Summary of Student Expenses
The following estimates are based on a semester class credit hour academic schedule of 15 hours. Please remember that additional expenses such as classroom materials or other items might be required and are not included in the estimates below:
|Resident Tuition||$ 570.00||$ 570.00|
|Tuition (Adjacent County of New Mexico,|
|Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana)||570.00||570.00|
|Tuition (Nonadjacent County of New Mexico,|
|Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana)||1,020.00||1,020.00|
|University Center Fee||30.00||30.00|
|Information Technology Fee||90.00||90.00|
|Medical Services Fee||52.00||52.00|
|Student Services Fee||123.00||123.00|
|ID Card Maintenance Fee||2.50||2.50|
|International Education Fee||1.00||1.00|
|Property Deposit (New Student)||10.00|
|Books and Incidentals||550.00||550.00|
|Total (Texas Resident)||$2,158.50||$2,148.50|
|Total (Adjacent County of New Mexico,|
|Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana)||2,158.50||2,148.50|
|Total (Nonadjacent County of New Mexico,|
|Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana)||2,608.50||2,598.50|
For estimated costs, including residence hall room and board, add charges for the respective residence hall in the section entitled "Room and Board Rates."
Application Fees are as follows:
Undergraduate (U.S. Citizen)--$25
Graduate (U.S. Citizen)--25
Foreign (Undergraduate and Graduate)--50
Tuition and Fee Payment Information
Texas Tech University reserves the right, without notice in this or any other publication, to change, amend, add to, or otherwise alter any or all fees, dues, rates, or other charges set forth herein by action of the Board of Regents of Texas Tech University, Texas State Legislature, or other authority as the case may be.
Texas Tech University reserves the right to deny credit for course work completed in any semester or term and/or registration in a future term or semester for unpaid balances. This also includes the release of official academic transcripts.
Installment payment plans are not available for summer terms and failure to make payment in full when due may result in cancellation of enrollment. Registration is not complete and enrollment is not official until tuition and fees are paid.
Spring and Fall Semesters
An installment payment (option) plan is available for the fall and spring semesters. The following payment schedule applies:
Option 1: Payment in full of the current amount due.
Option 2: Initial payment of no less than one-half of the current amount due, the next one-fourth before the beginning of the sixth class week, and the final one-fourth due before the beginning of the eleventh class week.
Students who choose to pay by installment option 2 will be charged an installment option fee of $10 on the second installment billing.
Tuition for Texas Residents Other Than the School of Law. State tuition for each summer term is $36 per semester credit hour for the summer 1999 terms with the total charges not less than a minimum state tuition rate of $60. State resident tuition for the fall 1999 semester is $38 per semester credit hour with the total charges not less than a minimum state tuition of $120.
Tuition for Nonresident Students Other Than the School of Law and Graduate Students from the States of New Mexico or Oklahoma. State tuition is $254 per semester credit hour.
Tuition for Nonresident Undergraduate Students Living in Counties Adjacent to Texas Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana. State tuition is $36 per semester credit hour for each 1999 summer term and $38 per semester credit hour for the fall 1999 semester.
Tuition for Nonresident Undergraduate Students Living in Counties NOT Adjacent to Texas Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana. State tuition is $66 per semester credit hour for each 1999 summer term and $68 per semester credit hour for the fall 1999 semester.
Tuition for Texas Residents of the School of Law. State tuition is $160 per semester credit hour.
Tuition for Nonresidents of the School of Law. State tuition is $329 per semester credit hour.
Tuition for Nonresident Graduate Students Living in a County Adjacent to Texas Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana. State tuition is $254 per semester credit hour.
Tuition Rate for Excess Undergraduate Credit Hours. Senate Bill 1907, enacted by the Texas Legislature in 1997, mandates that a resident student who has previously attempted 170 or more semester credit hours may be charged a higher tuition rate not to exceed the rate charged to a nonresident student. Students who have attempted 170 or more semester credit hours without completing a degree by August 1999 may be affected.
