Texas Tech University

Lindsey Slaughter

College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources, Department of Plant & Soil Science

Lindsey Slaughter has been named an assistant professor with Texas Tech's Department of Plant and Soil Science, according to officials within the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources. She officially stepped into her new post on Sept. 1.

Slaughter indicated that she is interested in continuing her research efforts in soil microbial ecology and plant-microbe-soil relationships in both natural and agricultural ecosystems.

One of her primary goals here at Tech is to improve our ecological understanding of plant-microbe-soil symbioses and interactions that affect and are affected by management practices aimed at increasing the sustainability of agricultural production, and improving the natural resource base now and under future global conditions.

Prior to joining the Tech faculty, Slaughter worked as a teaching and research assistant at the University of Kentucky in Lexington, Kentucky, and the University of Tennessee-Martin in Martin, Tennessee.

Slaughter received her bachelor's degree in natural resource management from the University of Tennessee-Martin, and her master's degree in plant and soil sciences is from the University of Kentucky. Her doctorate in soil science is from the University of Kentucky. She is a member of the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, Soil Science Society of America, and the Ecological Society of America.

Recent honors for Slaughter include the Doyle E. Peaslee Award for outstanding graduate student in Plant and Soil Sciences at the University of Kentucky (2016), first place speaker at the University of Kentucky's Integrated Plant and Soil Sciences Graduate Student Research Symposium (2015); second place speaker at the American Forage and Grassland Council's Emerging Scientist Competition (2015); and first place speaker at the Robert F. Barnes C06 Graduate Student Oral Competition, ASA-CSSA-SSSA International Annual Meetings (2014).