Texas Tech University

People

The Language and Social Interaction Lab is in its third year at Texas Tech. See below for current and past lab members and affiliates.


Molly Ireland

Molly Ireland

PhD, University of Texas at Austin, '11
Email: molly.ireland@ttu.edu
Office: 320

Lab director. Originally from near Muscotah, KS. Main research interests include computerized text analysis, fiction, self-talk, HIV, behavioral manifestations of personality, close relationships, and language style matching.

Graduate Students

Sage Malipaard

Sage Maliepaard

Email: sage.maliepaard@ttu.edu
Office: 452E

Second-year graduate student.

Ashley Garcia

Ashley Garcia

BA, University of the Incarnate Word, '13
Email: ashley.garcia@ttu.edu
Office: 452E

Second-year PhD student interested in language as an expression of personality and individual differences, political affiliation and ideology, social cognitive processes, the Dark Triad, and substance abuse behavior.

Nadeem Dabbakeh

Nadeem Dabbakeh

BA, Texas Tech, '16
Email: nadeem.dabbakeh@ttu.edu

Second-year PhD student. Also works with Dr. Davis. Interested in goal-directed neural representations, categorization and rule-formation, natural language use, bilingualism, cultural and linguistic frame-switching, gender, status and power perception, logic, philosophy of science, and virtue ethics. fMRI Grandmaster.

Taleen Nalabandian

Taleen Nalabandian

BA, American University, '13; MA, Fairleigh Dickinson University, '15
Email: taleen.nalabandian@ttu.edu
Office: 452D

Third-year PhD student. My current research interests largely encompass the psychology of literature; however, I am also interested in examining gender, stereotypes, and face perception.

Micah Iserman

Micah Iserman

BA, University of Arizona, '13
Email: micah.iserman@ttu.edu
Office: 452D

Fourth-year PhD student. Interests: person perception, gender, discourse markers, reported speech, deixis, dynamical systems, automation.

Research Assistants

Nick Odiase

Nick Odiase

BA, Texas Tech, '17
Email: nick.odiase@ttu.edu

Interested in Cognitive Psychology, Social Psychology, and Psychology of Perception. Plans to pursue Family Medicine, while applying his knowledge of psychology to impact children and families in this field.

Cristian Vasquez

Cristian Vasquez

BA, Texas Tech, '17
Email: cristian.vasquez@ttu.edu

Senior undergraduate student. Interested in social psychology, cognitive psychology, and counseling psychology. Plans to pursue Occupational Therapy, applying his knowledge of psychology in this field.

Paige Williams

Paige Williams

BA, Texas Tech, '19
Email: paige.williams@ttu.edu

Sophomore Undergraduate Student. Interested in forensic psychology, personality psychology, and biopsychology. Also interested in pursuing clinical psychiatry in medical school.

Amanda Taylor

Amanda Taylor

BA, Texas Tech, '17
Email: amanda.k.taylor@ttu.edu

Senior Undergraduate Student. Interested in physiological psychology and how psychology relates to healthcare through patient-doctor interaction.

Collaborators

John Schumacher

BS, Colorado State University, '12
Fourth-year PhD student. Works primarily with Roman Taraban. Studies perspective-taking, status, and language style matching with me, and testing effects and recall with Dr. Taraban.

Jani Manring

MS, Texas Tech, '14
Recent Master's student. Studies verbal decline in dementia and Alzheimer's.

Ailis Dooner

Clark Scholar, Texas Tech, '14; Phillips Exeter Academy, '15
Senior high school student. Originally from Carmel, CA. Interested in emotional language, personality, social media, impostor syndrome, and spatial synesthesia.

Psychological Sciences

  • Address

    Texas Tech University, Department of Psychological Sciences, Box 42051 Lubbock, TX 79409-2051