Graduate Program Tuition Rates. Students enrolling in graduate level courses will be charged a per-credit-hour tuition rate in addition to the current state resident tuition rate. Rates will be set by the college offering the course. Rates in addition to state tuition are as follows:
|Summer 1999||Fall 1999|
|Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources||$36||$38|
|Arts and Sciences:|
|Theatre and Dance, Public Administration||23||25|
|All other Arts and Sciences||21||23|
|Other Graduate Programs||23||25|
General Fees and Penalties
All fees and penalties are mandatory and are authorized by State statute or Texas Tech University Board of Regents authority.
Late Payment Penalty. $25 per due date charged the first working day following the due date.
Late Registration Fee. $25 charged to registrations after classes have begun.
Returned Check Charge. $25 assessed for each check returned from the bank. A returned check for initial payment of tuition and fees may result in cancellation of enrollment. Responsibility rests with the student regardless of the maker of the check.
Post Census Day Matriculation Fee. $100 charged for a registration or reregistration after the fourth class day of a summer term or the twelfth class day of a spring or fall semester. Includes reregistration in the event of cancellation.
University Center Fee. $30 charged for enrollment of 3 semester credit hours or more.
Institutional Tuition. $36 per semester credit hour for the summer 1999 terms and $38 per semester credit hour for the fall 1999 semester.
Information Technology Fee. $6 per semester credit hour.
Laboratory Fee. Not less than $2 per semester credit hour with a maximum charge of $30 for each applicable course.
Library Fee. $2 per semester credit hour.
Medical Services Fee. $26 per summer term, $52 in a fall or spring semester.
Medical Services Fee-Elect to Pay. Students enrolled for fewer than 4 credit hours in a spring or fall semester or 4 credit hours in a summer term may elect to pay for medical services. Forms and information are available at Student Business Services, 163 Drane Hall.
Student Services Fee. $10.30 per semester or term credit hour with a maximum charge of $123.
Each student is required to pay a Student Services Fee based on the number of semester credit hours for which he or she is enrolled. The required fee and the services to which the student is then entitled are as follows:
|Credit Hours Enrolled||Required Fee||For Services of|
|1||$10.30||Learning Center Services|
|Law School Student Government|
|Student Organization Advisement|
|Student Government Association|
|Health Sciences Center Student |
|University Counseling Center|
|Attorney for Students|
|Career Planning and Placement|
|Texas Tech Band|
|Dean of Students Programs|
|Multicultural Services Center|
|4||41.20||All Group 1 Services|
|6||61.80||Texas Tech Choral Organizations|
|7||72.10||Texas Tech Symphony Orchestra|
|8||82.40||Campus Transportation System|
|9||92.70||All Group 1 and 2 Services|
|12 or more||123.00||All Group 1, 2, and 3 Services|
|Recreational Services (Intramurals,|
|Facilities, Aquatic Center, Sports Clubs)|
*Students required to pay for Group 1 services may, at their option, elect to pay $82.40 for Group 2 services, $113.30 for Group 3 services, or $123 for Group 4 services.
**Students required to pay for Group 2 services may, at their option, elect to pay $113.30 for Group 3 services or $123 for Group 4 services.
***Students required to pay for Group 3 services may, at their option, elect to pay $123 for Group 4 services.
Student Services Fee-Elect to Pay. Students who enroll for fewer than 12 semester credit hours in the fall or spring semester (4 hours in a summer term) may elect to pay for a higher level of student services. Forms and information are available at Student Business Services, 163 Drane Hall.
Property Deposit. $10 charged upon initial enrollment. Student may request a refund or designate a donation upon graduation or separation from Texas Tech University.
Diploma Fee. The cost of a diploma will be funded by Texas Tech University.
Diploma Replacement Fee. $16 for printing and mailing a replacement diploma.
Diploma Insertion Fee. $2 (reapplication for graduation).
Identification Card Maintenance Fee. $2.50 charged each term or semester.
Identification Card Replacement Fee. $10.
Identification Card Revalidation Fee. $5.
