Texas Tech University

NWI Researcher Directory

NAME / TITLE PHONE / EMAIL RESEARCH INTERESTS
Ancell, Brian, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Department of Geosciences 
(806) 834-3143
brian.ancell@ttu.edu
Predictability of high-impact weather events on a wide range of scales.
Avetisyan, Misak, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Department  of Economics
(806) 834-6156
misak.avetisyan@ttu.edu
Environmental and resource economics; Energy economics; Economics analysis of natural and nan-made hazards; Energy security; International economics.
Bae, Sang-Wook, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental, and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-4792
sangwook.bae@ttu.edu
Fiber reinforced polymer (FRP) composite material; Performance improvement of reinforced and prestressed concrete structures; Progressive collapse mitigation of concrete structures; Development of advanced repair and strengthening methods for corrosion-damaged concrete structures.
Barhorst, Alan, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor,
Department of Mechanical Engineering
(806) 834-4951
alan.barhorst@ttu.edu
Multi-Body, Elasto-Dynamics, and Control; Bio-mechanics; Fluid-Structure Interation; NDE (Acoustic Emission); Parametric Optimization; Robotics; Vibrations.
Barnes, Cal, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Professor,
Department of Geosciences
(806) 834-7389
cal.barnes@ttu.edu
Igneous petrology & geochemistry.
Bayne, Stephen, Ph.D.
Professor,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
(806) 834-0526
stephen.bayne@ttu.edu
Power electronics for Hybrid Electric Vehicles (HEV); Design of compact power electronics converters; Evaluation of power devices for power electronics & pulse power applications.
Beruvides, Mario, Ph.D., P.E.
AT&T Professor,
Department of Industrial Engineering
(806) 834-8740
mario.beruvides@ttu.edu
Management of technology; Engineering management; White-collar/knowledge performance, measurement, production, and quality systems engineering; Applied ergonomics.
Boal, Clint, Ph.D.
Professor,
Department of Natural Resources Management
(806) 834-6536
clint.boal@ttu.edu
Contemporary research and information needs of wildlife management agencies.
Bruning, Eric, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Department of Geosciences 
(806) 742-3120
eric.bruning@ttu.edu
Atmospheric electricity and lightning; cloud physics and dynamics; radar meteorology; severe storms meteorology.
Cao, Guofeng, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Geosciences
(806) 834-8920
guofeng.cao@ttu.edu
Spatiotemporal pattern modeling and analysis in geographic phenomena and processes integrating heterogeneous spatial and spatiotemporal data (e.g. downscaling and upscaling); Modeling spatiotemporal uncertainty, and the uncertainty propagation in analysis and models; Data and computation intensive spatiotemporal analysis and modeling, and Geospatial-Enabled cyberinfrastructure (or Cybergis); Domain applications in environmental sciences, public health and social sciences.
Chen, Xinzhong, Dr. Eng.
Professor, Ed and Linda Whitacre Faculty Fellow,
Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-6794
xinzhong.chen@ttu.edu
Bridge and building aerodynamics; Wind engineering; Fatigue and extreme loads and responses of large wind turbines; Aero-elastic instability of onshore and offshore Wind turbines; Cable-Supported bridges and tall buildings; Structural dynamics and random wibration; Structural reliability and performance-based design codes and standards.
Dahl, Johannes, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Geosciences (ATMO)
(806) 834-1308
johannes.dahl@ttu.edu
Storm research: strong focus on organized convective storms, especially tornadic supercells, as well as meso- and synoptic-scale dynamics.
Ekwaro-Osire, Stephen, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs,
Whitacre College of Engineering
(806) 834-6197
stephen.ekwaro-osire@ttu.edu
Engineering design; Vibrations; Orthopaedic biomechanics, and Engineering education.
Tewodros Ghebrab. Ph.D., P.E.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental, and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-3218
tewodros.ghebrab@ttu.edu
Performance of cement-based materials under adverse environments; effect of mineral/chemical admixtures on the structure-property relationships of cement-based materials; modeling of mechanical and physical properties of cementitious materials containing nano-sized mineral admixtures; effect of mineral admixtures on concrete containing recycled aggregates.
Ewing, Brad, Ph.D.
Professor,
Rawls College of Business
(806) 742-3188
bradley.ewing@ttu.edu
Energy economics; Energy policy; Energy sources; Geopolitics of energy; Ecological economics.
Giesselmann, Michael, Ph.D., P.E.
Department Chair and Professor,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
(806) 834-6841
michael.giesselmann@ttu.edu
Power electronics; AC motor drives; Rotating machines; Utility power systems transformer design; Pulsed power technology; Computer simulations; Ignitrons gas discharges; High voltage and high current design; High-speed optical and electrical diagnostics (down to sub-ns regime); Digital data acquisition and image processing; Lasers.
