# Faculty Senate Committee Assignments 2016-2017

Business submitted from any of these committees to the Senate for action will be sent to the Agenda Committee and placed on the agenda of a subsequent meeting. Action on a question submitted to any of these committees can be taken only by the Senate at a regular meeting or a special called meeting.

Operating Procedures for these committees are: The committee shall develop its own operating procedures, subject to the approval of the Faculty Senate. Faculty members will serve on year terms corresponding with the terms of Faculty Senators and may be reappointed.

# **Committee on Committees**

The President (of the Faculty Senate) shall appoint the members of a Committee on Committees each of whom shall be a senator from a different school or college. The Committee on Committees shall nominate and the Senate shall appoint the members of each standing or ad hoc committee, at the first meeting of the Faculty Senate in September.

# <u>Membership</u>

Shane Blum-HS-2019-**convener** Amy Boren-AGED-2019 Shirley Matteson-EDCI-2019 Charles Griar-CMLL-2017 Joe Hodes-HONORS-2019 Kamaleshwar Singh-ENTX-2019 Rebecca Wascoe-MUS-2018

# Academic Programs Committee(6)

Charge: To evaluate and recommend to the Senate action involving academic programs. This will include but not be restricted to matters such as academic program additions and deletions, academic degree requirements, and academic standards.

### Membership:

S. Ramkumar-2017(AL)ENTX-**Convener** Justin Keene-MCOM-JEM-2018 Ali Nejat-CE-2018 Laura Calkins-HIST-2018 Andrew Stetson-MUS-2019 Zachary Brittsan-HIST-2018 Hendrika Buelinckx-Non Faculty Senator

# **Budget Study Committee**

Charge: To study and report to the Senate on matters related to the budget of the university. This committee is NOT charged with making recommendations relating directly to budget allocations during the time the budget is being formulated. It is instructed to initiate investigations and report to the Senate on any inconsistencies, misallocations, re-allocations, oversights, and other budgetary items which it believes will be of interest or concern to the faculty of the university, in order that the Senate my make timely recommendations to the administration regarding the budgeting process.

# Membership:

Ryan Litsey-LIB-FSVP-**convener** Annette Hernandez-CEC-2019 David Ivey-CFAS-2019 Matthew McEniry-LIB-2019 Greg Brookes-MUS-2017 Toby Rider-POLS-2017\* Brian Still-ENGL 2018

# Faculty Status and Welfare Committee(7)

Charge: To investigate and recommend to the Senate on matters relating to the status and welfare of the faculty, including but not restricted to salaries, fringe benefits, working conditions, teaching loads, standards for promotion, tenure, and merit pay, and evaluation of deans, departmental chairpersons, and other administrative personnel.

### Membership:

Lewis Held-BIOS-2017- **convener** Christopher M. Smith-MUS-2019 Keira Williams-HONORS-2018 Susan Hidlago-LIB-2017 Patrick Metz-LAW-2017 John Gilliam-PFP-2017 Molly Ireland-PSY-2019

# ADMINISTRATOR EVALUATION

# SURVEY COMMITTEE –rotating off

This committee is to oversee the conducting of the annual Administrator Evaluation Survey. The committee will evaluate the survey instrument, making minor changes as needed and recommending to the Senate addition or deletion of survey questions. The committee will work with Institutional Research and Information Management to ensure that the survey and the survey results are available at a time appropriate to the evaluation schedule for administrators. The ability to Poll Faculty.

#### Membership:

Jorge Morales-CHEM-2017 **convener** Delong Zuo-CE-2018 Julie Couch-ENGL-2019 \*there must be a rotation

**Standing Study Committees A, B and C** are charged with receiving, studying, and recommending action by the Senate on questions referred to them by the Agenda Committee. Committees A, B and C shall consider business referred to them and shall study the question and submit such written reports, resolutions, or recommendations for action by the Senate as they deem appropriate.

### Senate Study Committee A-

### Membership:

Ryan Cassidy-LIB-2017-**convener** Jason Whiting-HS-CFAS-2018 Robert Forbis-POLS-2018\* Jeffrey Mosher-HIST-2019 Erik Bucy-MCOM-2019 Rich Rice-ENGL-2019

### Senate Study Committee B-(Funded Research) Membership:

Clifford Fedler-CEC-2019-**convener** Tony Kaye-PHYS-2018 Jaclyn Canas-ENTX-2017 Jyotsna Sharma-AG-2017 Charlene Kalendoski-PFP-2018 Don Lavigne-CMLL-2019

### Senate Study Committee C- Ad Hoc Committee Membership:

Dennis Arnett-MKT-2017-**convener** Robin Verble-NRM-2019 Patrick Metze-LAW-2017 Kamau Oginga Siwatu-EP&L-2018 Anita McChesney-CMLL-2018 Erin-Marie Legacey-HIST-2019

# Nomination Committee-must be in last year

Charge: The Faculty Senate President will select three (3) members, in their last year of service, each from a different college or school of the university to serve as a committee for the purpose of nominating candidates for the Senate offices for the succeeding year. There shall be no less than two nominees for each position. Nominees' names will be presented to the Senate at its February meeting, at which time any nominations from the floor must be made. Elections will be held at the March meeting.

### Membership:

Victoria Surliuga-CMLL-2017-**convener** Robert Cox-NRM-2017 Susan Hidalgo-LIB-2017