Texas Tech University

Minutes for June 7, 2000

Printer Friendly Versions (Word | PDF)
  • Minutes – June 7, 2000

    The Staff Senate met on Wednesday, June 7, 2000, in the Senate Room of the University Center, with PeeWee Roberson, President, presiding. Senators present were: Cory, Curlee, Durrett, Flores P., Gaytan, Graham, Love, Nava, Pirkle, Saiz, Schuessler, Sims, Weaver, Clawson, Segura, Tillack, Billingsley, Segran, Whyburn, Bell, Digby, Ellis, Hunter, Kinghorn, Little, Prado, Stow, Welch, White, Widener, Williams, Alonzo, Burns, Chavez, Crosby, Lira, Barnett, Harris, and Stubbs. Senators Nichols and Meriwether were excused.

    Recognition of Guests
    President Roberson called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m., lead the pledge of allegiance, and welcomed the guests.

    It was moved by Cliff Harris and seconded by Maurice Welch that the minutes of the May 3, 2000, meeting be accepted as written; the motion passed unanimously.

    Treasurer's Report
    A copy of the Treasurer's Report (Requires Acrobat Reader)--> was distributed to those present. . It was explained how the report had been categorized, there were no questions.

    Committee Reports
    Election Committee
    It was noted that only 229 people voted in the election for new senators out of 2,407 eligible to vote. New senators in the following EEO Classifications were announced:
    Job Classification
    Estella Barron
    Jill Blackstock
    Sheree Foy
    Brenda Gonzalez
    Donna Wade
    Steve Boyer
    Pat Cates
    Mary Benton
    Susan Peterson
    Jeanine Reynolds
    Sabrina Robbins
    Cristy Vinson
    Nancy Alcorta
    Rudy Perez
    Erma Torres
    Technical/ Paraprofes-sional
    Paula Lowe

    Communications and Public Relations Committee
    The July 5, 2000, meeting will be an appreciation/inauguration ceremony and reception held to welcome new members and recognize departing Staff Senate members. Certificates of recognition will be given to those members leaving the Staff Senate. The group accepted a new logo for the Staff Senate.

    Action: July 5, 2000 meeting will be held in Human Science 169, with a reception following in El Centro.

    Bylaws and Constitution Committee
    It was proposed that two paragraphs be added to Section I. Membership Section of the Bylaws as follows: H. Senator/Alternate Ratio

    Alternates shall be a fifty percent ratio to Senators per classification. In order to maintain the fifty percent ratio, replacements shall be chosen from the Alternate list (Article III, Section 5 of the Constitution) in descending order by poplar vote. In the event of a tie vote, the Alternate and Senator will be placed by length of service at Texas Tech University. In the event that the Alternate pool is depleted, the Election Committee shall arrange a special election with the approval of the Executive Board.

    I. Classification Changes
    When a Senator resigns dues to a change in classification, he/she is exempt from the one-year required lay-off period. He/she will be eligible to run at the next election

    It was moved by Maurice Welch and seconded by Steve Clawson that the paragraphs be added to the bylaws; the motion passed unanimously.

    Action: A charge was given to the Bylaws and Constitution Committee to look at the Bylaws and Constitution to make sure both documents are in agreement.

    President's Report
    The Presidential Search Committee has provided the Chancellor with three names to consider as President of Texas Tech University. The Chancellor will make the final decision. It was reported on TV that the Chancellor would be making a decision by the end of June. Three new Senators were introduced: Tom Barnett, Wendy Durrett, Yolanda Gaytan; and all new senators in the last several months were invited to stand. They were thanked for being at the meeting.

    President Roberson thanked those Senators that have served on the Executive Board this year and those that have served as Committee Chairs.

    It was noted that the Staff Senate Executive Board Meeting to be held on Wednesday, June 28, 2000, would be an orientation meeting for the new Senators.

    Action: All new Senators are to be present at this meeting in the Llano Estacado Room, UC, 3:00 p.m. on June 28.

    Election of new Executive Board members will be held in August; positions open will be: Secretary, Treasurer, and President Elect, as well as Representatives from each EEO classification, and new Committee Chairs.

    President Roberson was also thanked for the service he had rendered throughout the last 18 months to the Staff Senate.

    It was noted that the present Staff Senators have served for 18 months; the next Staff Senate year will be 12 months.

    Old Business
    Parking Some concerns with the new parking situation were noted, and Maurice Welch made a note of the questions and will discuss them with Gene West. It was suggested that we invite Gene West to a meeting in October or November to discuss again how the new parking situation is working out.

    New Business
    Maurice Welch made note of the article in the University Daily regarding a total smoke-free Health Sciences Center. Next Meetings
    Staff Senate Executive Board Meeting, Wednesday, June 28, 2000, Llano Estacado Room, UC, 3:00 p.m.
    Staff Senate Meeting, Wednesday, July 5, room 169, Human Sciences, 3:00 p.m.Staff members are invited to attend Staff Senate Meetings, if they so desire.


TTU Staff Senate