International Education Fee. $1 charged each term or semester.
International Student Fee. $30 charged to each nonimmigrant international student each enrollment.
Course Fee. $3 minimum per course with a maximum charge of $45 per course.
Music Fees for Private Instruction. An additional fee is charged at the time of registration for individual instruction in voice, piano, strings, and wind instruments for enrollment in the following courses: Applied Music 1001, 1002, 2001, 2002, 3001, 3002, 4001, 4002, and 5001 (1 semester credit hour, $15) (2 or more semester credit hours, $30).
Auditing Fee. Students enrolled for fewer than 12 semester credit hours in a spring or fall semester must pay a $10 fee for the privilege of auditing a course. Written permission from the dean of the college in which the course is being taught and from the course instructor is required. No charge is assessed for enrollment of 12 or more semester credit hours. (Senior citizens 65 years of age and older are exempt from payment of this fee regardless of the semester credit hours).
Parking Fee. A fee is required for all vehicles parked on campus. A schedule of these fees may be obtained from Traffic and Parking.
Tuition and fee payment information is printed on the student's schedule of classes at the time of registration. It is the student's responsibility to ensure that payments are made by the due dates.
Billing Address. Students generally have their tuition and fee billing sent to their permanent legal address. However, should the student desire, a special billing address may be requested at Student Business Services, 163 Drane Hall.
Refund Check Mailing Address. Student may elect to have a refund check mailed to an address of their choice by requesting a Refund Check Mailing Address Form at Student Business Services, 163 Drane Hall.
Other Addresses. All other addresses should be handled through the Registrar's Office in West Hall.
IT IS THE STUDENT'S RESPONSIBILITY TO MAINTAIN CORRECT AND CURRENT ADDRESSES. THE UNIVERSITY ACCEPTS NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR BILLINGS, REFUND CHECKS, OR OTHER INFORMATION SENT TO INCORRECT ADDRESSES OR DIFFICULTIES CAUSED BY THE POSTAL SERVICE OR OTHER DELIVERY SERVICES.
Financial Aid Awards
Students should contact the Financial Aid Office regarding financial aid awards and how they will be applied to their tuition and fee account. Financial aid checks will be disbursed during the first week of classes in Student Business Services, 163 Drane Hall, unless otherwise notified by Financial Aid. A VALID TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY-ISSUED PICTURE ID IS REQUIRED FOR ALL DISBURSEMENTS.
Student Financial Assistance
The objective of the student financial aid program at Texas Tech is to provide financial assistance to students who, without such aid, would not be able to pursue higher education. The financial assistance offered at Texas Tech is in various forms, including loans, scholarships, grants, and employment, and is awarded to students on the basis of financial need and other qualifications required by the donors of the funds. Need is defined as the difference between a reasonable expected expense to attend Texas Tech and the amount of money reasonably available to the student from all sources. No student or prospective student shall be excluded from participating in or be denied the benefits of any financial aid program at Texas Tech on the grounds of race, color, national origin, religion, or sex. Although qualifications required for each financial aid program may differ, the general requirements for financial assistance at Texas Tech are that the student must be enrolled for at least one-half the normal academic load, be in good academic standing with the University, and be in need of financial assistance.
The University participates in the following financial assistance programs:
Perkins Student Loan
Hinson-Hazlewood College Student Loan
Parent Loans for Undergraduate Students
College Work-Study Program
Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants
Texas Public Education Grants
Texas Public Education-State Student Incentive Grants
Student Part-time Employment
In addition to these federal and state supported programs, Texas Tech administers numerous private loan funds and scholarships.
Although no strict deadlines have been established for applications for most financial aid programs at Texas Tech, preference is given to applications completed by April 15 for the fall semester, by October 1 for the spring semester, and by March 1 for the summer session. Applications completed after these dates will be considered, but no guarantee can be given that the funds will be available when needed. Deadline for scholarship applications is March 1, and they are listed in the Scholarships and Financial Aid publication.
