TTU Home Human Sciences Home PFP Home

Personal Financial Planning

Faculty Research Interests

Name Email Research Interests
Robert E. Barnhill, III, JD, CPA/PFS, CFP® robert.barnhill@ttu.edu Fiduciary Income Taxation; Estate and Gift Taxation Experience: Licensed attorney and CPA for over 25 years; Licensed CFP for over 15 years. Robert has taught at Texas Tech University since 1986. Robert is an author of six books covering the estate, retirement and individual tax areas. He conducts eighty continuing education courses each year and has conducted a course in 48 states.
Dr. Chris Browning christopher.m.browning@ttu.edu Consumer behavior and financial decision making, retirement planning and policy, cognitive ability and retirement portfolio management
Dr. Dorothy Bagwell Durband, AFC dottie.durband@ttu.edu Financial behaviors, financial counseling techniques, and financial education
Harold Evensky, CFP® Harold@Evenskykatz.com Behavioral finance issues in financial planning; Educational requirements for PFP graduates; Portfolio design in low return environment
Dr. Michael Finke, CFP® michael.finke@ttu.edu Household investment and intertemporal choice, behavioral personal finance, agency costs of financial planning, aggregate trends in household portfolio allocation.
Dr. John Gilliam, CFP®, ChFC, CLU john.gilliam@ttu.edu Behavioral characteristics effecting couple's financial risk tolerance, Assessment of Investment Risk Tolerance, Risk Tolerance and Asset Allocation, Investment Risk Tolerance and Mental Accounting, Behavioral Finance, Intra-cohort differences among Baby boomers
Dr. A. William "Bill" Gustafson bill.gustafson@ttu.edu Retirement economics/policy; debt behavior relative to human capital acquisition
Dr. Vickie Hampton, CFP® vickie.hampton@ttu.edu Career development and related issues in the financial planning profession, determinants of success on the CFP® Certification Examination, and financial planning guidelines and benchmarks for measuring financial well being of families
Dr. Sandra Huston sandra.huston@ttu.edu Financial Education/Financial Literacy, Investment behavior using the Surveys of Consumer Finances and the National Longitudinal Surveys of Youth.
Dr. Russell N. James III, J.D., CFP® russell.james@ttu.edu Charitable giving (inter vivos and testamentary)
Dr. Charlene Kalenkoski charlene.kalenkoski@ttu.edu The Allocation of Time; Household Decision Making from an Economics Perspective; Education; Retirement
Deena B. Katz, CFP® deena.katz@ttu.edu Experiential Learning, Attitudes and Expectations of Internship experiences, Behavioral Finance practice in a financial planning environment
Mitzi K. Lauderdale, J.D. mitzi.lauderdale@ttu.edu Special Needs Planning, Planned Giving Strategies, Philanthropy, and Estate and Tax Planning Strategies
Barry Mulholland, MBA, CFP®, ChFC® barry.mulholland@ttu.edu Insurance Demand, Life Insurance Disclosure, Precautionary Savings, Risk Management, Financial Planning Technology
Dr. John Salter, CFP®, AIFA® john.salter@ttu.edu Post-retirement issues and income management, Determinants of success on the CFP® certification examination