Gilliam, Kathleen, Ph.D.
Instructor of Wind Energy &
Adjunct Faculty
(806) 834-7638
kathleen.gilliam@ttu.edu
Under construction.
He, Miao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
(806) 834-8962
miao.he@ttu.edu
Cyber-physical power systems; Monitoring and data fusion towards secure smart grids; Power system operations with high penetration of renewable resources; Online dynamic security assessment of power systems using PMU measurements.
Hirth, Brian, Ph.D.
Research Professor,
National Wind Institute
(806) 834-0717
brian.hirth@ttu.edu
Wind plant complex flows measurements; Field measurements of extreme wind events; Doppler radar measurements and data analysis; Data acquisition and software development.
Hui, Qing, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Department of Mechanical Engineering
(806) 742-3563 x238
qing.hui@ttu.edu
Thermostabilization analysis and design for robustness and resilience in complex systems engineering; Human-interactive neuromorphic supercomputing networks via mobile autonomous and semiautonomous systems; Model-based and data-driven fault detection and diagnosis methods for large-scale distributed hybrid networks; Nature-inspired swarm intelligence algorithms and methods.
James, Darryl, Ph.D., P.E.
Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness, Professor,
Department of Mechanical Engineering
(806) 834-3386
darryl.james@ttu.edu
Physical simulation of tornado−like vortices; Computational & experimental fluid mechanics; Combined−mode heat transfer & fluid mechanics; Turbulence−enhanced heat transfer.
Kang, Song-Lak, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Geosciences
(806) 834-0892
song-lak.kang@ttu.edu
Atmospheric Boundary Layer (ABL); Wind power meteorology: Moist convection initiation; Interaction between Earth's surface and the atmosphere; Turbulence; Numerical weather prediction.
Li, Changzhi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
(806) 834-8682
changzhi.li@ttu.edu
Doppler radar for biomedical and structural health monitoring; CMOS RF and analog circuits; Microwave circuits.
Liang, Daan, Ph.D.
Interim Director, NWI; Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-0383
daan.liang@ttu.edu
Post-Storm Damage Assessment; Disaster; Resiliency; Remote Sensing; Distributed Wind Energy.
McComb, Robert, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Department of Economics
(806) 834-8852
robert.mccomb@ttu.edu
Industrial organization; Development economics; Microeconomic theory; Public finance, public enterprise, privatization of public enterprise.
Mehta, Kishor, Ph.D., P.E.
P. W. Horn Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-5679
kishor.mehta@ttu.edu
Wind loads on buildings and structures; Wind load standards and codes; Interdisciplinary research in natural hazard mitigation; Design for hurricanes and tornadoes; Damage investigation caused by windstorms.
Morse, Stephen M., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-3268
stephen.m.morse@ttu.edu
Window glass strength design; Wind loads on structures; Finite element modeling of brittle materials; Large scale data processing and data mining.
Mulligan, Kevin, Ph.D. Associate Professor,
Department of Economics and Geography
(806) 834-0391
kevin.mulligan@ttu.edu
Applied geospatial technologies (Geographic Information Systems); Remote sensing; GPS; Geospatial database design; Digital cartography, terrain visualization and Internet mapping.
Nejat, Ali, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-4065
ali.nejat@ttu.edu
Modeling dynamics of post-disaster recovery; Multi-agent systems; Agent-based modeling; System dynamics; Transportation construction management.
Norville, H. Scott, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-4534
scott.norville@ttu.edu
Strength and behavior of window glass under extreme loading; blast resistant glazing design; strength of heat-treated glass; behavior of tripled-glazed insulating glass units; strength and behavior of laminated glass with high performance interlayers; development of standards for testing and designing window glass.
Parameswaran, Siva, Ph.D.
Professor and Director of Graduate Program, Department of Mechanical Engineering
(806) 834-8255
siva.parameswaran@ttu.edu
Designing better High Frequency Oscillating Ventilators (HFOV) for critical care pulmonary medicine; Modeling far-wake development behind wind turbine with swirl; Developing computational models for turbine-turbine interaction in off-shore wind farms; Developing unsteady, turbulence models for accurate prediction of lift-coefficients for flow around bluff bodies; Numerical issues of a thermal model for a battery system.
Peterson, Richard, Ph.D.
Professor,
Department of Geosciences
(806) 834-3418 richard.peterson@ttu.edu
Atmospheric vortices (hurricanes and tornadoes); Boundary-Layer meteorology; Dynamics of severe storms; Duststorms; History of meteorology and wind engineering.
