## McDonald • Mehta



## Friday, February 17

3:30 p.m.

Experimental Sciences 120 Reception to follow.



Warren S. Bellows Centennial Professorship in Civil Engineering The University of Texas at Austin



(Above) - Dr. Ellen Rathje.

Presentation: "DesignSafe Cyberinfrastructure: A Cloud-Based Environment for Research in Natural Hazards Engineering."



Wednesday, April 19

Experimental Sciences 120
Reception to follow.

**Dr. Sanjay Arwade**Professor, Civil Engineering
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

(Above) - Dr. Sanjay Arwade.

Presentation: "Extreme Events and the Reliability of Offshore Wind Energy Structures."

The McDonald-Mehta Lecture Series is named after and funded with the endowment of **Dr. Kishor C. Mehta** and **Dr. James R. McDonald**, founding faculty members of the former Wind Science and Engineering Research Center (WiSE), now National Wind Institute (NWI), at Texas Tech. The lecture series invites nationally-known scientists and experts in wind-related industries to speak about ongoing research around the world.

**Dr. McDonald** is a former Professor and Chairman of the department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Texas Tech University. He specialized in research related to tornado hazards, windborne debris, and the design of buildings and structures to resist extreme windstorms. He has conducted more than 30 years' worth of on-site damage documentation and more than a dozen on-site damage documentation studies with the late Dr. Ted Fujita.

**Dr. Mehta** is a P. W. Horn Professor of Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering and former Director of Wind Science and Engineering Research Center (now NWI). He is elected to the National Academy of Engineering and Distinguished Member of ASCE. He was Chair of the wind load committee which developed ANSI A58.1-1982, ASCE 7-88 and ASCE 7-95. Recently he served as Program Director at the National Science Foundation.



(L-R) - Dr. Kishor C. Mehta and Dr. James R. McDonald, co-founders of the McDonald-Mehta Lecture Series at the National Wind Institute at Texas Tech University.