Texas Tech University

Academic Engagement Ad Hoc Committee


The Ad Hoc Committee for Academic Engagement is established to advise the institution on matters related to faculty and staff engagement with local, regional, state, national and international communities covering the realms of teaching, research and service. The Committee shall be charged with evaluating and providing advice regarding the following: a) a universally accepted, campus-wide definition of Academic Engagement and Outreach; b) an effective, comprehensive annual assessment of academic engagement; c) an institutional annual awards and recognition program for academic engagement; and d) needed resources in support of academic engagement.

See the meeting minutes


The committee shall consist of one representative from each of the following administrative areas and colleges and schools. The members are expected to have demonstrated a consistent interest in and support for engagement and outreach at Texas Tech University. Representatives shall be nominated by their respective administrative head and appointed by the Office of the Provost.

The Committee shall be advisory to the Provost and Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and Student Affairs and shall not have final authority to direct, control, or supervise any activities related to the operations or activities of the institution. The Committee shall establish ad hoc sub-committees as it deems necessary.

The Committee will be chaired by Dr. Birgit Green, Director of Academic Engagement, Office of the Provost. The Committee shall convene three times during the spring and fall semesters in calendar year 2016 (February, March, and April, 2016; September, October, November 2016). It shall continue its work in Calendar Year 2017 as deemed appropriate by the Office of the Provost.


Birgit Green, Office of Academic Engagement


  • Dustin Benham, School of Law
  • Jaclyn Cañas-Carrell, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jessica Carrillo, Rawls College of Business
  • Claudia Cogliser, The Graduate School
  • Kelley Coleman, Office of International Affairs
  • Pat DeLucia, Office of the Vice President for Research
  • Sara Dodd, College of Human Sciences
  • Gary Elbow, Honors College
  • Jerod Foster, College of Media and Communication
  • Paul Frazier, Division of Institutional Diversity, Equity, and Community Engagement
  • Laura Heinz, TTU Libraries
  • Jacqueline Henninger, College of Visual and Performing Arts
  • Robin Lock, College of Education
  • Scott Longing, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  • Justin Louder, Office of the Provost, Worldwide eLearning
  • Steve Maxner, The Vietnam Center and Archive
  • Gary Morgan, Museum of Texas Tech University
  • Craig Morton, Office of Planning and Assessment
  • Venki Uddameri, College of Engineering
  • Jim Williamson, College of Architecture