Rainwater, Kenneth, Ph.D., P.E., D.W.R.E.
Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-7775
ken.rainwater@ttu.edu
Water resources management; Groundwater flow and contaminant transport; Groundwater rights; Remediation of contaminated soil; Groundwater and watershed management.
Rao, Vittal, Ph.D.
Professor,
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
(806) 834-4293
vittal.rao@ttu.edu
Electrical energy smart grid technologies; Smart structural systems; Tera−Hertz technologies; Cyber systems; Robust control systems; Data fusion & mining.
Reible, Danny, Ph.D., P.E.
Dunovan Maddox Distinguished Engineering Chair, Professor
Department of Chemical Engineering and Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-8050
danny.reible@ttu.edu
Contaminant fate and behavior in the environment; modeling environmental processes; assessment and management of contaminated sediments; treatment and recycling of produced and flowback waters; sustainable management of water resources.
Ren, Beibei, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Mechanical Engineering
(806) 834-6692
beibei.ren@ttu.edu
Nonlinear system control methods and algorithm design: Robust control; adaptive control; neural networks; Boundary control of systems modeled by PDEs; Real-time optimization using extremum seeking.
Schroeder, John, Ph.D.
Professor,
Department of Atmospheric Science
(806) 834-5678
john.schroeder@ttu.edu
Boundary layer wind flow structure; Wind energy; Wind engineering; Severe storms; Tropical cyclone structure; Wind plant optimization.
Seo, Hoyoung, Ph.D., P.E.
Assistant Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental and  Construction Engineering
(806) 834-5690
hoyoung.seo@ttu.edu
Foundation engineering; Analytical and numerical methods in geomechanics; Geotechnical instrumentation and monitoring; Development of in situ-test- and reliability-based design methods; Rock mechanics and rock engineering; Water jet applications in construction engineering.
Smith, Douglas A., Ph.D., P.E.
Associate Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental, and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-6179
doug.smith@ttu.edu
Bluff body aerodynamics; Structural response to wind induced loading; Atmospheric boundary layer flows; Hurricane wind and surge damage prediction; Papercrete material usage and properties.
Smith, Milton, Ph.D., P.E. Professor,
Department of Industrial Engineering
(806) 834-1267
milton.smith@ttu.edu
Production scheduling and control including sequencing and scheduling algorithms; Simulation modeling of manufacturing systems; Design and evaluation of production systems, and 
Impact testing of materials Including hail and explosive propelled objects.
Smith, Philip D., Ph.D.  
Associate Professor,
TTU Institute of Environmental and Human Health (TIEHH)
(806) 885-4567
phil.smith@ttu.edu
Air issues; Persistent organic pollutant exposure issues.
Sutton, Vickie, Ph.D., J.D. P. W.
P. W. Horn Professor, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development, Director of Center for Biodefense, Law and Public Policy,
School of Law
(806) 834-1752
vickie.sutton@ttu.edu
Environmental law; Lawl Science policy and scientific evidence; Native American law; Law and biotechnology; Law and bioterrorism; Constitutional law; Law, science and environment.
Swift, Andy, Sc.D.
Associate Director,
Education, NWI; Professor, Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-1990
andy.swift@ttu.edu
Wind energy.
Tanner, Larry, P.E., R.A.
Research Assistant Professor,
Manager, NWI Debris Impact Facility
(806) 834-2320
larry.tanner@ttu.edu
Storm investigation and documentation; Impact testing of materials for hazard mitigation; Mapping damage utilizing unmanned aerial systems.
Weiss, Chris, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Geosciences
(806) 834-4712
chris.weiss@ttu.edu
Severe thunderstorms; Tornado genesis and structure; Drylines and convection initiation; Radar meteorology.
Westergaard, Carsten H., Ph.D.   Professor of Practice,
Department of Mechanical Engineering
(806) 834-7080
carsten.westergaard@ttu.edu
Wind energy technology and innovation; Aero-elasticity; Fluid structure interaction; Aerodynamics; Turbulence; Optical measurement technology; Microfluidics.
Yang, Jingzhou James, Ph.D. Assistant Professor,
Department of Mechanical Engineering
(806) 834-6746 james.yang@ttu.edu
Biomechanics and bio-inspired systems; Robotics and multibody dynamic systems; Human modeling and simulation; Human locomotion; Slips and falls; Spine biomechanics; Human-centric design; Healthcare engineering.
Zuo, Delong, Ph.D.
Associate Professor,
Department of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering
(806) 834-0383
delong.zuo@ttu.edu
Wind loading on structures; Structural vibration and control; Characterization and numerical simulation of wind fields; Performance and loading of wind turbines.

Contact

National Wind Institute