Federal regulations require that all financial aid recipients are maintaining satisfactory academic progress. According to the standards and practices at Texas Tech University, effective July 1, 1989, the following guidelines will be applied in determining satisfactory progress.
All undergraduate and law student aid recipients must have a 2.00 cumulative grade-point average (GPA) and for graduate students, a 3.00 cumulative GPA.
If the student's cumulative GPA falls below 2.00 (Graduate3.00), the student will be given one semester probation.
If a student earns a 2.00 GPA (G3.00) during a semester he or she is on probation but fails to raise the cumulative GPA to a 2.00 (G3.00) or better, he or she will continue on probation as long as the current GPA of 2.00 (G3.00) is maintained and until such time as his or her cumulative GPA meets the requirements.
If at the end of any probationary semester the student does not have a 2.00 (G3.00) current or cumulative GPA, the student will not receive future financial aid until a 2.00 (G3.00) cumulative GPA has been obtained.
All students enrolling at Texas Tech for the first time (including transfers) will not be denied aid based on their enrollment status. However, all financial aid recipients must meet the requirements for satisfactory progress to continue on aid.
In addition to maintaining the overall GPA, a student must be making reasonable academic progress. Therefore, after completion of 60 hours attempted, a student must have earned at least 75 percent of all hours attempted at Texas Tech to remain on financial aid.
Full-time graduate students will be eligible to receive aid for six semesters. Part-time students are extended proportionately. Semesters are based on attendance whether the student received financial aid or not.
A nondegree student is eligible to receive financial aid for only a 12-month period.
Summer school is considered as a semester.
Financial aid recipients or applicants whose aid has been canceled or denied as a result of failure to meet the required standards may be reinstated under the following conditions:
a. a student must regain a 2.00 cumulative GPA (G3.00)
b. after 60 hours, a student must have completed and earned 75 percent of the hours attempted
c. students are expected to complete their program of study within 150 percent of the number of hours required for that degree program
d. students wishing to appeal their loss of aid may do so in writing to the Financial Aid Appeals Committee. Forms are available in the Financial Aid Office. Appeals may be made under hardship based on (1) the death of a relative of the student, (2) personal injury or illness of the student, or (3) special circumstances as determined by the institution. Documentation is required (ex. death certificates or notice, medical bills, also notes from an instructor or PASS showing effort made to make up work in the course).
Inquiries concerning student financial assistance should be sent to the Office of Student Financial Aid, Box 45011, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas 79409-5011. Information about the graduate fellowships, traineeships, and scholarships may be secured from the Graduate School.
Payment of Fees
Payment may be made in cash, personal check, cashier's check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, or Discover Card. Checks should be made payable to Texas Tech University. All payments made other than cash are subject to final acceptance for payment.
Mailing Payments. Cash should not be sent through the mail and Texas Tech University accepts no responsibility for cash sent through the mail. Payments should be sent to Texas Tech University, Student Business Services, Box 41099, Lubbock, Texas 79409. Payments should be mailed far enough in advance so as to reach Student Business Services by the due date.
Telephone Credit Card Payments. Credit card payments may be made by calling 806-742-3272. Please call between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Fax Credit Card Payments. Credit card payments may be made by faxing payment to 806-742-0445. Please fax credit card payments between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Friday. Texas Tech University accepts no responsibility for credit card payments faxed after these hours.
Refund of Tuition and Fees
Change in Class Schedule. Any refund as a result of class change will be processed and mailed no later than the 35th class day of a spring or fall semester or the 20th class day of a summer term. The class change refund amount will be in accordance with the following:
1st class day through 4th class day--100%
After the 4th class day--None
STUDENTS WHO DROP THEIR CLASS ENROLLMENT TO ZERO CREDIT HOURS FOR A SUMMER TERM SHOULD REFER TO THE WITHDRAWAL SCHEDULE BELOW.
