## Faculty Senate Committee Assignments 2017-2018

Business submitted from any of these committees to the Senate for action will be sent to the Agenda Committee and placed on the agenda of a subsequent meeting. Action on a question submitted to any of these committees can be taken only by the Senate at a regular meeting or a special called meeting.

Operating Procedures for these committees are: The committee shall develop its own operating procedures, subject to the approval of the Faculty Senate. Faculty members will serve on year terms corresponding with the terms of Faculty Senators and may be reappointed.

Convening the committee: See red binder under committee assignments for instructions.

## **Committee on Committees**

The President (of the Faculty Senate) shall appoint the members of a Committee on Committees each of whom shall be a senator from a different school or college. The Committee on Committees shall nominate and the Senate shall appoint the members of each standing or ad hoc committee, at the first meeting of the Faculty Senate in September.

#### <u>Membership</u>

Shane Blum-HS-2019-convener Shirley Matteson-EDCI-2019 Tanja Karp-ECE-2020 Joe Hodes-HONORS-2019 Kamaleshwar Singh-ENTX-2019 Charles Crews-EP&L-2018 Gary Fleischman-ACCT02018

## **Academic Programs Committee(6)**

Charge: To evaluate and recommend to the Senate action involving academic programs. This will include but not be restricted to matters such as academic program additions and deletions, academic degree requirements, and academic standards.

#### **Membership:**

Ryan Litsey-LIB-2018-convener Justin Keene-MCOM-JEM-2018 Ali Nejat-CE-2018 Laura Calkins-HIST-2018 Zachary Brittsan-HIST-2018 Julie Zook-ARCH S. Ramkumar-Ex Officio

### **Budget Study Committee**

Charge: To study and report to the Senate on matters related to the budget of the university. This committee is NOT charged with making recommendations relating directly to budget allocations during the time the budget is being formulated. It is instructed to initiate investigations and report to the Senate on any inconsistencies, misallocations, re-allocations, oversights, and other budgetary items which it believes will be of interest or concern to the faculty of the university, in order that the Senate my make timely recommendations to the administration regarding the budgeting process.

#### Membership:

Mayukh Dass-BA-2018-**convener**Matt Johnson-HIST-2020
Craig Snoeyink-ME-2020
David Ivey-CFAS-2019
Matthew McEniry-LIB-2019
Rashid Al-Hmoud-ECO-2020

### Faculty Status and Welfare Committee(7)

Charge: To investigate and recommend to the Senate on matters relating to the status and welfare of the faculty, including but not restricted to salaries, fringe benefits, working conditions, teaching loads, standards for promotion, tenure, and merit pay, and evaluation of deans, departmental chairpersons, and other administrative personnel.

#### Membership:

Wes Cochran-LAW-2020-convener Alan Barenberg-HIST-2019 Christopher M. Smith-MUS-2019 Kamau Oginga Siwatu-MKT-2018 Dana Weiser-HDFS-2020 John Gilliam-PFP-2017 Molly Ireland-PSY-2019 Lewis Held-Ex Officio

# ADMINISTRATOR EVALUATION SURVEY COMMITTEE -rotating off

This committee is to oversee the conducting of the annual Administrator Evaluation Survey. The committee will evaluate the survey instrument, making minor changes as needed and recommending to the Senate addition or deletion of survey questions. The committee will work with Institutional Research and Information Management to ensure that the survey and the survey results are available at a time appropriate to the evaluation schedule for administrators. The ability to Poll Faculty.

#### **Membership:**

Julie Couch-ENGL-2019-convener Delong Zuo-CE-2018 Allison Pease-NRM-2020 \*there must be a rotation

**Standing Study Committees A, B and C** are charged with receiving, studying, and recommending action by the Senate on questions referred to them by the Agenda Committee. Committees A, B and C shall consider business referred to them and shall study the question and submit such written reports, resolutions, or recommendations for action by the Senate as they deem appropriate.

## <u>Senate Study Committee A-</u> Membership:

Erik Bucy-MCOM-2019-convener Andrea Romi-ACCT-2020 Rich Rice-ENGL-2019 Catherine Jai-RHM-2020 Sean Zdenek-ENGL-2020

## <u>Senate Study Committee B-(Funded Research)</u> <u>Membership:</u>

Clifford Fedler-CEC-2019-convener Tony Kaye-PHYS-2018 Annette Hernandez-CEC-2019 Jyotsna Sharma-AG-2018 Charlene Kalenkoski-PFP-2018 Don Lavigne-CMLL-2019

## <u>Senate Study Committee C- Ad Hoc Committee</u> <u>Membership:</u>

Richard Meek-VPA-2019-**convener**Anita McChesney-CMLL-2018
Erin-Marie Legacey-HIST-2019
Rob E. King-LIB-2020
Jon Thompson-CHEM-2020
Katie Langford-COMS-2018

#### Nomination Committee-must be in last year

Charge: The Faculty Senate President will select three (3) members, in their last year of service, each from a different college or school of the university to serve as a committee for the purpose of nominating candidates for the Senate offices for the succeeding year. There shall be no less than two nominees for each position. Nominees' names will be presented to the Senate at its February meeting, at which time any nominations from the floor must be made. Elections will be held at the March meeting.

#### Membership:

Carlene Kalenkoski-PFP-2018-convener Mark Gring-MCOM-2018 Justin Keene-HC-2018