006 - © 2000-03 Museum of Texas Tech University