Withdrawal. Students withdrawing at their request or those who have been withdrawn due to University action may be eligible to receive a refund of paid tuition and fees. The student will be required to pay tuition and fees according to the following schedule:
Before the 1st class day--None
1st, 2nd, 3rd, class day--20%
4th, 5th, 6th, class day--50%
7th class day or after--100%
Fall and Spring Semesters
1st class day through the 12th class day--100%
After the 12th class day--None
STUDENTS WHO DROP THEIR CLASS ENROLLMENT TO ZERO CREDIT HOURS FOR A FALL OR SPRING SEMESTER SHOULD REFER TO THE WITHDRAWAL SCHEDULE BELOW.
Withdrawal. Students withdrawing at their request or those who have been withdrawn due to University action may be eligible to receive a refund of paid tuition and fees. The student will be required to pay tuition and fees according to the following schedule:
Before the 1st class day--None
1st five class days--20%
2nd five class days--30%
3rd five class days--50%
4th five class days--75%
21st class day and after--100%
Any refund due to a student will be after calculation of the amount of tuition and fees due. If the student has paid less than the amount due at the time of withdrawal the student will be required to pay the balance of that amount.
Refund Policy. All refunds, other than financial aid checks, will be mailed no later than the 35th class day of a spring or fall semester or the 20th class day of a summer term.
Exemptions and Waivers
All exemptions or waivers have been authorized by statute in the Education Code or through Texas Tech University Board of Regents action.
Texas Tech University reserves the right to apply exemptions and waivers after the census day (12th class day of a spring or fall semester or the 4th class day of a summer term). Also, Texas Tech University reserves the right to audit any exemption or waiver prior to application to a student's tuition and fee account.
Refunds will be mailed according to the refund schedule printed in this publication.
Academic Common Market. Exempts nonresident tuition over and above Texas resident tuition rate. Certification by Academic Common Market Coordinator is required.
AFDC Students. Exempts a student from payment of tuition and fees for the first academic year of enrollment. Certification is required from the Department of Protective and Regulatory Services.
Blind Students. Exempts a student from payment of all dues, fees, and charges excluding charges for lodging, board, and clothing. Certification is required from an appropriate medical specialist (optometrist). Students may be required to be recertified each semester or term by a University authority.
Biomedical Research Program: Scholarship Student. Exempts nonresident or foreign tuition over and above Texas resident tuition rate. Documentation is required through the Office of International Affairs.
Children of Disabled Firemen. Exempts a student from payment of tuition and all fees except property deposit. Certification by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.
Children of Disabled Peace Officers. Exempts a student from payment of tuition and all fees except property deposit. Certification by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.
Children of Prisoners of War or Persons Missing in Action. Exempts a student from payment of Texas resident tuition and all fees except property deposit. Certification by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.
Competitive Scholarship. Exempts a student from payment of nonresident or foreign tuition over and above resident tuition. Student must be awarded a competitive scholarship of at least $1,000 for the academic year or summer of their enrollment and be either a nonresident or citizen of a country other than the United States. Student must compete with other students including Texas residents and the award must be made through a duly recognized scholarship committee. Certification is sent to Student Business Services from the Financial Aid Office.
Concurrent Enrollment. Charges a student minimum tuition charges over and above per credit hour rate. Student must present certification of enrollment at institution of public higher education.
Deaf Students. Exempts a student from payment of all dues, fees, and charges excluding charges for lodging, board, and clothing. Certification by Texas Rehabilitation Commission, Texas Commission for the Blind, or the Texas Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing is required.
Early High School Graduate. Exempts a student from payment of tuition up to and not to exceed a cumulative total of $1,000. Certification from Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.
Economic Development and Diversification Employees, Spouses, and Dependents. Exempts a student from payment of nonresident or foreign tuition over and above resident tuition rate. A listing of eligible companies is provided by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. Students must provide employment certification accordingly.
Educational Aid Exemption. Exempts a student from payment of all fees, dues, and charges except charges for class and laboratory fees. Student must apply for this exemption through Financial Aid Office with certification provided by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
Faculty Exemption (Teacher or Professor). Exempts a student from payment of nonresident or foreign tuition over and above state resident rate. Certification by employing department is required.
