Texas Tech University Calendar
1999-2000

Summer 1999

Intersession at Junction

May 13-27, Thursday-Thursday

Classes held at Junction Center campus for Intersession.

First Term

May 23, Sunday
Noon, residence halls open for occupancy.

May 24, Monday
Registration for new students. Last day to register without penalty. First meal, breakfast, served in residence halls.

May 25, Tuesday
Classes begin.

May 25-26, Tuesday-Wednesday
Student-initiated drop-add.

May 28, Friday
Last day to drop a course and receive a full refund.

May 31, Monday
Memorial Day. University Holiday.

June 1, Tuesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to file statement of intention to graduate with the Graduate School.

June 10, Thursday
Last day to declare pass-fail intentions. Last day to drop a course and receive an automatic W.

June 12, Saturday
Scheduled class day.

June 18, Friday
Last day for degree candidates and faculty to order invitations and academic regalia at the Bookstore.

June 25, Friday
Last day to drop a course, transfer between colleges, or withdraw from the University.

June 30, Wednesday
Last day of classes.

July 1, Thursday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to pay binding fee at Student Business Services.

July 1-2, Thursday-Friday
Final examinations for the first term.

July 2, Friday
First summer term ends.

July 3, Saturday
Students without room reservations for the second term must vacate residence hall rooms by 10 a.m.

July 6, Tuesday
9 a.m., final grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office.

Second Term

July 5, Monday
10 a.m., residence halls open to new occupants. Registration for new students. Last day to register without penalty.

July 6, Tuesday
Classes begin.

July 6-7, Tuesday-Wednesday
Student-initiated drop-add.

July 9, Friday
Last day to drop a course and receive a full refund.

July 16, Friday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to remove grades of I, PR, or CR and to submit final comprehensive examination and defense reports.

July 20, Tuesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the official version of theses and dissertations.

July 21, Wednesday
Last day to declare pass-fail intentions. Last day to drop a course and receive an automatic W.

August 6, Friday
Last day to drop a course, transfer between colleges, or withdraw from the University.

August 10, Tuesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the final (corrected) copies of theses and dissertations.

August 11, Wednesday
Last day of classes.

August 12-13, Thursday-Friday
Final examinations for the second term.

August 13, Friday
Last meal served in residence halls Thursday evening. Second summer term ends.

August 14, Saturday
Commencement. 10 a.m., residence halls close.

August 16, Monday
9 a.m., final grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office.

Fall 1999

August 22, Sunday
10 a.m., residence halls open for occupancy.

August 23, Monday
Faculty on duty.

August 25-27, Wednesday-Friday
Registration for new students.

August 26, Thursday
First meal, breakfast, served in residence halls.

August 27, Friday
Last day to register without penalty.

August 30, Monday
Classes begin.

August 30-September 2, Monday-Thursday
Student-initiated drop-add.

September 6, Monday
Labor Day. University holiday.

September 13, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to file statement of intention to graduate with the Graduate School.

September 15, Wednesday
Last day to drop a course and receive a full refund.

September 27, Monday
Last day to withdraw from the University and receive a partial refund.

October 1, Friday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to pay binding fee at Student Business Services.

October 11, Monday
Last day to declare pass-fail intentions. Last day to drop a course and receive an automatic W.

October 25, Monday
5 p.m., midsemester grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office. Last day for degree candidates and faculty to order invitations and academic regalia at the Bookstore.

November 4-22, Thursday-Monday
Advance registration (currently enrolled students) for spring semester.

November 10, Wednesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School final defense reports.

November 15, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to remove grades of I, PR, or CR and for master's candidates to submit final comprehensive examination reports. Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the official version of theses and dissertations.

November 24-28, Wednesday-Sunday
Thanksgiving holiday.

November 29, Monday
Classes resume. Open registration begins.

December 2-8, Thursday-Wednesday
Period of no examinations except for make-up exams or scheduled lab exams.

December 3, Friday
Last day to drop a course, transfer between colleges, or withdraw from the University. Last day for undergraduate degree candidates to remove grades of I and PR and to complete final examinations in correspondence courses.

December 8, Wednesday
Last day of classes.

December 9, Thursday
Individual study day.

December 10-15, Friday-Wednesday
Final examinations for the fall semester.

December 15, Wednesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the final (corrected) copies of theses and dissertations. Fall semester ends.

December 16, Thursday
Last meal, breakfast, served in residence halls. 10 a.m., residence halls close. Noon, grade rolls for graduating students due in the Registrar's Office.

December 18, Saturday
Commencement. Degree candidates may occupy rooms until noon.

December 20, Monday
Noon, final grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office.

Spring 2000

January 9, Sunday
10 a.m., residence halls open for occupancy.

January 10, Monday
Faculty on duty.

January 12-14, Wednesday-Friday
Registration for new students.

January 14, Friday
Last day to register without penalty. First meal, breakfast, served in residence halls.

January 17, Monday
Martin Luther King Jr. day. University holiday.

January 18, Tuesday
Classes begin.

January 18-21, Tuesday-Friday
Student-initiated drop-add.

January 31, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to file statement of intention to graduate with the Graduate School.

February 2, Wednesday
Last day to drop a course and receive a full refund.

February 14, Monday
Last day to withdraw from the University and receive a partial refund.

February 21, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to pay binding fee at Student Business Services.

February 28, Monday
Last day to declare pass-fail intentions. Last day to drop a course and receive an automatic W.

March 9, Thursday
5 p.m., midsemester grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office. Last day for degree candidates and faculty to order invitations and academic regalia at the Bookstore.

March 11, Saturday
Noon, classes dismissed for spring vacation.

March 20, Monday
Classes resume.

April 4-20, Tuesday-Thursday
Advance registration (currently enrolled students) for summer and fall.

April 5, Wednesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School final defense reports.

April 10, Monday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to remove grades of I, PR, or CR and for master's candidates to submit final comprehensive examination reports. Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the official version of theses and dissertations.

April 24, Monday
Day of no classes.

April 25, Tuesday
Open registration begins.

April 27-May 3, Thursday-Wednesday
Period of no examinations except for make-up exams or scheduled lab exams.

April 28, Friday
Last day to drop a course, transfer between colleges, or withdraw from the University. Last day for undergraduate degree candidates to remove grades of I and PR and to complete final examinations in correspondence courses.

May 3, Wednesday
Last day of classes.

May 4, Thursday
Individual study day.

May 5-10, Friday-Wednesday
Final examinations for the spring semester.

May 10, Wednesday
Last day for graduate degree candidates to submit to the Graduate School the final (corrected) copies of theses and dissertations. Spring semester ends.

May 11, Thursday
Last meal, breakfast, served in residence halls. 10 a.m., residence halls close. Degree candidates may occupy rooms until Saturday, May 13. Noon, grade rolls for graduating students due in the Registrar's Office.

May 13, Saturday
Commencement.

May 15, Monday
Noon, final grade rolls due in the Registrar's Office.



Return to Home Page

Page Maintained by: Cheryl Hedlund

Page Administrator: Gale Richardson

LAST UPDATE: 11-15-99