Texas Tech University

Minutes for April 7 , 1999

Printer Friendly Versions (Word | PDF)
  • Meeting Minutes - April 7, 1999

    The Staff Senate met on Wednesday, April 7, 1999, in Room 75 of Holden Hall with Pee Wee Roberson, President, presiding. Senators present were: Ables, Cory, Graham, Nava, Nichols, Pirkle, Ponticell, Saiz, Schuessler, Smith, Trischitti, Weaver, Clawson, Samarripas, Segura, Tillack, Billingsley, Burns, D., Whyburn, Bell, Ellis, Hall-Sjue, Kinghorn, Little, Meriwether, Welch, White, Widener, Williams, Burns, J., Crosby, Flores, Garcia, Lira, Sandoval, Ramos, Rocha, Zavala, Harris, Stubbs, and Thomas. Senators Flores, Hunter, Nichols, and Prado were excused; Senators Silvas and Ramos were absent.

    Recognition of Guests
    President Roberson called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m. and welcomed the alternate Senators: Turner, Burt, Hurlow, Cates, Segran, Knowles, Barnett, and special guest, Gene West.

    Approval of Minutes
    It was moved by Dan Burns and seconded by Walter Ponticell that the minutes of the March 3, 1999, be approved as written; the motion passed unanimously.

    Treasurer Report
    A written Treasurer’s Report was distributed. It noted that an additional $2,000 has been put in the Staff Senate account for this year, and the FY2000 budget was presented. After some concerns were discussed, it was moved by Oscar Segura and seconded by Jeff Burns that the Treasurer’s report be accepted; the motion passed unanimously.

    Communication Committee
    The Communications Committee will continue to work on how to cut expenses for distribution of minutes.

    President’s Report
    Any concerns/ideas/situations should be sent to a member of the Executive Board.
    Pee Wee Roberson has been appointed as a member of the Provost Council and Dan Burns has been appointed as a member of the Academic Council

    Old Business

    Executive Board Elections--Professional
    Judy Hunter and Barbara White were nominated; Judy Hunter was elected as the representative in this category.

    New Business

    Guest Speaker
    Gene West, Vice President for Operations, spoke to the group regarding the privatization issue with Grounds Maintenance. Some questions were also asked regarding the parking plan on campus.

    Resolution 99.01 stating the sentiments of the Staff Senate concerning the privatization of campus services and operations was presented. It was moved by Darrell Thomas and seconded by Emily Saiz that this resolution be forwarded as noted.
    A friendly amendment was made by Kerry Billingsley and seconded by Maurice Welch to add the name of the Chairman of the Board of Regents to the distribution of the resolution; this motion passed unanimously.
    Resolution 99.02 stating the sentiments of the Staff Senate concerning the Texas Tech Master Plan, specifically the construction of parking garages, was presented. It was moved by Kerry Billingsley and seconded by Jessie Sjue-Hall that the name of the Chairman of the Board of Regents be added to the distribution of this resolution also; the motion passed unanimously.
    It was further moved by Beth Trischitti and seconded by Oscar Segura that this resolution be distribution as noted with the addition of the name of the Board of Regents Chairman; the motion passed unanimously.
    The Faculty Senate will have a presentation and discussion on the parking master plan at its meeting on April 14, 1999, at 3:15 p.m. in the UC Senate Room. Any interested party is invited to attend.
    All resolutions will be filed in the Staff Senate Journal to be kept by the Secretary of the Staff Senate.

    Holidays for 1999-2000
    The Staff Senate had been asked by Mr. Jim Brunjes, Vice President for Fiscal Affairs, to vote on which day of three choices should be a workday for the next fiscal year holidays. It was moved by Maurice Welch and seconded by David Tillack that the Staff Senate vote on which day they would prefer to work and the vote was as follows:

    Thursday, December 23, 1999 (before Christmas)
    Friday, March 17, 2000 (Spring Break)
    Monday, May 29, 2000 (Memorial Day)
    President Roberson will report to Mr. Brunjes that a majority of the Staff Senate voted to work on Thursday, December 23, 1999.

    Nomination Committee
    The Staff Senate Nomination Committee will consist of the following individuals:
    Beth Trischitti
    Rudy Samarripas
    Kay Whyburn/Dan Burns
    Executive/Administrative/Management (1 vote only)
    Everne Williams
    Russell Crosby
    Cliff Harris
    A committee chairperson will be chosen from the members of the committee.

    Next Meetings
    Executive Board, Wednesday, April 28, 1999, Llano Estacado Room, UC, 3:00 p.m.
    Staff Senate, Wednesday, May 5, 1999, Matador Room, University Center, 3:00 p.m.

    Nomination Committee members were asked to stay for a few minutes at the close of the meeting.
    Larry Alexander, Emergency Room Doctor, will be speaking on April 15, 1999, at 7 p.m. in 202 BA. Everyone is encouraged to attend.
    Senate Bill 1760 allows for an increase in staff salaries--letters supporting this bill should be sent to Senator Duncan. Letters should not be sent on University letterhead.
    The next Board of Regents Meeting will be May 14 and 15, 1999*. A schedule of the committee meetings and Board Meeting will be available at the next Staff Senate Meeting.
    *NOTE:Corrected by the Web Master The correct dates for the next Board of Regents Meeting are May 13 and 14, 1999.

    The meeting adjourned at 4:40 p.m.


TTU Staff Senate