Faculty Dependent (Nonresident Dependent of a Teacher or Professor). Exempts a student from payment of nonresident or foreign tuition over and above state resident rate. Certification by employing department is required.
Foster Care. Exempts a student from payment of tuition and fees. Must be a Texas resident. Certification from Department of Protective and Regulatory Services is required.
Good Neighbor (Students from Other Nations of the Western Hemisphere). Exempts a student from payment of 100% of foreign tuition including amount equal to state resident tuition rate. Certification through the Office of International Affairs is required.
Hazelwood Act. Exempts a student from payment of tuition and fees except Student Services Fee and Medical Services Fee and charges for class materials paid directly to the department as a reimbursement for materials used in a laboratory setting. Certification by Registrar's Office is required.
Hazelwood Act (Partial Hazelwood). Certification by the Registrar's Office is required. The amount exempted will be that amount calculated after the application of federal aid which the student must use first.
Individual Studies. Waives payment of student services fee, University Center fee, and medical services fee. Student must be enrolled only for those courses which because of the nature of the course will not permit the student to avail themselves of these services. All courses in which the student is enrolled must meet these criteria and be certified by the Office of the Provost.
Junction. Waives student services fee, University Center fee, medical services fee, property deposit, and ID card maintenance fee for main campus. These are billed separately by the Junction Center.
Mexico and Canada Exchange Program. Exempts a student from payment of foreign tuition over and above state resident tuition rate. Certification by the Office of International Affairs is required.
Mexico Student Pilot Program (Needy Student from Mexico). Exempts a student form payment of foreign tuition over and above state resident tuition rate. Certification by the Office of International Affairs is required.
Military Personnel and Dependents. Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition over and above state resident tuition rate. Application must be made through Admissions Office. Certification by Unit Commander or Unit Personnel Officer is required. A separate certification is required, in original form, with original signature, for each semester or term of enrollment.
Off-Campus. Waives student services fee, University Center fee, medical services fee, property deposit, and ID card maintenance fee. Student MUST be registered in ONLY those courses which, because of their nature, will not permit the student to avail themselves of these services. If student is enrolled in a course requiring attendance on campus, this waiver does not apply. Certification by the Office of the Provost is required.
Senior Citizens (55 Years of Age and Older). Exempts a student from payment of up to 6 semester or term credit hours of state resident or nonresident tuition. Student must be 55 years of age or older by the first class day. Notification should be given to Student Business Services at time of enrollment.
Senior Citizens (65 Years of Age and Older). Exempts a student from payment of up to 6 semester or term credit hours of state resident tuition. Student must be 65 years of age or older by the first class day. Notification should be given to Student Business Services at time of enrollment.
Special Field Trips. Waives student services fee, University Center fee, medical services fee, property deposit, and ID card maintenance fee. Student MUST be registered in ONLY those courses which, because of their nature, will not permit the student to avail themselves of these services. Certification by the Office of the Provost is required.
Teaching Assistant, Research Assistant, Graduate Part-Time Instructor (Grandfathered Students). Exempts, by state statute, a student from payment of nonresident or foreign tuition over and above state resident tuition rate, and waives, by Texas Tech University Board of Regents action, institutional tuition, University Center fee, student services fee, and medical services fee. A grandfathered student is a student who was employed at least one-half time as a TA, RA, GPTI, or who has begun graduate study prior to the fall 1998 semester and is continuously enrolled as a graduate student for the fall and spring semesters. A grandfathered student does not have to be employed in the fall 1998 semester but, if he or she started in the summer of 1998, unemployed, and is employed in the fall 1998, he or she will be eligible to receive the waiver. Student must be employed on or before the 12th class day of a spring or fall semester or the 4th class day of a summer term. Definition of classification of employment is per University pay plan.
Teaching Assistant, Research Assistant, Graduate Part-Time Instructor (Nongrandfathered Students). Exempts a student from payment of nonresident or foreign tuition over and above state resident tuition rate.
