Faculty Senate Committee Assignments 2020-2021

Business submitted from any of these committees to the Senate for action will be sent to the Agenda Committee and placed on the agenda of a subsequent meeting. Action on a question submitted to any of these committees can be taken only by the Senate at a regular meeting or a special called meeting.

Operating Procedures for these committees are: The committee shall develop its own operating procedures, subject to the approval of the Faculty Senate. Faculty members will serve on year terms corresponding with the terms of Faculty Senators and may be reappointed.

Committee on Committees

The President (of the Faculty Senate) shall appoint the members of a Committee on Committees each of whom shall be a senator from a different school or college. The Committee on Committees shall nominate, and the Senate shall appoint the members of each standing or ad hoc committee, at the first meeting of the Faculty Senate in September.

Committee on Committees Membership Linda Donahue-TH&D-2021--Convener Costica Bradatan-HC-2021 Erin Callopy-CMLL-2022 Robert Perl-ARCH-2022 Rob Weiner-LIB-2022 James Sheng-Petroleum Engineering

Academic Programs Committee

Charge: To evaluate and recommend to the Senate action involving academic programs. This will include but not be restricted to matters such as academic program additions and deletions, academic degree requirements, and academic standards.

Academic Programs Committee Membership:

Hendrika Buelinckx-ARCH-2021--**Convener**Lisa Garner-Music
Robert Ritchey-BA
Stephen Bayne-ECE-2021
Alex Wang-MATH-2021
Michael Farmer-AAEC-2022
Katie Langford-COMS-2022
Beau S. Pihlaja-ENGL-2022

Budget Study Committee

Charge: To study and report to the Senate on matters related to the budget of the university. This committee is NOT charged with making recommendations relating directly to budget allocations during the time the budget is being formulated. It is instructed to initiate investigations and report to the Senate on any inconsistencies, misallocations, re-allocations, oversights, and other budgetary items which it believes will be of interest or concern to the faculty of the university, in order that the Senate may make timely recommendations to the administration regarding the budgeting process.

Budget Study Committee Membership:

Caroline Bishop-CMLL-2022-Convener Martina Klein-Psychological Sciences Richard Murphy-LAW Mary Baker-ECE-2022 Zachary Brittsan-HIST-2022 Siva Parameswaran-ME-2022

Faculty Status and Welfare Committee

Charge: To investigate and recommend to the Senate on matters relating to the status and welfare of the faculty, including but not restricted to salaries, fringe benefits, working conditions, teaching loads, standards for promotion, tenure, and merit pay, and evaluation of deans, departmental chairpersons, and other administrative personnel.

Faculty Status and Welfare Committee Membership:

Lewis Held-BIOS-2021-Chair
Ryan Litsey-Library
Elissa Zellinger-English
John Watts-LAW-2021
Robert Cox-NRM-2022
Antonio Ladeira-CMLL-2022
Roman Taraban-Psychological Sciences

Faculty Senate Campus Climate Committee

The mission of the Faculty Senate Campus Climate Committee is to study, and bring before the Senate, matters related to bias and discrimination based on gender, race, national origin, religion, age, disability, protected veteran status, genetic information, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation and preference, or other protected categories, classes, or characteristics. The Committee will also work to remove barriers to reporting of wider concerns ranging from bullying to unequal treatment while advancing inclusiveness in a respectful professional environment for *all* faculty.

Faculty Senate Campus Climate Committee Membership:

Kirsten Cook-BA-2021-Convener Jyotsna Sharma-PSS-2022 Akif Ibraguimov-Mathematics Cody Arnall-Art Conrad Lyford-Ag Econ Michael Borshuk-ENGL-2021 Miao He-ECE-2022

ADMINISTRATOR EVALUATION SURVEY COMMITTEE -rotating off

This committee is to oversee the conducting of the annual Administrator Evaluation Survey. The committee will evaluate the survey instrument, making minor changes as needed and recommending to the Senate addition or deletion of survey questions. The committee will work with Institutional Research and Information Management to ensure that the survey and the survey results are available at a time appropriate to the evaluation schedule for administrators. The ability to Poll Faculty.

Administrator Evaluation Survey Committee Membership:

Donell Callender-LIB-2022-Convener
James Decker-MUS-2021
Shane Blum-HRM
Lauren Griffith-SASW
*there must be a rotation

<u>Standing Study Committees A, B and C</u> are charged with receiving, studying, and recommending action by the Senate on questions referred to them by the Agenda Committee. Committees A, B and C shall consider business referred to them and shall study the question and submit such written reports, resolutions, or recommendations for action by the Senate as they deem appropriate.

Senate Study Committee A-

Membership:

Daniel Nathan-PHIL-2021-Convener David Forrest-MUS-2022 Sterling Shumway-CFAS-2021 Belinda Kleinhans-CMLL-2021 Mukaddes Darwish-CECE-2022 Michael Faris-English

Senate Study Committee B-(Funded Research)

Membership:

Patricia Hawley-EP&L-2022-Convener Laura Heinz-Library Tom Maccarone-Physics Kim Boal-BA-2021 Tamra Walter-SASW-2021 Ana Novotny-SASW-2022

Senate Study Committee C- Ad Hoc Committee

Membership:

Courtney Meyers-AGED-2022-Covener
James Decker-MUS-2021
Charles Grair-CMLL-2022
Sandra Huston-PFP-2022
Sylvia Niehuis-HDFS
Louisa Hope-Weeks-Chemistry

Nomination Committee-must be in last year

Charge: The Faculty Senate President will select three (3) members, in their last year of service, each from a different college or school of the university to serve as a committee for the purpose of nominating candidates for the Senate offices for the succeeding year. There shall be no less than two nominees for each position. Nominees' names will be presented to the Senate at its February meeting, at which time any nominations from the floor must be made. Elections will be held at the March meeting.

Nomination Committee Membership:
Melissa Gotlieb-ADV-2021-Convener
Stephanie J. Jones-EP&L-2021
Matthew Barnes-NRM-2021