Texas Tech University

Board of Regents Grants Tenure to Two New Faculty Members


March 6, 2015

Faculty member tenures coincide with their appointments at the university.

Board of Regents Grant Tenure to Six Faculty Members

Two faculty members received tenure during the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents meeting in March. Both are new faculty members who received tenure contemporaneously with their appointments.

Receiving tenure are:

  • Bella Gerlich, Ph.D., new librarian and dean, Texas Tech University Libraries. Professor Gerlich is currently a tenured library professor and dean of libraries, at the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, AK; and
  • Wilna Oldewage-Theron, Ph.D., new professor in the Department of Nutritional Sciences, College of Human Sciences. Professor Oldewage-Theron was previously a tenured professor, and director of the Research Centre of Sustainable Livelihoods, Vaal University of Technology, South Africa.

These individuals bring the number of full-time tenured faculty at Texas Tech to 813. There are a total of 1,099 tenured and tenure-track faculty at the university. After these appointments, the percentage of tenure track faculty who have been awarded tenure will be 73.9 percent.