Texas Tech University.

Budget Working Group

About the Budget Working Group

To help the university make the best possible decisions as it faces state-directed budget cuts, President Guy Bailey has established the Texas Tech Budget Working Group (BWG). The 40-person BWG is chaired by Provost Bob Smith and is made up of 40 representatives from faculty, students and staff.

Specifically, the Budget Working Group will:

The end result will be a white paper to be ready by the end of the 2010 fall semester that will serve as a planning tool as the next legislative session begins in January. The white paper is not meant to replace the Strategic Plan or our new Responsibility Center Management initiative, but in fact should support these efforts. The white paper is shown below (Offering possibilities... Report of the Budget Working Group).

Offering possibilities... Report of the Budget Working Group (December 15, 2010)

Texas is a latecomer to the recession of 2008, but has now reached a stage wherein revenues are not keeping up with the financial needs of the state. Additionally, federal stimulus funds have all been allocated. The result: Texas faces up to a $20 billion or greater shortfall in general revenue during the FY12-FY13 biennium. Read more

2010-2011 Budget Working Group Members

Bob Smith, Provost and Senior Vice President, Chair
Mike Molina, Vice Chancellor for Facilities Planning and Construction
Martha Brown, Associate Vice Chancellor for Government Relations
Michael Shonrock, Senior Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
Taylor Eighmy, Vice President for Research
Juan Munoz, Vice President for Diversity and Community Outreach and Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
Kyle Clark, Chief Financial Officer and Vice President for Administration and Finance
Grace Hernandez, Chief of Staff, President’s Office
Mary Diaz, Associate Vice President for External Relations
Rob Stewart, Senior Vice Provost
Valerie Paton, Vice Provost for Assessment and Planning
Tibor Nagy, Vice Provost for International Affairs
Mike Wilson, Vice Provost for Financial Planning and Analysis
John Burns, Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
Andrew Vernooy, Dean, College of Architecture
Lawrence Schovanec, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Allen McInnes, Dean, Rawls College of Business Administration
Chuck Ruch, Interim Dean, College of Education
Jon Strauss, Interim Dean, Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering and Co-Chair, Responsibility Center Management (RCM) Council
Peggy Miller, Graduate School
Steve Fritz, Interim Dean, Honors College
Linda Hoover, Dean, College of Human Sciences
Susan Fortney, Interim Dean, School of Law
Don Dyal, Dean, Libraries
Jerry Hudson, Dean, College of Media and Communication
Carol Edwards, Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts
Matt Baker, Dean, University College
Sam Segran, Chief Information Officer
Richard Meek, President, Faculty Senate
Michael Farmer, Senator, Faculty Senate
William Pasewark, Senator, Faculty Senate
Sue Couch, Teaching Academy
David Knaff, Spokesperson, Horn Professors
Beverly Pinson, President, Staff Senate
Bruce Bills, President-Elect, Staff Senate
Drew Graham, President, Student Government Association (SGA)
Tyler Patton, SGA External Vice President
Jenny Mayants, SGA Internal Vice President
Deepali Butani, SGA Graduate Vice President

*Fred Hartmeister (Dean) and Ralph Ferguson (Acting Dean) served as Graduate School representatives prior to November 1, 2010.

Budget Working Group Information*
(Meeting Minutes, Departmental Savings Tips and A Review of Information Technology Operations and Efficiencies)

Comment Forum for Budget Working Group*

Submit Your Comments*

*These areas are password-protected and only accessible by the Texas Tech University community.