Texas Tech University

PSS Students Receive Scholarships From Industry Partners

Melanie Holloway Scholarship

Image Courtesy of Ed Hellman

Brad Dixon, third from left, of Spicewood received the first Melanie Holloway Viticulture and Enology Scholarship that was presented on Aug. 11 at a scholarship fundraising dinner at Woodrose Winery in Stonewall.

Pictured with Dixon, from left, Mike Guilette, owner of Wood­rose Winery; Ed Hellman, Professor of Viticulture at Texas Tech University - Fredericksburg, and Matt Williams, assistant director of development, Texas Tech College of Agricultural Sci­ences and Natural Resources.

The Texas Tech scholarship was created by Mike and Linda Guilette to honor the late Melanie Holloway, Woodrose Winery tasting room manager to sup­port local students studying viticulture and enology at Texas Tech in Fredericksburg.

At TTU in Fredericksburg, students can complete a bachelor of science in plant and soil science with a specialization in either viticulture and enology or local food and wine production systems.  Dixon is a junior at Texas Tech and works at Spicewood vineyards.

Image and Text Courtesy of Fredericsksburg Standard Radio Post

Texas Center for Wine and Culinary Arts

The Texas Center for Wine and Culinary Arts presented $1,000 scholarships to two students who will be starting the new Texas Tech University specialization in Local Food and Wine Production Systems in Fredericksburg.

Texas Tech officials and board members from the TCWCA were on hand to present the honors to Callista Tovar, of Mason, and Nelson Avila, of Austin (holding frames). From left are: Texas Tech University personnel, Maureen Qualia, enology instructor; Dr. Eric Hequet, chairman of the TTU Department of Plant and Soil Science in Lubbock; Dr. Ed Hellman, professor of viticulture and enology; Tovar, Avila; and TCWCA board members, Jim Mikula, Tim Lehmberg, Bobby Watson and Ernie Loeffler.

Some proceeds from the "Taste for the Future" event held last December at the Becker Vineyards Main Street Tasting Room funded the scholarships.
–Standard Radio Post/Ken Esten Cooke.

Related Links: