Texas Tech University

Minutes for August 2, 2000

Printer Friendly Versions (Word | PDF)
  • Meeting Minutes -August 2, 2000

    The Staff Senate met on Wednesday, August 2, 2000, in the Senate Room of the University Center, with Kerry Billingsley, President, presiding. Senators present were: Barron, Blackstock, Cory, Durrett, Flores P., Gaytan, Gonzalez, Love, Pirkle, Saiz, Sims, Wade, Boyer, Burt, Clawson, Tillack, Billingsley, Cates, Segran, Benton, Ellis, Kinghorn, Little, Meriwether, Peterson, Reynolds, Robbins, Stow, Vinson, White, Williams, Alcorta, Crosby, Lira, Torres, Barnett, and Lowe. Senators Foy, Sims, Whyburn, Digby, Chavez, and Harris were excused.

    Recognition of Guests
    President Billingsley called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m., led the pledge of allegiance, and welcomed the Senators and guests.

    Roll Call
    Senators reported their presence by a voice roll call.

    Staff Senate Oath
    Yolanda Gaytan, Erma Torres, and Susan Peterson took the Oath of the Staff Senate. Senators present were asked to sign an original and one copy of the oath, with the copy being turned back in to place in file.

    The minutes of the June 7, 2000, meeting was accepted as written.

    Election of Officers
    Nominations for officers in the following positions were taken from the floor:
    President Elect: Russell Crosby, Christy Meriwether, and Susan Peterson were nominated; Christy Meriwether was elected.
    Secretary: Jill Blackstock and Donna Wade were nominated; Jill Blackstock was elected.
    Treasurer: Kay Whyburn was elected by acclimation.
    Executive Board Representative were elected from the EEO Classifications as follows:
    Executive Board Representative—Clerical: Beverly Pirkle
    Executive Board Representative—Crafts/Trade: Mitchell Burt
    Executive Board Representative—Exec/Admin/Mgt: Sam Segran
    Executive Board Representative—Professional: Everne Williams
    Executive Board Representative—Service: Russell Crosby
    Executive Board Representative—Tech/Paraprof: Cliff Harris

    Committee Reports
    Communications and Public Relations Committee
    Everyone who helped with the First Annual Appreciation/Inauguration Ceremony and Reception were thanked. Special thanks was given to: Christy Meriwether, Linda Prado, Emily Saiz, Gayle Stow, and Darrel Thomas; and to the Communications and Public Relations Committee members: Steve Bell, Jeff Burns, Judy Curlee, Jan Kinghorn, Sam Segran, and David Tillack It was suggested that in the future, the minutes be three-hole drilled so that they can be placed in the notebooks.

    Also, a copy of the Parliamentary Procedures was distributed to be put in the notebooks.

    Senators that were close to areas of others that had not picked up their notebooks took notebooks to deliver to individual Senators


    Bylaws and Constitution Committee
    A first reading of proposed changes to the Constitution and Bylaws was read. T he majority of the changes are typographical, grammatical and capitalization, with a paragraph moved from the Constitution to the Bylaws. After corrections had been noted, it was moved by Emily Saiz and seconded by Steve Clawson that the body approved the first reading of the changes to the Constitution and Bylaws; the motion passed unanimously.
    Child Care Committee
    A report of meetings of the Child Care Committee was given; things are progressing to a final report

    Traffic and Parking Committee
    Maurice Welch shared with the group several issues that had been sent to Gene West regarding parking on campus: Request by Traffic and Parking for an individual to give his/her social security number when calling regarding someone parked in your space. Answer: Traffic and Parking had used the social security number to verify space assignments—in the future, when employee numbers have been assigned, this number will be requested. Area Hang Tags: This is something that needs to be discussed Gene West will be invited to come to a future Staff Senate Meeting.


    President's Report
    The Presidential Search Committee has provided the Chancellor with three names to consider as President of Texas Tech University. The Chancellor will make the final decision. It was reported on TV that the Chancellor would be making a decision by the end of June.
    Thanked those that agreed to serve as officers and on the Executive Board.
    A sheet was passed around for Senators to sign up for committees where they would like to serve.
    It was noted that the new University President has expressed a desire to be very supportive of the Staff Senate.
    If there are items that need to be brought before the Staff Senate, individuals should be encouraged to complete the “Issues Form” and then pass it on to a member of the Executive Board. Jill Blackstock and Pat Cates will work the issue of “Smoking on Campus.”

    Action: If you cannot attend a meeting, you need to Email or call one of the officers before the meeting.

    New Business

    Archiving of Records—Sam Segram will check on this matter

    Sick Leave Pool—Tom Barnett will bring back information to the next meeting

    Next Meetings
    Staff Senate Executive Board Meeting, Wednesday, August 30, 2000, Llano Estacado Room, UC, 3 p.m
    Staff Senate Meeting, , Wednesday, September 6, 2000, University Center, Senate Room, 3 p.m..
    Staff members are invited to attend Staff Senate Meetings, if they so desire.


TTU Staff Senate