Texas Tech University
TTU HomeOffice of the Provost Provost Communications 2014 Provost Announcements

Texas Tech Honors Outstanding Faculty

April 22, 2014

Dozens of Texas Tech University faculty members were honored April 22 for their quality teaching and research. The awards focus on teaching, research and service, which are the core missions of the university.

Awards Presentations

President's Excellence in Teaching Awards

President's Academic Achievement Awards

President’s Book Awards

Texas Tech Alumni Association New Faculty Awards

Texas Tech Parents Association
Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award
(STEM disciplines)

Texas Tech Parents Association
Barnie E. Rushing, Jr. Faculty Distinguished Research Award
(Social Science, Humanities, and Creative Arts disciplines)

Outstanding Researcher Awards

Emeritus Faculty Certificates

  • Kenneth Dixon
  • Ernest Fish
  • Jerry Hudson
  • Paul Johnson
  • JoAnn Klinker
  • Magne Kristiansen

Paul Whitfield Horn Professor Designations for 2014-2015

Recognition of Paul Whitfield Horn Professors

  • Linda Allen
  • Robert Baker
  • Loretta Bradley
  • William Casto
  • Sankar Chatterjee
  • Bruce Clarke
  • William Conover
  • Stefan Estreicher
  • Hafid Gafaiti
  • Michael Galyean
  • Clyde Hendrick
  • Susan Hendrick
  • Jiang Hongxing
  • Shelby Hunt
  • Eileen Johnson
  • Kenneth Ketner
  • David Knaff
  • Thomas Knight
  • Allan Kuethe
  • David Larmour
  • Clyde Martin

Horn Professor Graduate Achievement Award

  • Dali Wei, doctoral student in Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Jason Derouin, doctoral student in the School of Art


Teaching Academy Departmental Excellence in Teaching Award

  • DepartmentMechanical Engineering

Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Melanie HartCollege of Arts and Sciences
  • Claudia CogliserJerry S. Rawls College of Business Administration
  • Elizabeth Trejos-CastilloCollege of Human Sciences
  • Brian ShannonSchool of Law

Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Research Award

  • Jaclyn Cañas-CarrellCollege of Arts and Sciences
  • Mayukh DassJerry S. Rawls College of Business Administration
  • Sandra HustonCollege of Human Sciences
  • Siva VanapalliEdward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering

Texas Tech Parents Association Faculty Awards

  • Daniel NathanFaculty Distinguished Leadership Award
  • Robert GonzalezHemphill Wells New Professor Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Wendy HumphreySpencer A. Wells Faculty Award for Creativity in Teaching

Gloria Lyerla Memorial Library Research Travel Grants

  • Emily SkidmoreCollege of Arts and Sciences