Teaching Assistant, Research Assistant, Graduate Part-Time Instructor Dependents. Exempts a student from payment of nonresident or foreign tuition over and above state resident tuition rate. Certification from the employing department is required.
Texas National Guard or ROTC Students. Exempts a student from payment of all dues, fees, and enrollment charges including correspondence courses, property deposit, and student services fees but does not include fees for lodging, board, or clothing. Qualification through local ROTC Unit is required.
Valedictorian (Highest Ranking High School Graduate). Exempts a student from payment of 100% of state resident tuition during both semesters of the first regular session immediately following graduation from high school. Documentation must be provided to Student Business Services.
Freshman Residence Hall Policy. Residence hall living is a key component to the success of all students. National research indicates that students living in residence halls maintain higher grade-point averages and are more likely to complete their degree plan within five years than students who live off campus. Additionally, the University feels that students will have their best opportunity for a well-rounded educational experience while living in a supervised residence hall designed for student living.
The current University residence hall policy requires students having fewer than 30 hours of academic credit prior to the beginning of the first semester of enrollment to live on campus unless exempted by the Department of Housing and Dining Services. The on-campus residency policy applies when a student is registered for two or more courses.
Requests for exemptions to the residence hall policy must be submitted to the Department of Housing and Dining Services no later than June 1 for fall enrollment; December 1 for spring enrollment; or May 1 for summer enrollment. Registration for classes may be delayed pending verification of housing. Because of unforeseen changes in a student's circumstances due to illness or other personal reasons, some petitions are considered after the above dates. Students are encouraged to discuss such developments with the department at any time. Unless it is clearly established that illness or personal reasons that were not known prior to the above dates have arisen to necessitate a student's living off campus, students should not expect to be relieved of their academic-year residence hall obligations.
Subject to verification and authorization by the Department of Housing and Dining Services, students will be given permission to live off campus provided:
1.The student resides and will continue to reside in the established household of his or her parents.
2.The student presents evidence of financial hardship conditions and is living in the established household of a brother, sister, grandparent, uncle, or aunt. In the event the individual with whom the student lives changes residence, the student shall promptly notify the Department of Housing and Dining Services.
3.The student is married or a single parent with dependent child(ren) living with the student.
4.The student is 21 years of age or older on or before the first day of class of the initial semester of enrollment.
5.The student has successfully completed 30 or more semester hours of academic credit before the beginning of the initial semester of enrollment or has lived in University residence halls for two regular semesters.
6.The student has served in the military service as verified by a discharge certificate (DD214).
7.The student has a health problem as verified by a physician which precludes living in the residence halls.
8.The student presents evidence of an extreme hardship which will be intensified by living in the residence halls.
Any one of the eight exemption categories will be sufficient. Evidence of deliberate falsification of information, data, or any materials submitted or providing false or erroneous information in connection with an application for on-campus housing exemption shall be grounds for taking disciplinary action against the student in accordance with the Code of Student Conduct.
Any student wishing to move from the residence halls should consult the Residence Hall Contract for the provisions applicable to cancellation of the contract. Authorization for off-campus housing does not relieve the student of contractual obligations that may have been assumed with the University for housing in the residence halls.
It is the responsibility of the student to file a change of address form or correct any information regarding place of residence with the Office of Admissions and Records. Failure to do so will be considered cause for disciplinary action.
Residence Hall Reservations. Residence halls, like all other services and facilities of Texas Tech, are available to all students regardless of race, creed, national origin, age, sex, or disability. Application for admission to the University and application for residence hall accommodations are separate transactions. The Admissions Office mails a housing application and brochure when a student applies for admission to the University. Applications for housing are accepted up to 1 year in advance of enrollment in the University. Students may apply for housing before being admitted to the University.
To receive a higher priority for room assignment, all students are encouraged to submit the Residence Hall Application specifying their preferred hall choices as early as possible. The date the application is received determines the priority for room assignment. Space in the University residence halls is reserved on a first-come, first-served basis. All students who apply for accommodations in the residence halls and are accepted sign a Residence Hall Contract for the full academic year. A contract will be mailed to new students after the application and required fees have been received. Students and parents are urged to read the Residence Hall Contract carefully.
