University Calendar
1998-1999

Summer 1998

Intersession at Junction

May 7-21, Thursday-Thursday
Classes held at Junction Center campus for Intersession.

First Term

May 25, Monday
Noon, residence halls open for occupancy.

May 26, Tuesday
Registration for new students. Last day to register without penalty. First meal, breakfast, served in residence halls.

May 27, Wednesday
Classes begin.

May 27-28, Wednesday-Thursday
Student-initiated drop-add.

June 1, Monday
Last day to drop a course and receive a full refund. Last day for graduate degree candidates to file statement of intention to graduate with the Graduate School.

June 6, Saturday
Scheduled class day.

June 11, Thursday
Last day to declare pass-fail intentions. Last day to drop a course and receive an automatic W.

June 19, Friday
Last day for degree candidates and faculty to order invitations and academic regalia at the Bookstore.

June 25, Thursday
Last day to drop a course, transfer between colleges, or withdraw from the University.

July 1, Wednesday
Last day of classes.

July 2, Thursday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to pay binding fee at Student Business Services.

July 2-3, Thursday-Friday
Final examinations for the first term.

July 3, Friday
First summer term ends.

July 4, Saturday
Students without room reservations for the second term must vacate residence hall rooms by 10 a.m.

July 7, Tuesday
9 a.m., final grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office.

Second Term

July 6, Monday
10 a.m., residence halls open to new occupants. Registration for new students. Last day to register without penalty.

July 7, Tuesday
Classes begin.

July 7-8, Tuesday-Wednesday
Student-initiated drop-add.

July 10, Friday
Last day to drop a course and receive a full refund.

July 17, Friday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to remove grades of I, PR, or CR and to submit final comprehensive examination and defense reports.

July 21, Tuesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the official version of theses and dissertations.

July 22, Wednesday
Last day to declare pass-fail intentions. Last day to drop a course and receive an automatic W.

August 5, Wednesday
Last day to drop a course, transfer between colleges, or withdraw from the University.

August 11, Tuesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the final (corrected) copies of theses and dissertations.

August 12, Wednesday
Last day of classes.

August 13-14, Thursday-Friday
Final examinations for the second term.

August 14, Friday
Last meal served in residence halls Thursday evening. Second summer term ends.

August 15, Saturday
Commencement. 10 a.m., residence halls close.

August 17, Monday
9 a.m., final grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office.

Fall 1998

August 23, Sunday
10 a.m., residence halls open for occupancy.

August 24, Monday
Faculty on duty.

August 26-28, Wednesday-Friday
Registration for new students.

August 27, Thursday
First meal, breakfast, served in residence halls.

August 28, Friday
Last day to register without penalty.

August 31, Monday
Classes begin.

August 31-September 3, Monday-Thursday
Student-initiated drop-add.

September 7, Monday
Labor Day. University holiday.

September 14, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to file statement of intention to graduate with the Graduate School.

September 16, Wednesday
Last day to drop a course and receive a full refund.

September 28, Monday
Last day to withdraw from the University and receive a partial refund.

October 1, Thursday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to pay binding fee at Student Business Services.

October 12, Monday
Last day to declare pass-fail intentions. Last day to drop a course and receive an automatic W.

October 26, Monday
5 p.m., midsemester grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office. Last day for degree candidates and faculty to order invitations and academic regalia at the Bookstore.

November 5-20, Thursday-Friday
Advance registration (currently enrolled students) for spring semester.

November 11, Wednesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School final defense reports.

November 16, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to remove grades of I, PR, or CR and for master's candidates to submit final comprehensive examination reports. Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the official version of theses and dissertations.

November 23, Monday
Last day to drop a course, transfer between colleges, or withdraw from the University. Last day for undergraduate degree candidates to remove grades of I and PR and to complete final examinations in correspondence courses. Open registration begins.

November 25-29, Wednesday-Sunday
Thanksgiving holiday.

November 30, Monday
Classes resume.

December 3-9, Thursday-Wednesday
Period of no examinations except for make-up exams or scheduled lab exams.

December 9, Wednesday
Last day of classes.

December 10, Thursday
Individual study day.

December 11-16, Friday-Wednesday
Final examinations for the fall semester.

December 16, Wednesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the final (corrected) copies of theses and dissertations. Fall semester ends.

December 17, Thursday
Last meal, breakfast, served in residence halls. 10 a.m., residence halls close. Noon, grade rolls for graduating students due in the Registrar's Office.

December 19, Saturday
Commencement. Degree candidates may occupy rooms until noon.

December 21, Monday
Noon, final grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office.

Spring 1999

January 10, Sunday
10 a.m., residence halls open for occupancy.

January 11, Monday
Faculty on duty.

January 13-15, Wednesday-Friday
Registration for new students.

January 15, Friday
Last day to register without penalty. First meal, breakfast, served in residence halls.

January 18, Monday
Martin Luther King Jr. day. University holiday.

January 19, Tuesday
Classes begin.

January 19-22, Tuesday-Friday
Student-initiated drop-add.

February 1, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to file statement of intention to graduate with the Graduate School.

February 3, Wednesday
Last day to drop a course and receive a full refund.

February 15, Monday
Last day to withdraw from the University and receive a partial refund.

February 22, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to pay binding fee at Student Business Services.

March 1, Monday
Last day to declare pass-fail intentions. Last day to drop a course and receive an automatic W.

March 11, Thursday
5 p.m., midsemester grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office. Last day for degree candidates and faculty to order invitations and academic regalia at the Bookstore.

March 13, Saturday
Noon, classes dismissed for spring vacation.

March 22, Monday
Classes resume.

April 5, Monday
Day of no classes.

April 6-22, Tuesday-Thursday
Advance registration (currently enrolled students) for summer and fall.

April 7, Wednesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School final defense reports.

April 12, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to remove grades of I, PR, or CR and for master's candidates to submit final comprehensive examination reports. Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the official version of theses and dissertations.

April 22, Thursday
Open registration begins. Last day to drop a course, transfer between colleges, or withdraw from the University. Last day for undergraduate degree candidates to remove grades of I and PR and to complete final examinations in correspondence courses.

April 29-May 5, Thursday-Wednesday
Period of no examinations except for make-up exams or scheduled lab exams.

May 5, Wednesday
Last day of classes.

May 6, Thursday
Individual study day.

May 7-12, Friday-Wednesday
Final examinations for the spring semester.

May 12, Wednesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the final (corrected) copies of theses and dissertations. Spring semester ends.

May 13, Thursday
Last meal, breakfast, served in residence halls. 10 a.m., residence halls close. Degree candidates may occupy rooms until Saturday, May 15. Noon, grade rolls for graduating students due in the Registrar's Office.

May 15, Saturday
Commencement.

May 17, Monday
Noon, final grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office.






Return to Home Page

Page Maintained by: Cheryl Hedlund

Page Administrator: Gale Richardson

LAST UPDATE: 6-1-98