Room and roommate assignments for new students are made in June after the continuing students in the residence halls have completed reassignments for the following year. Roommate requests are granted when space is available, if the request is mutual and if both applications are received at or about the same time. Other specific requests (building, type of room, etc.) will be considered when space is available.
Students should contact the Housing Office in writing if cancellation of the application becomes necessary. Information relating to cancellation is included with the housing application and is outlined in the Residence Hall Contract.
All unclaimed rooms in the residence halls will be declared vacant at 8 a.m. on the first day of classes. Students who enroll at the University but fail to claim their assigned residence hall room will be subject to the cancellation provisions stated in the section "Termination of Contract During Occupancy" of the Residence Hall Contract.
Residence Halls Facilities and Services. The Texas Tech residence hall system includes a variety of living options and provides convenient and affordable housing for approximately 5,500 students. Special interest housingincluding Honors, Intensive Study, Nonsmoking, and Upperclass areasprovides students with the opportunity to live with others of similar interests. The all-new Carpenter/Wells Complex arranged in three-bedroom townhouses or four bedroom flats offer private bedrooms in an apartment setting. Gaston HallApartments and Doak Hall offer upperclass students separate living areas. Gordon Hall, a suite-style residence, is designated as the Honors Residence Hall.
Ethernet computer connections and a private telephone line are available for each resident. Other services include basic cable television service, local telephone service, coin-operated laundry and vending machines, and desk services.
An experienced and trained staff of Residence Life Directors and Resident Assistants manages each residence hall. Each residence hall office provides assistance to residents with concerns, including maintenance requests, room and roommate assignments, and resource information.
The interests of students living on campus are promoted through the Residence Hall Association and individual hall governments. Each hall government sponsors social, cultural, educational, and recreational activities.
Dining services for on-campus residents provides a wide variety of choices. Students may dine in any of the conveniently located dining halls or in the new food court, The Market at Stangel/Murdough. Twenty meals are served each week. The evening meal on Sunday is not provided, nor are meals served during Thanksgiving, Christmas, or spring vacation periods. Residents may choose from the full board (20 meals per week) or a reduced meal plan. Regular and theme (Mexican, Italian, Asian, etc.) menus are offered in five dining halls. The Market at Stangel/Murdough and Sam's Place in Carpenter/Wells provide late or after-hours dine-in or carry-out options.
Room and Board Rates. Rates for room and board are based on a per-person charge and are established by the University Board of Regents in May of each year. For reference purposes, the rates for the 1998-99 academic year are listed below. Rates are for a double room and the Basic 20 Meals-per-week Plan (excluding state and local taxes):
Bledsoe, *Doak, *Gaston, Sneed--$3,834
Chitwood, Clement, Coleman, *Gaston, Gates,
Horn, Hulen, Knapp, Murdough, Stangel,
*Doak and Gaston residents add $32 for continuous housing between fall and spring semesters.
**Rates are for a single room and the Basic 20 Meals-per-week Plan (excluding state and local taxes).
Room and board fees are billed on a semester basis. Statements of account are mailed to the permanent home address unless the student specifies an optional billing address. Students are encouraged to pay room and board by the semester; however, payments may be made by the academic year or by an installment payment plan. If payment is made by installment, an installment option fee will be added to the account. Students receiving financial aid should contact the Housing Office prior to the due date of the first installment to discuss payment arrangements. Payments may be made by VISA, MasterCard, Discover Card, American Express, personal check, cashier's check, or money order made payable to Texas Tech University. Cash payments should be made in person at the Housing Office located in Doak Hall.
For assistance or to obtain a housing application, contact the Department of Housing and Dining Services,
Box 41141, Lubbock, TX 79409-1141, (806) 742-2661.
Page Administrator: Gale Richardson
LAST UPDATE: 6-1-99